BioReliance Reviews

Updated 13 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
37%
Recommend to a Friend
8%
Approve of CEO
BioReliance President Archie Cullen (no image)
Archie Cullen
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, flexible schedule(in 7 reviews)

  • "good people good(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The work load is far too much for the number of lab staff resulting in having to stay late most nights to finish it(in 6 reviews)

  • "low pay and limited upward mobility(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Middle Management Hellhole Management

      13 May 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leaving, not having to deal with Middle Management Joke of Managers, not having to be Bullied or dealing with Moronic Cliquey Individuals

      Cons

      Holidays, some Nice People, Bonus, and not having to work there after you leave

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Report Writer job at BioReliance

      6 May 2021 - Senior Report Writer in Rockville, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Benefits and work life balance

      Cons

      Closing of Genetic Toxicology Division

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Okay Company

      24 Mar 2021 - QA Specialist in Rockville, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of senior workers to help out

      Cons

      some unreasonable deadlines for projects

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Avoid Molecular!

      28 Jan 2021 - Scientist in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A good name to have on your CV. Good benefits package.

      Cons

      The workload is very unrealistic and poorly managed by the supervisors and management. Working through your lunch break and staying on when you should finish is fairly common practice. You are advised to escalate possible issues or work overloads; however, this falls on deaf ears. Phone calls and text messages from management out with working hours are common. Expect to be pulled into an office and belittled for errors that have occurred whether you're at fault or not. Management is quick to point the finger rather than fix the process/methods that lead to mistakes. Staff morale is very low throughout the Department, resulting in a high staff turnover, yet management does nothing. Training is practically non-existent, yet you are expected to be competent in your role. Compared to other companies that operate in the same business BioReliance salary is below average. Management is nothing short of bullies.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      If you are thinking of working here, think again! Hellhole! Read the reviews!

      15 Mar 2021 - Scientist in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good colleagues to work with in the Molecular Dept

      Cons

      The bee all and end all is the place is very poorly managed from higher above down to the "supervisors", and i use that term loosely. Staff morale is at an all-time low. I have now left and many of my ex-work buddies are actively looking for new jobs. Poor pay. Expected to stay late / overtime due to the ridiculous workload. As for Staples.....Dont get me started!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good Co-workers. management could be better

      1 Mar 2021 - Associate Scientist I in Rockville, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible, coworkers, organized, benefits, teamwork

      Cons

      minimum pay, high stress, work balance, favoritism, high volume

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Good company,

      25 Feb 2021 - Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits package Opportunity to develop Great people to work with Recognition

      Cons

      Overtime and workload can be high

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work for

      22 Feb 2021 - Associate Scientist I 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team works well together, friendly environment

      Cons

      Very busy, lots of overtime

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Good place to work

      4 Feb 2021 - Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team, good structure. People are great to work with.

      Cons

      Salary's not great compared to other industries.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A disgrace to the industry

      9 Oct 2020 - Associate Scientist I in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. Not a single one.

      Cons

      I worked at the Glasgow site. I won’t name the department as I do not wished to be identified. When I was there I was constantly picked on, I had a manager scream at me in a corridor, I was bullied, belittled, and was in a department where nobody wanted to work. We saw the manager for 10 minutes in the morning unless something went wrong. Everyone was out to stab each other in the back and it was just so, so toxic. In the months since leaving, I have met other former employees who have had similar experiences either in person or they’ve reached out on line. Staff turnover is through the roof, training is a joke, oh and expect to be given a chewing out for simple things like entry errors when any other employer is happy to accept that minor mistakes happen and that you corrected it. Also, never expect to finish on time. Management do not know how to manage workload. Staying an extra 2 hours ever other day was pretty normal. On a side note, there was also zero (0) diversity in my department. Gotta love blatant bias eh? How higher up the food chain at Merck hasn’t clocked on to this I have no idea.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 117 Reviews

    Work at BioReliance? Share Your Experiences

    BioReliance logo
    or