BioFire Diagnostics "biofire" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

BioFire Diagnostics Employee Reviews about "biofire"

Updated 14 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
BioFire Diagnostics   Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder Randy Rasmussen
Randy Rasmussen
63 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Biofire is a solid company overall just find another route into the company(in 10 reviews)

  • "There is an in group that will harass you and create a hostile work environment if you don't agree or step in line with what they want(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "biofire"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Inevitable Lawsuit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Control Technician in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Above average benefits and beginning PTO options.

    Cons

    Manager openly disrespects employees. Based on speaking with others now in different departments this has been an issue for many years and is continually swept under the rug. Manager hires friends and allows them to get by at the bare minimum while mistreating everyone else. There is blatant favoritism, retaliation, and a hostile work environment. The department head always chooses the easy route and takes whatever the manager says to be valid. HR has been notified of the conflict of interest and ignores it. Like the title states, this is a lawsuit waiting to happen. Biofire is a solid company overall just find another route into the company.

    Continue reading
    BioFire Diagnostics2020-02-14
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Growing pains, but great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Support Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    BioFire is a young, strong company that is figuring out how to deal with massive growth. They treat their employees well and offer amazing benefits, as well as strong compensation packages. I genuinely like working here and feel that most of my counterparts do as well.

    Cons

    With BioFire being located in research park, the commute to work is horrible! Having to deal with an annoying amount of traffic leaves you feeling in a bad mood even before you've arrived at your desk. A good solution would be to offer an alternative form of transit to BioFire so that we can alleviate some of the traffic coming up. Also, some managers are far to overbearing/involved in their team's work. They monitor hours to make sure that you're at your desk, even if your work is already done. They don't allow us the option to work from home - ever.

    Continue reading
    BioFire Diagnostics2019-08-21
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Loved working here, but they put a very sour taste in my mouth leaving."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Salt Lake City, UT
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The product itself is very cool, fun to work on. Atmosphere is pretty laid back. Some departments are awesome to work in due to management, others have a very high turn over rate.

    Cons

    The reason for my one star review is that I was LIED to when I started here. One of the main reasons I chose to work here, was the tuition assistance benefit. How the program works, was not correctly explained to me and now that I am leaving the company, I owe them thousands of dollars in back pay. I literally would NOT have decided to go back to school I had a correct understanding of how this tuition assistance program works at BioFire. There are a lot of other problems here, that no one cares to actually fix. Things seem to work as they are, and thus they will remain the same

    Continue reading
    BioFire Diagnostics2019-07-30
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Technician in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good health benefits but because you gonna get injuries in manufacturing that's why their health benefits good plan. if you'll report work injury work comp will 100% denied it because the firm has its own doctors.

    Cons

    I worked as a Manufacturing Technician for nearly over 3 years. Management is usually non-responsive and distant, and very rarely tries to help solve problems and between colleagues. Internal advancement opportunities are rare, and even if you do get it, you're still just a cog in the machine; there's really no room for growth, just conformity. HR, Board of Director and Manager have an agreement the won't move employees to a department even you are qualified it cost a lot of money for them to train new employees from manufacturing. Supervisors and managers need leadership training and stop playing favorites, The social landscape of Biofire is similar to High School. A lot of gossips all day every day, and I would hear how people would get mad at each other for the stupidest reasons and would be at each other's throats. On that note, HR was never really responsive to complaints, I never honestly heard of someone who got any sort of conflict resolution form HR.

    Continue reading
    BioFire Diagnostics2019-07-05
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Worst Job and the worst management ever experienced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Process Control Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    $5/ day food subsidy for overpriced bad quality food

    Cons

    Lack of diversity, micro managing, permanently looking for errors and issues within your work area to call you out and enjoying it while doing so, hostile environment, promote you without matching your salary accordingly. Management act like they are something better than you,and they make sure you feel it. Day after day. They also feel superior in comparison to other departments thinking they are the smartest within Biofire DX. The job consists of counting all kinds of inventory item from 4 am - 7/8 am which is the worst job within Biofire entirely! Then you have to deal with arrogant senior analysts and managers to help you when there is a case you need help with. Trying to change the department was a big mistake because the management became angry about the fact, that someone who recently got "promoted", was considering accepting an offer for a lower position to escape this toxic work environment.

