Blackboard Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Blackboard CEO Bill Ballhaus
Bill Ballhaus
235 Ratings
Pros
  • "I had a great work/life balance(in 59 reviews)

  • "Flexibility and ability to work from home(in 39 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Challenging work/life balance at times(in 25 reviews)

  • "Upper management were does not take care of their employees(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good Company.

      17 Mar 2021 - Good Company to Work for 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Company to work. We can learn lot of things.

      Cons

      No negative feedback till now.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Blackboard Response

      Sr Employer Branding and Sourcing Specialist

      We appreciate you leaving us a review. We agree that there is a lot to learn from our employees, leadership, and the EdTech industry as a whole, and we hope that our employees never stop seeking to learn more. If you have any further comments, please email employerfeedback@blackboard.com.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Extreme Micro management in team level at its peak

      10 Jun 2021 - Software Engineer in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      US management is very good and they take care of their employees and they care more

      Cons

      Micro management in team level. They keeps asking the status of the work. Push to work after office hours daily.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good culture and wonderful workplace

      17 Mar 2021 - Senior DevOps Cloud Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ample opportunities to learn, if you are open to it. Good culture. The leadership listens to feedback and responds promptly. Decent work-life balance. Freedom is given to people to make decisions and explain their point of view.

      Cons

      As it is old company, it is still in the process of breaking down communication silos

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Blackboard Response

      Sr Employer Branding and Sourcing Specialist

      We appreciate you leaving us a review. We are so pleased to hear about your time with Blackboard, especially your experience being given autonomy in your work and decisions. We think it's incredibly important to recognize that the different perspectives our employees bring to the table only help us to improve as a company. If you have any further suggestions, please reach out to employerfeedback@blackboard.com.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good atmosphere to work with the team

      19 Jan 2021 - Senior UI-UX Designer in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open Culture, Flexible Timing, Good team

      Cons

      Lack of management and unable to meet the deadlines sometimes

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Blackboard Response

      Sr Employer Branding and Sourcing Specialist

      Thank you for posting your review. We agree that we have a great team here, and they foster an open, collaborative culture across the company. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with management/leadership. We do our best to equip management to be the best leaders they can be through regular professional development. If you have any further suggestions on how we can improve, please email employerfeedback@blackboard.com.

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A good place. But lot of politics

      28 Dec 2020 - Recruiter in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Since it is US-based, the environment is very quipped and employee-friendly

      Cons

      Too much inside politics and the noise is heard till the US

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Blackboard Response

      Sr Employer Branding and Sourcing Specialist

      Thank you for leaving us a review. We are pleased to know that you found your Chennai office environment to be well-equipped and employee-friendly. We encourage employees to reach out to their HR Business Partner with any issues with office culture. If you have any other feedback, please feel free to email employerfeedback@blackboard.com.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good company to work for

      1 Nov 2020 - Senior Executive in São Paulo, São Paulo, São Paulo
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      treating all the employees equally & decent hikes.

      Cons

      No Cons other than internal politics.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Blackboard Response

      Sr Employer Branding and Sourcing Specialist

      Thank you for leaving us a review. We are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your Blackboard experience. If you have any additional feedback, please email employerfeedback@blackboard.com.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Bad attitude management in Chennai

      12 Jul 2020 - Senior Software Developer in São Paulo, São Paulo, São Paulo
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good learning space Decent perks Good culture in the global team

      Cons

      Indian management in development is run by Narssitic leader and nepotism. Bad working environment been told not to support and cooperate with other team members. Asked to work for another organisation than blackboard. Kindly stay away from Chennai office.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Blackboard Response

      Sr Employer Branding and Sourcing Specialist

      We appreciate your review. We are glad to hear you were happy with your work space, benefits, and the global culture fostered at Blackboard during your time with us. We are very sorry that the rest of your experience in our Chennai office did not meet your expectations. We encourage employees to reach out to their HR Business Partner to discuss issues with working environments and management. If you have any additional feedback, please feel free to reach out to employerfeedback@blackboard.com.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best Client ever

      1 Oct 2012 - Human Resources Business Partner in São Paulo, São Paulo, São Paulo
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits for employees to get experience

      Cons

      May need to build on onsite opportunities much better

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    9. Blackboard - Student Success | Division of Blackboard
      2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Micro management

      28 Apr 2021 - Customer Service Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The job itself is low stress. Taking phone calls and helping customers with basic issues such as logging in to their account. Some very basic tech support following predetermined steps. It is not exciting but it is not hard either. Other advisors are friendly and helpful. There is pretty good interaction even with everyone working from home.

      Cons

      I was hired as regular full time, not seasonal, but my hours have been cut down to less than 25 hours some weeks. Once I only got 28 hours on my entire paycheck. Hourly rate is only $11 so this is obviously a problem. I have seen them respond on here defending the nature of “seasonal work” but they do this to those hired as full time regular employees too. There is also a LOT of micro management. Every second of the day is tracked, if you need even one minute of time between calls to finish your notes it becomes a problem and supervisors start listening to you in between calls to see what you’re doing. They have time to message about going 35 seconds over your break, but they do not have time to answer questions from advisors trying to find out what their schedule will be this week. Only a good job for someone who just needs extra cash. Not a reliable income for anyone with bills or a family.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      2 Jun 2021 - Renewal Account Executive in São Paulo, São Paulo, São Paulo
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was given a very warm welcome to the company, constant follow up with the onboarding process, a very well organized plan to get familiar to the systems and the organization in general, I was given also a reasonable period of time to adapt and learn what was needed for my position, the company has great benefits.

      Cons

      In the presentations there wasn't, as far as I remember, any information regarding the industry and the competition to understand better the position of Blackboard and their challenges.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 762 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Blackboard Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Development Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    Full Stack Software Developer
    Learn About the Job
    Software Development Engineer I
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Blackboard? Share Your Experiences

    Blackboard logo
    or