Blucora Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 of over 74 reviews

4.4
94%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Blucora President and CEO  Chris Walters
Chris Walters
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance, decent benefits, smaller and more intimate setup(in 12 reviews)

  • "This behavior has continued to create cohesiveness not only at Blucora, but across all of its brands(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Obsession with rewriting the full stack in a different language every so often There's not enough career growth here(in 3 reviews)

  • "A very dynamic workplace (new initiatives, changes in direction, etc(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Positive culture that promotes innovation and growth opportunities!

      13 Jun 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoy working at Blucora because I get to work with and learn from great people daily, and I'm always challenged to be the best version of myself.

      Cons

      I do not have any to share at this time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Engineering Review for Blucora previously Infospace

      25 Apr 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance, decent benefits, smaller and more intimate setup

      Cons

      Company needs to find more interesting problem to retain talent

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Working with Friends

      29 Mar 2021 - Teammate in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The HR leaders did an exceptional job of weeding out the folks who brought everyone else down or were simply not good at their jobs.. In comes 2020 and we've got 8 new executives and it feels like we brought on 30-40 new hires that all ROCK. I haven't met one person that I have not wanted to hang out with or get to know better. Sure, you have personality clashes but it's the kind that gets resolved over a beer in 5 mins. Easily the best place I've worked in 20 years.

      Cons

      As with any public large company, there is some red tape here and there that you run into. However, I give the new C suite credit as they have no issue getting in the weeds when necessary and slicing through that red tape.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fantastic and rewarding experience!

      19 May 2021 - Client Service Representative in Dubuque, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great hiring process. Very organized. My recruiter made me feel welcomed and valued. The turnaround for interview/selection was quite reasonable. Impressive online onboarding.

      Cons

      Can't think of any cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Caring and Collaborative Environment

      22 Mar 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people here at Blucora are supportive, collaborative and caring. I have been very impressed with the interactions I've had with all levels across the organization. Leadership is solidifying and stable. They have been stellar in their handling of the pandemic and remote work situations. Communications are forthcoming and show that leadership truly care about their employees. The work is exciting and we are given the tools and resources needed to perform our jobs effectively.

      Cons

      Up until the pandemic/shut down, we saw many changes in senior leadership positions. This has since steadied and I feel we are on the right track together as a company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work, and getting better every day.

      1 Apr 2021 - Director in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid culture, good comp, and great coworkers

      Cons

      Some functions are resource-constrained until we hire more great people.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work!

      14 Mar 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company truly cares about its employees! Since the new management team began in February, the company has gone above and beyond for employees.

      Cons

      I’m pretty happy overall at Blucora.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Exciting Opportunities

      17 Mar 2021 - Executive Assistant in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leadership is engaged and employees have a voice; great benefits and a culture that provides opportunities for growth and development, to initiate change and to grow on a professional and personal level. Great colleagues.

      Cons

      Nothing comes to mind at the moment.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great culture.

      30 Mar 2021 - Marketing Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Blucora has a great culture - excellent and caring leadership team.

      Cons

      There are no cons to share.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      I have grown at this company.

      8 May 2021 - Facilities Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They stick together in adversity.

      Cons

      Change is made slowly and with environment.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 74 Reviews

    Work at Blucora? Share Your Experiences

    Blucora logo
    or