Big W Reviews

Updated 19 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Big W Acting Chief Executive David Walker (no image)
David Walker
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, good stability and people(in 13 reviews)

  • "once you get to know the business it is easy work(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some days don't roster many employees so you have to work hard yourself(in 7 reviews)

  • "No room for advancement unless you have a family member in the business or apply externally(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Softgoods Associate 

    I have been working at Big W part-time

    Pros

    Great culture and coworkers, expectations are clear

    Cons

    Sometimes understaffed and expectations are unrealistic depending on managers

    Big W2020-05-13
  2. "Poor work culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Big W part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Part of large business, job security

    Cons

    Some management treat staff unprofessionally

    Big W2020-05-20
  3. "Grreat"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Big W full-time

    Pros

    Love it easy to work for

    Cons

    Finishing tasks not enough time

    Big W2020-05-01
  4. "Great working environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Supervisor in Canberra
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Big W part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment with friendly staff

    Cons

    Tasks can be repetitive. Hard to be able to move around different areas

    Continue reading
    Big W2020-04-24
  5. "Big W - Night Fill"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Night Fill 

    I worked at Big W part-time

    Pros

    Friendly team with shift manager that cared and supported us

    Cons

    Store manager was not good and always minimised shifts leading to last minute calls for more staff.

    Big W2020-05-03
  6. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fill Associate 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Big W part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the culture is great, pay rate is also good as a casual worker

    Cons

    Store was closed down so redundancy is a risk, not enough hours and shifts to go around at the moment

    Big W2020-03-20
  7. "Fantastic place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service & Technology Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Big W part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management and supportive, friendly team Good hours (usually 5 hour shifts and it starts and ends at good times) Pay is quite good Flexibility in work days

    Cons

    Lack of shifts some times when management goes over budget Some days don't roster many employees so you have to work hard yourself

    Continue reading
    Big W2020-03-03
  8. "Too much change"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Big W full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Too much change over a short period of time

    Continue reading
    Big W2020-03-09
  9. "Fun place to work"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Recovery Associate 

    I worked at Big W part-time

    Pros

    flexible hours, fun work, met new people

    Cons

    not many hours, annoying customers

    Big W2020-03-05
  10. "Yeah it was okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Team Member in Victor Harbor
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Big W

    Pros

    Communication between staff Staff breaks

    Cons

    Short hours in a week

    Big W2020-02-17
Found 217 reviews