BioFire Diagnostics Technician Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

BioFire Diagnostics Technician Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
22%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
BioFire Diagnostics CEO Randy Rasmussen
Randy Rasmussen
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "You're probably better off somewhere else...(Not treated like an adult at all)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Technician in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and that's about it.

    Cons

    I've been working here a little over 6 months and since the day I got hired they have done nothing but change everything I initially joined the company for. Now if I am literally 1 min late I get a "1/2 point", the time clocks are also thru the gown room so you have to change first before even clocking in and that's after you spend 15 to 30 mins trying to find parking. Once you get here and are clocked in, it just... gets worse. complete dysfunctional, like the whole company. I am hired to fix down equipment and regularly deal with the parts department being out of stock. How can I fix something if you guys can't even supply me with the parts. Trying to make a change here is also a joke. It will take you over a year of paperwork and pain to make any changes to the why they do things here. You're also treated like a kid in school you get (2) 15 min breaks and a 30 min lunch that you have to clock out for....but don't got a min over 30 or you'll get a "half point" so expect to stand by the time clock and wait for the exact min to clock back in. I have worked for other large companies and by far this is the most dysfunctional place I've ever seen. I could go on and on about this place but just take my word, you're better off somewhere else. I was hired into the engineering department and within 6 months was involuntary moved to the worst department in the company...MANUFACTURING. Whatever you do, do NOT join the manufacturing team/ group. They don't listen to their employees at all and treat you like a child. Also no consideration for work/life balance. I joined this job for the 4 days, 10 hr shifts and was forced into a 5 days a week 8.5hrs a day schedule.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better and give managers and supervisors more say. Stop letting a director that has no clue what we actually do day to day run the show without any input from the people actually doing the job or who are effected by the changes. Stop treating people like they are children. Pay attention to your many other negative reviews say and the fact that the manufacturing turn over rate is so high and you... guys literally can't even find people willing to work swing shift already. Slow down and look around before you guys drive this company right into the ground. I know we are all expendable but at least pretend like you guys care...

    Show More
    BioFire Diagnostics2019-11-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Get Any Job Other Than Manufacturing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Technician in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair compensation, decent benefits, good camaraderie, fun parties.

    Cons

    There seems to be a breakdown in communication between upper management and manufacturing departments. A great deal of stress is placed on those actually producing parts, way too much mandatory overtime is called, and quality control seems to be rather ambiguous and frustrating. This is a great job for anybody other than the ones actually manufacturing goods.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate clearly with marketing department heads, listen to manufacturing employees, and don't work your physical laborers to death. It seems that to save face with clients and consumers upper management makes the manufacturing technicians perform miracles at great personal expense. It would be better to hire temp workers or problem-solve in other ways other than always pulling the trump card of mandatory... overtime. Rather than focusing on glamorous holiday parties and useless bobble toys, but the manufacturing and physical goods departments actually have normal work weeks.

    Show More
    BioFire Diagnostics2019-11-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Company seemed great at first, but it is just a corporation that shows little care about employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Technician II in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wish I had something to list.

    Cons

    Company with too many growing pains. Always out of parts needed to keep manufacturing up and going. Too many managers and not enough leaders. Company dumps countless amounts of money going in multiple different directions, but none where it matters. Probably one of the biggest producers of plastic waste in the state. Recently underwent management changes and changed our schedules from 4 10 hr days to 5 8 hr days.... Also cut everyones pay by a measly $50 bucks a month. You get penalized if you are 10 minutes early to work or leave 10 minutes late. Forced to take mandatory 30 minute lunches. Not allowed to take 20 minute lunches. There is absolutely not enough parking and you get penalized if you can not find a parking space.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get some leaders that agree on similar directions and projects. Fix your parking problems. Start caring about your employees. You wonder why turnover rates are so high here. Change your parts minimums to be higher so we stop having shortages on parts we have continually had shortages on for well over a year. Especially things as dumb as o rings.

    BioFire Diagnostics2019-11-22
  4. "Good Company Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, rapidly growing company with opportunity to expand into new positions.

    Cons

    There is not enough parking.

