Blackboard Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Blackboard Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 557 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Blackboard CEO Bill Ballhaus
Bill Ballhaus
132 Ratings
Pros
  • "A genuine commitment and understanding of work/life balance(in 45 reviews)

  • "The work life balance cannot be beat, most departments offer very flexible work situations(in 35 reviews)

Cons
  • "Meaning any work life balance you have is not allowed by this company to some degree(in 21 reviews)

  • "A few mean well but cant be better because upper management wont let them(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Working at the Somerset Kentucky site."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent-Translator in Somerset, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blackboard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been employed at Blackboard for almost three years. I have been treated like family by the management and staff. I could not have found a better place to work. The management has been more than attentive to my needs. I have had some personal struggles and family issues over the past 6 months. The management has been top notch with there response to my needs. I feel so lucky to have worked with the staff and...

    Show More

    Cons

    I lot of turn over.

    Advice to Management

    Please pay people on a weekly basis.

    Blackboard2018-09-12

    Blackboard Response

    September 13, 2018Sr Sourcing Specialist

    Thank you for leaving such a thoughtful review. We are so happy to hear that you feel a part of the Blackboard family, and have found management to be accommodating to your needs. Our Somerset location has a great team, and we're glad you're a part of it.

  2. Helpful (6)

    "Best Client ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blackboard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits for employees to get experience

    Cons

    May need to build on onsite opportunities much better

    Advice to Management

    Need to increase onsite opportunities

    Blackboard2012-10-01
  3. "Good place to work, too much change."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blackboard full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Management encourages growth through learning; Changes in past few years have brought in new software and technology.

    Cons

    Work can get boring between projects.

    Blackboard2019-08-14
  4. "They were good until they weren't."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Client Success Manager 

    I worked at Blackboard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The office culture was great. There was a good culture where everyone supported each other which allowed us to provide great service and accomplish some great things.

    Cons

    New leadership focused too much on the money (PE firm trying to flip them for big profits) rather than the valuable service they provided. This has started to swing back the other way but not nearly quick enough.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your customers and not the PE firm's pocket books.

    Blackboard2019-08-05
  5. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Support in Killeen, TX

    I worked at Blackboard full-time

    Pros

    The pay is decent and a relaxing environment

    Cons

    Pointless work drama, just keep to yourself

    Blackboard2019-07-19
  6. "Best Opportunity for Advancement in Somerset"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Somerset, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blackboard full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible with school schedules Strong Leadership Learning Curves

    Cons

    This job has many benefits and the only con is you have to work hard to earn your right to advance. (some would not see that as a con).

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!!!

    Blackboard2019-07-12
  7. "Not only a career, but a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager of WFM in Somerset, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blackboard full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job Security Family Atmosphere Flexibility Salary Benefits Opportunity for Growth Professional Development Strong Upper Leadership Team

    Cons

    Medical Benefits for a Family

    Advice to Management

    Continue to push our 5 Core Values: Excellence, Integrator Mindset, Integrity, Accountability, and Innovation

    Blackboard2019-07-12
  8. "Exceptional place to work while EXPECTING EXCELLENCE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Supervisor in Somerset, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blackboard full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    1. Awesome family environment. 2. Personal growth. 3. Contributing to a bigger goal. 4. Connections-we are innately social beings, and we need others to help us thrive. 5. We define clear and specific expectations for what success looks like within all of our responsibilities and duties. 6. Provide our employees with ongoing opportunities and incentives to learn, develop and grow. 7. We stand for more than just...

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no perfect companies and have seen this over my career. I have worked for 4 companies over the past 37 years and Blackboard brings a level of commitment that is second is none.

    Blackboard2019-07-12
  9. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Somerset, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blackboard full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Family Atmosphere. The leadership team is always there to lend a helping hand! Several options for advancement within the company.

    Cons

    Could look into offering more affordable insurance. Other than that, no cons. If you are the type of person that comes in and works hard from day to day, Blackboard is the place for you.

    Blackboard2019-07-11
  10. "Blackboard is my family, my home, and where my heart is!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Somerset, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blackboard full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - The type of work (education services) feels like we are making a real difference in the world - Strong values - Great management staff. - Family friendly environment with great co-workers. -Excellent compensation and benefits.

    Cons

    - Very sales driven. Perspectives change often to accommodate a sale. - Initiatives often change before successful completion of the prior initiatives.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in culture and people. Hear the front-line when concerns are addressed. Allow your operations workforce to drive the success of your business vs. having a workforce management team that runs the organization to the point others feel handcuffed.

    Blackboard2019-07-11
Found 557 reviews