BioInformatics Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

BioInformatics Reviews

Updated 25 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
53%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
BioInformatics Chief Executive Officer Craig Overpeck (no image)
Craig Overpeck
10 Ratings
  1. "excited to have found this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BioInformatics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    interesting work that can actually be fun at times and the best coworkers one could ask for in a small office. we have stress breaks, snacks, drinks, open office, and people really care about each other

    Cons

    etrade is below us and rides elevator between floors all day long

    Continue reading
    BioInformatics2020-02-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Smart people who like working with each other"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BioInformatics full-time

    Pros

    teams of smart people who enjoy working with each other to help the customers answer questions or get reports

    Cons

    the usual for washington dc

    BioInformatics2019-11-26
  3. "Company on a serious downturn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BioInformatics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employees that work hard. Good benefits

    Cons

    CEO is not concerned about company culture and believes employees are disposable. He is self-absorbed and messaging is not consistent. Quality of Custom Market Research has declined and many customers believe price is too expensive compared to other companies based on value. Company is losing repeat customers. Many employees have left the company recently.

    Continue reading
    BioInformatics2019-11-04
  4. "Total Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BioInformatics

    Pros

    Most* of the people who work here are very smart and kind. Most* everyone works really hard and takes pride in what they do.

    Cons

    There are one or two people that bring down the entire office with incredible amounts of negativity. Many are spread too thin and wear too many hats, creating a chaotic environment that lacks clear direction.

    BioInformatics2019-08-25
  5. "Cutting edge work for life science companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BioInformatics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    collaborative teams working across time zones to help clients understand what is next for science and instrumentation

    Cons

    early morning calls sometimes with Europe

    BioInformatics2019-05-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Smart colleagues who taught me so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BioInformatics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned so much about market research and got to work on really interesting projects over the year using advanced data analysis

    Cons

    First job out of school so there was a lot of learning to do in order to meet expectations and expectations are high

    BioInformatics2019-04-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Well meaning company with an outdated model and serious infrastructural issues."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BioInformatics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, convenient location, generous holidays.

    Cons

    The business model of the company is inherently outdated and relies on a panel for its research that has been so mismanaged over the years that it is essentially useless..

    BioInformatics2019-04-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of good management, only focus on bringing more investors, don't care about employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BioInformatics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New office is nice and

    Cons

    More and more people left since the new CEO only cares about bringing in more investors and doesn't want to hire people, just put on more work on old people. Seeing the company is going down, people left. Some people work so hard, stay late at the office everyday, some people just go to the gym at noon, play with phones all day, WFH a lot but still get approved by managers.

    BioInformatics2019-02-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA

    I have been working at BioInformatics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people at BioInfo are amazing coworkers who help me learn. I do not have a science degree so it can be daunting but we work well as a team with many of my colleagues having an MBA or PhD

    Cons

    Some late nights when clients need their results but everyone is working together to pull the data and write the report to deliver for the client

    BioInformatics2018-12-10
  10. "Big changes for the better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BioInformatics full-time

    Pros

    Brand new 16th floor Office in Ballston. New CEO who is fixing, innovating, growing and nurturing the Company. Super smart people who are passionate and nice. Well stocked drink cooler and monthly chair massages. The best part is the work. Interesting and helping lead other businesses make good decisions.

    Cons

    A little construction around the area of the new Office but should be done in a few months.

    Continue reading
    BioInformatics2018-02-02
Found 21 reviews