    BioFire Diagnostics2019-09-18
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembly Line Technician in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, 1 month PTO a year, benefits day 1

    Cons

    Boring assembly line work so very repetitive.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employee suggestions

    BioFire Diagnostics2019-09-05
  6. Helpful (2)

    "bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    none, very bad assembly line design, culture.. unsafe

    Cons

    too fast, no time to breath, 10 minute breaks

    BioFire Diagnostics2019-09-18
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Do not work here! The good reviews are employees asked to do!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Technician in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They give you a $5 a day lunch credit so you don't have to leave the building and are back on time, everyone is really nice to your face, HR doesn't know what's going on until the end, so your'e good there, the supervisor does funny cartoon facial expressions in meetings, the drama and gossip is excellent

    Cons

    The training program is joke, nothing is covered, they breeze through the policies and regulations, tip of the iceberg touched, trainer plays and has his favorites if you want to get ahead, management team is not professional, palys favorites, promotes based on if your in the in crowd and their favorite. You could have a doctorate in the job and they will take someone with no experience over you if you are friends... with them. Saw many unprofessional acts, from quid pro quo to drug and alcohol use while working there. There is an in group that will harass you and create a hostile work environment if you don't agree or step in line with what they want. My job was threatened by one of them, saying I would be fired if I didn't agree and do what he said, when I stood up for myself, he continually made up lies and rumors to make me look bad, which management agreed and accepted fully because he was on their followers. The supervisor is a joke, he is out of his league and extremely unprofessional, he is dating someone who works there and plays favorites. For his meetings he makes impressions and muppet facial expressions which are funny. Employees were allowed to throw chairs, swear, assault, and intimidate my friend and I during our employment with no consequences. So I say, stay away, run away, and don't work here unless you want to be in a dead end position dealing with harassment and life problems.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire middle management and HR, they are going to get you into a major lawsuit and are causing the company to go down

    BioFire Diagnostics2019-09-12
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Technician in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good health benefits but because you gonna get injuries in manufacturing that's why their health benefits good plan. if you'll report work injury work comp will 100% denied it because the firm has its own doctors.

    Cons

    I worked as a Manufacturing Technician for nearly over 3 years. Management is usually non-responsive and distant, and very rarely tries to help solve problems and between colleagues. Internal advancement opportunities are rare, and even if you do get it, you're still just a cog in the machine; there's really no room for growth, just conformity. HR, Board of Director and Manager have an agreement the won't move... employees to a department even you are qualified it cost a lot of money for them to train new employees from manufacturing. Supervisors and managers need leadership training and stop playing favorites, The social landscape of Biofire is similar to High School. A lot of gossips all day every day, and I would hear how people would get mad at each other for the stupidest reasons and would be at each other's throats. On that note, HR was never really responsive to complaints, I never honestly heard of someone who got any sort of conflict resolution form HR.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Manufacturing management needs education and leadership training on how to handle situations. When you complain to HR just swipe under the carpet.

    BioFire Diagnostics2019-07-05
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Loved working here, but they put a very sour taste in my mouth leaving."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Salt Lake City, UT
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The product itself is very cool, fun to work on. Atmosphere is pretty laid back. Some departments are awesome to work in due to management, others have a very high turn over rate.

    Cons

    The reason for my one star review is that I was LIED to when I started here. One of the main reasons I chose to work here, was the tuition assistance benefit. How the program works, was not correctly explained to me and now that I am leaving the company, I owe them thousands of dollars in back pay. I literally would NOT have decided to go back to school I had a correct understanding of how this tuition assistance... program works at BioFire. There are a lot of other problems here, that no one cares to actually fix. Things seem to work as they are, and thus they will remain the same

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that your on-boarding processes are cleaned up and your recruiters know what they are saying.

    BioFire Diagnostics2019-07-30
  10. "The best company I have worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician I in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, time off, work/personal balance, managment, co-workers. Everyone helps each other to have productive fun days.

    Cons

    Some bad eggs, but far less than most companies

    Advice to Management

    Continue to do what you are doing, don't forget your roots as you grow, and keep the culture strong

    BioFire Diagnostics2018-05-06
Found 20 reviews