BioFire Diagnostics "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

BioFire Diagnostics Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 12 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
BioFire Diagnostics   Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder Randy Rasmussen
Randy Rasmussen
63 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Biofire is a solid company overall just find another route into the company(in 10 reviews)

  • "There is an in group that will harass you and create a hostile work environment if you don't agree or step in line with what they want(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Life Changing !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Wonderful work environment! They treat their employees very well, and pay benefits and PTO is good. Company is changing the medical industry!

    Cons

    The company is ever evolving and growing, which is exciting but sometimes difficult to manage.

    Continue reading
    BioFire Diagnostics2020-03-12
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Inevitable Lawsuit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Control Technician in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Above average benefits and beginning PTO options.

    Cons

    Manager openly disrespects employees. Based on speaking with others now in different departments this has been an issue for many years and is continually swept under the rug. Manager hires friends and allows them to get by at the bare minimum while mistreating everyone else. There is blatant favoritism, retaliation, and a hostile work environment. The department head always chooses the easy route and takes whatever the manager says to be valid. HR has been notified of the conflict of interest and ignores it. Like the title states, this is a lawsuit waiting to happen. Biofire is a solid company overall just find another route into the company.

    Continue reading
    BioFire Diagnostics2020-02-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Project Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits (Healthcare, 401k, etc) Every other Friday off (9/8/80) Relaxed / Casual /Friendly work environment

    Cons

    No work from home options, which is especially frustrating when sick or in inclement weather

    BioFire Diagnostics2019-12-03
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Do not work here! The good reviews are employees asked to do!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Technician in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They give you a $5 a day lunch credit so you don't have to leave the building and are back on time, everyone is really nice to your face, HR doesn't know what's going on until the end, so your'e good there, the supervisor does funny cartoon facial expressions in meetings, the drama and gossip is excellent

    Cons

    The training program is joke, nothing is covered, they breeze through the policies and regulations, tip of the iceberg touched, trainer plays and has his favorites if you want to get ahead, management team is not professional, palys favorites, promotes based on if your in the in crowd and their favorite. You could have a doctorate in the job and they will take someone with no experience over you if you are friends with them. Saw many unprofessional acts, from quid pro quo to drug and alcohol use while working there. There is an in group that will harass you and create a hostile work environment if you don't agree or step in line with what they want. My job was threatened by one of them, saying I would be fired if I didn't agree and do what he said, when I stood up for myself, he continually made up lies and rumors to make me look bad, which management agreed and accepted fully because he was on their followers. The supervisor is a joke, he is out of his league and extremely unprofessional, he is dating someone who works there and plays favorites. For his meetings he makes impressions and muppet facial expressions which are funny. Employees were allowed to throw chairs, swear, assault, and intimidate my friend and I during our employment with no consequences. So I say, stay away, run away, and don't work here unless you want to be in a dead end position dealing with harassment and life problems.

    Continue reading
    BioFire Diagnostics2019-09-12
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Worst Job and the worst management ever experienced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Process Control Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    $5/ day food subsidy for overpriced bad quality food

    Cons

    Lack of diversity, micro managing, permanently looking for errors and issues within your work area to call you out and enjoying it while doing so, hostile environment, promote you without matching your salary accordingly. Management act like they are something better than you,and they make sure you feel it. Day after day. They also feel superior in comparison to other departments thinking they are the smartest within Biofire DX. The job consists of counting all kinds of inventory item from 4 am - 7/8 am which is the worst job within Biofire entirely! Then you have to deal with arrogant senior analysts and managers to help you when there is a case you need help with. Trying to change the department was a big mistake because the management became angry about the fact, that someone who recently got "promoted", was considering accepting an offer for a lower position to escape this toxic work environment.

    Continue reading
    BioFire Diagnostics2019-05-30
  6. "There is a lot to learn and everyone is very friendly and knowledgeable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Management Coordinator in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    BioFire has a lot of pros, some of which are 1) great benefits, 2) we get every other Friday off, 3) it’s a positive and energetic work environment.

    Cons

    The environment can be political, employees sometimes feel undervalued, I’ve often find there is a lack of communication, transparency is lacking, and there are a lot towers of knowledge.

    BioFire Diagnostics2018-03-16
  7. "Awesome company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time

    Pros

    Exciting work environment, every other Friday off, meaningful career

    Cons

    Can't think of any right now

    BioFire Diagnostics2018-02-24
  8. "Marketing Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time

    Pros

    Amazing benefits and relaxed work environment.

    Cons

    Company is too large to still operate like a start up. Lack of basic work processes.

    Continue reading
    BioFire Diagnostics2018-01-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Nice benefits, could be more competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Project Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    BioFire is great and offers competitive pay and benefits with a positive work environment. Health Benefits appear to be solid and premiums can be reduced through a healthy lifestyle program. The 9/8/80 schedule with every other Friday off is really nice. PTO is generous with 4 weeks per year.

    Cons

    While the benefits are good, in today's world they could be more competitive. Coming from a company with unlimited PTO and work from home flexibility (which many companies are doing now), I would like to see more flexibility implemented here. Reasoning: While 4 weeks of PTO (and the 9/8/80 schedule) is generous, that does need to encompass sick time, which means needing to budget for being sick. (It would also be nice if PTO days could be used a half days) Not being able to work from home (WFH) means people come into the office sick. Because we work with molecular diagnostics, this means people have to walk around with masks on if they are sick to prevent contamination. The company asks that you stay home if you are really sick, but see point above - if you're out of PTO people still come into the office sick (this happened a bunch in December). Allowing people to WFH when sick would be really beneficial in helping to eliminate contamination risks. (Note: while I understand some areas of the company, such as manufacturing lines wouldn't be conducive to this, those that work a desk job in software could easily do this) There are other reasons WFH would be nice, but this is my main point.

    Continue reading
    BioFire Diagnostics2018-01-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "RD Biochemistry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at BioFire Diagnostics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    excellent work environment and benefits

    Cons

    non phd salary advance opportunitites minimal

    Continue reading
    BioFire Diagnostics2017-06-14
Found 22 reviews