Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 237 of over 470 reviews

3.9
100%
Recommend to a Friend
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation CEO Mark Suzman
Mark Suzman
0 Rating
Pros
  • "Good pay, great benefits, focus on good management/managers(in 50 reviews)

  • "Great mission and incredible benefits(in 35 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Say goodbye to work-life balance and expect to travel a lot(in 23 reviews)

  • "Decision making is often hamstrung by politics(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Filed work

      Jul 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Bhopal
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I m a social worker nd I happy this work in mp state start please

      Cons

      Wow good work organisations

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good company

      Jan 23, 2021 - Graduate Engineering Trainee GET in Chennai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Satisfy to work in this company

      Cons

      Very good condition to work free

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Work as a relationship manager for the street children who deserve to help and educating the children's with fund

      Sep 17, 2019 - Associate Programmer in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      To reduce the inequality among different gender.

      Cons

      The challenges that I face in this organisation is that they have hard time to evaluate with the staff or employee.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Manager

      Nov 24, 2017 - Project Manager in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good opportunity in word only Bill Gates foundation

      Cons

      Do the good work for communities

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Response

      Head of Talent Acquisition and Talent Management

      Thanks for your review. If you'd like to share a bit more about your experience at the foundation, please reach out to me directly. pam.yanchik@gatesfoundation.org

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Leading development sector employer with data focus, potential for impact and great lifestyle

      Jun 12, 2017 - Project Manager/Associate Program Officer in New Delhi
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large impact, strategic position, potential for growth

      Cons

      Bureaucratic, hierarchical and excessively focused on communication

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Response

      Head of Talent Acquisition and Talent Management

      Thanks so much for your review. I appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback and hope that you are succeeding in the next chapter in your career.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Deputy Director

      Aug 19, 2016 -  in New Delhi
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High energy, committed colleagues, mission that matter

      Cons

      Inefficient processes, too internal facing, and staffing inadequate for the breadth and level of ambition

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Response

      Head of Talent Acquisition and Talent Management

      Apologies for my delay in responding. Thanks for your helpful feedback. As you know, we are working on simplifying our processes and improving our culture. Please continue to provide feedback to the leadership in the India Country Office.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      about software engineer and about its benefits

      Aug 10, 2014 - Software Engineer in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      beneficial , life secure future , benefits in all skills

      Cons

      leadership, intelligency, proficiency and promotions

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      It is very honoured to work with such a company which gave me everything and and helps me out in my financial problems..

      Jun 9, 2013 - Research Analyst in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I must say that it is very fantastic to work with a superber b company

      Cons

      I cant tell this its secret .and secrets should not be reveled publicly

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great benefits and mission, no career tracks

      Sep 9, 2021 - Head of Portfolio Management in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are unbelievable Pay is solid, though perhaps a bit less than industry (due to lack of bonuses) People-focused mission Travel opportunities are great - not too much, great locations Brilliant employees Supportive of a work-life balance

      Cons

      No career ladders They only hire experts, and you have to demonstrate experience before you'll get an opportunity to do something (i.e., no stretch opportunities) Most employees are workaholics, and it's hard not to get sucked into that mentality

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Sep 2, 2021 - Associate Strategy Officer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mission-oriented organization oriented towards maximizing social impact

      Cons

      Leadership and decisions can feel highly bureaucratic

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 237 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation? Share Your Experiences

    Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation logo
    or