Blizzard Entertainment Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Blizzard Entertainment Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 765 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Blizzard Entertainment CEO J. Allen Brack
J. Allen Brack
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very good work environment and work life balance(in 42 reviews)

  • "Surrounded by likeminded gamers even or manager level(in 38 reviews)

Cons
  • "Rent in Irvine can be high and options for a social scene can be limited compared to Los Angeles(in 53 reviews)

  • "Cost of living in the area is outrageous(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Gudreview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Madurai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Active participant Less work time space

    Cons

    Too repeated No trans no holiday

    Advice to Management

    More redundant

    Blizzard Entertainment2018-08-12
  2. "Fun Work Environment, Long Hours, Great Perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Producer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    Everyone who works at Blizzard is incredibly passionate about gaming and Blizzard IPs. Work hard and it will pay off. Great benefits and employee perks.

    Cons

    long hours and the work/life balance isn't great depending on what team you are on.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-10-13
  3. "Excellent but evolving company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Historically good compensation and work-like balance

    Cons

    Company continues to grow. Growth comes with challenges, some challenges have been handled well, others have not.

    Advice to Management

    Control headcount growth. Resist hiring for perceived future needs. Hire to address well defined, strategically aligned, existing deficiencies.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-24
  4. "Extremely positive and refreshing work experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work with the most recent technologies, utilizing the most current skill sets. Expectations are high in a good way! I am challenged and respected. The culture is inclusive and the companies stated values can actually be seen. The managers I work with and around have great management skills and are also highly technical! The team members I work with are all skilled, respectable, helpful. Just awesome!

    Cons

    I would love onsite day care l, which most companies don't offer anyways. If anyone can pull it off properly, Blizzard can!

    Advice to Management

    I am excited in regards to the current direction of the company. Keep the vision going strong!

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Meh experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Game Master in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kinda fun place to work

    Cons

    Bad shifts, low pay, clique behavior, slow to be promoted, little management direction

    Advice to Management

    Empower employees to take action, increase pay

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-10-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer() in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, company cares about personal growth, coworkers are collaborative rather than competitive

    Cons

    The management does lots of micromanagement. When you provide feedback about that the management claims it’s for your own good. Not much freedom in doing things in the way you prefer. People are leaving the company, it’s demotivating. The compensation is lower than industry average.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-27
  7. "Good place to grow yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Seoul
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company culture Nice & kind people

    Cons

    Salary Take too much time on decision making

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your crew

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate Software Engineer 

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Benefits were also very good for me.

    Cons

    Didn't have a lot of room for growth.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-05
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Suck up to china inc."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ethics Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Chinese buffet was pretty good though.

    Cons

    I was hired by blizzard in 2014, and it turns out that there is basically a cult within the staff. Every Monday and Friday, employees at my department gathered in the 4th floor bathroom to pray to a shrine to Chinese president Xi Jinping, including a stuffed Whinny the Poo. This was very strange to me, seeing as I don't speak mandarin. As an ethics manager, I will have to say the bathroom shrine was a large part... of the reason i left the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No more china

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-10-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Way to obsessed with money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment

    Pros

    Nothing I can think of

    Cons

    Most gaming companies including Blizzard have made a mockery of themselves by always putting profit first. This includes making half done games or bowing to censorship rules.

    Advice to Management

    Xi doesn't look like Winnie the Pooh

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-10-10
Found 765 reviews