Blackboard Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Blackboard Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Blackboard CEO Bill Ballhaus
Bill Ballhaus
138 Ratings
Pros
  • "I had a great work/life balance(in 49 reviews)

  • "The work life balance cannot be beat, most departments offer very flexible work situations(in 35 reviews)

Cons
  • "Meaning any work life balance you have is not allowed by this company to some degree(in 22 reviews)

  • "Upper management were does not take care of their employees(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Best Client ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blackboard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits for employees to get experience

    Cons

    May need to build on onsite opportunities much better

    Advice to Management

    Need to increase onsite opportunities

    Blackboard2012-10-01
  2. "Bb's seen better days"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blackboard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pioneered the LMS space for online teaching and learning. One of the top recognizable brands in edtech.

    Cons

    Lost competitive edge after allowing products to become stagnant. Struggling to update and modernize offerings.

    Blackboard2019-12-09
  3. "Management causes call centers to have revolving doors."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Killeen, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blackboard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The group of individuals that made up my team were great. Valuable skills and program handling assisted in boosting my resume to find a better job.

    Cons

    Upper management were does not take care of their employees. They do not advocate for the employees. I can’t say that the only care about the client because at times the client is as lied on to make it seem like they’re the ones making the employees feel like they are in a sweat shop. The clients are not always informed that the employees that work for them remotely are not dedicated to just their business but... several other clients as well. Your days off are provided as hours to in a bucket system only after you’ve been there a year. The amount provided is only able to cover about 14 days paid for the year. You do not get paid for holidays unless you’ve worked there for 3 years. Working holidays is competitive and more tenured reps get first dibs. You are not allotted any sick days and must either use your bucketed paid or unpaid time off. (If you Have any)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do better. Treat your employees as people and not numbers and money in your pocket.

    Blackboard2019-11-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Part time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Somerset, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blackboard part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    awesome people , I loved my job .

    Cons

    Sick time, Gossip. Drugs I wish they would something about the drug users

    Advice to Management

    Do drug test and check references more thoroughly.

    Blackboard2019-10-18
  5. "Associate software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blackboard full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent labor environment with highly skilled coworkers

    Cons

    No cons. Is a Dream job

    Advice to Management

    For new hires is good to have an excellent introduction to the product where he/she is going to work at: architecture, software design, technologies used, etc.

    Blackboard2019-10-19
  6. "Working with a passionate group that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blackboard full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Everyone is collaborative, willing to help a colleague and customer out, good work / life balance.

    Cons

    Industry is moving quickly.

    Blackboard2019-10-09
  7. "Not so good for Junior positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Automation Engineer in Bogotá, Bogota
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blackboard full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kind treatment and great teamworking

    Cons

    Fewer opportunities to learn new stuff

    Blackboard2019-10-09
  8. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Billing Operation Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blackboard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had a great work/life balance

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    Blackboard2019-09-24
  9. "It's a good place to begin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Enrollment in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blackboard full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work environment is fun and laid back. Pay is decent. Heath Benefits are fair.

    Cons

    No paid holidays for 3 years No paid time off for 1 year Not a professional environment

    Advice to Management

    Paid time off, paid holidays and you will be able to retain your better employees.

    Blackboard2019-10-08
  10. "The best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Bogotá, Bogota
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blackboard full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great office - Good environment, the people there always want to help you - The people from USA always support all the questions - Good managers, they try to give you all the information they have - The benefits are great, the medicine and the parking are available - They hear all the problems doesn't matter the type - HR are always there for you - Is an open management company

    Cons

    - Can have more benefits - The communication can be improved through some dependencies

    Blackboard2019-09-23
Found 569 reviews