    Continue reading
    BioFire Diagnostics2019-05-30
  6. "BioFire is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits at BioFire are incredible. Everyone is super passionate about their work and it shows in our products. Every day is interesting.

    Cons

    The environment is VERY fast paced. It can be difficult to keep up with all of the expectations and the pressure is always high.

    Continue reading
    BioFire Diagnostics2018-03-29
  7. "There is a lot to learn and everyone is very friendly and knowledgeable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Management Coordinator in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    BioFire has a lot of pros, some of which are 1) great benefits, 2) we get every other Friday off, 3) it’s a positive and energetic work environment.

    Cons

    The environment can be political, employees sometimes feel undervalued, I’ve often find there is a lack of communication, transparency is lacking, and there are a lot towers of knowledge.

    BioFire Diagnostics2018-03-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Nice benefits, could be more competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Project Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    BioFire is great and offers competitive pay and benefits with a positive work environment. Health Benefits appear to be solid and premiums can be reduced through a healthy lifestyle program. The 9/8/80 schedule with every other Friday off is really nice. PTO is generous with 4 weeks per year.

    Cons

    While the benefits are good, in today's world they could be more competitive. Coming from a company with unlimited PTO and work from home flexibility (which many companies are doing now), I would like to see more flexibility implemented here. Reasoning: While 4 weeks of PTO (and the 9/8/80 schedule) is generous, that does need to encompass sick time, which means needing to budget for being sick. (It would also be nice if PTO days could be used a half days) Not being able to work from home (WFH) means people come into the office sick. Because we work with molecular diagnostics, this means people have to walk around with masks on if they are sick to prevent contamination. The company asks that you stay home if you are really sick, but see point above - if you're out of PTO people still come into the office sick (this happened a bunch in December). Allowing people to WFH when sick would be really beneficial in helping to eliminate contamination risks. (Note: while I understand some areas of the company, such as manufacturing lines wouldn't be conducive to this, those that work a desk job in software could easily do this) There are other reasons WFH would be nice, but this is my main point.

    Continue reading
    BioFire Diagnostics2018-01-18
  9. "BioFire is the best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    BioFire is the best. The management is amazing and the environment is great. The healthcare benefits are the best I have ever seen and I love the 9 hr days/ every other Friday off schedule.

    Cons

    The company is growing so fast that even our brand new building is already too small. The company works hard at accommodating for our growing company size.

    BioFire Diagnostics2017-12-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Top-notch Environment, Opportunity for Growth and Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BioFire Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is so cool to build a career with a company that is changing the world in molecular diagnostics (we make medical devices that detect infectious disease)! My favorite benefits of working at BioFire: 1) 9.5% company contribution to my 401k. 2) Free health insurance - it took me two months in our wellness program to get my premiums to $0 per month. 3) Onsite gym and cafeteria - I get $5 every day to spend on whatever I want in the cafeteria. There are probably 5 different food stations each day and a huge salad bar. 4) Tuition reimbursement up to $8,000 per year 5) Every-other-Friday-off schedule. I work 44 hours one week, 36 the next. This schedule depends on department/job position.

    Cons

    I've seen other reviews with negative comments and I think the root of a lot of that is the fact that BioFire is a rapidly growing company. With that inevitably comes adjustment periods. I think the interview process tries to identify people who are going to be adaptable and able to adjust to changes (especially with ever-changing requirements from the FDA/other regulatory agencies). The work I do is challenging, but that is why I took this position with this company. I want to build my career and my capabilities and BioFire allows me to do that as I help this company achieve its goals. My position allows me to push myself beyond my comfort zone and that is among the biggest needs for my development in a job.

    Continue reading
    BioFire Diagnostics2017-06-20
Found 19 reviews