Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Reviews

Updated 9 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts President and CEO Andrew Dreyfus
Andrew Dreyfus
183 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, training opportunities, positive work-life balance(in 69 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and money, great management(in 34 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I have nothing personally against or cons for BCBSMA(in 11 reviews)

  • "well no one else is doing it, why should we(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great Company

      22 Oct 2020 - Actuarial Analyst in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Upper management is very transparent. Culture is very inclusive/family-like/collaborative. Great work like balance. Been really enjoying it so far.

      Cons

      Been here less than a year and none yet

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      Talent Sourcing Lead

      Thank you so much for your feedback and we are happy you are enjoying your experience at Blue Cross! We are excited to hear your feedback on our collaborative and inclusive culture here at Blue Cross. We thank you for Bringing your True Colors to Blue and being a part our "Blue Family!" If you have any further feedback to share please email us at talent@bcbsma.com

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Company to work for

      3 May 2021 - Financial Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love the volunteer oppurtunities that they have for employees

      Cons

      I did not have a negative experience at this company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      A Great Organization

      26 Apr 2021 - Business Expert in Hanover, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Blue Cross of MA not only cares for its members but also it’s employees. They have amazing benefits, focus on diverse and inclusion and so many opportunities for expanding your career.

      Cons

      I don’t have any cons for BCBSMA

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Highly Recommend

      29 Apr 2021 - Customer Solutions 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, culture and Diversity, Equity and Inclusion efforts

      Cons

      I really can't say there is a con to working here!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Don't end your Career by Joining BCBSMA IT team.

      27 Mar 2021 - Technology Architect in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good health insurance - If you like to shop, the office is right in the prudential center and you can shop all day nobody cares - You get to work on legacy technologies - You are not accountable for anything.

      Cons

      - This is a dead-end job - If you are applying for a technology job ask the interviewer some technical question you will understand. - Questionable practice hiring external contractors. if you question them you will be fired. - Dump leadership team all the way from CIO to all her direct reports. - Stay away from this place if you want to make any progress in your career. - They still use legacy technology... during the interview you will hear all buzz words.. but there is nothing ... the entire cloud implementation is few S3 buckets... - If you are an intern or a fresher .. don't waste your life joining this place. - If you try to do change or try to do some work.. they make your life miserable

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good not great

      6 May 2021 - Provider Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They provide an extensive amount of training

      Cons

      Lot of kool aid drinkers. Totally opposed to the ideas of universal healthcare. Military propaganda.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee

      X

      9 May 2021 - Member Service Representative in Hingham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A a a a a

      Cons

      Pay Growth opportunities Overall a good job

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great people but difficult to progress career

      15 Apr 2021 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People and benefits are pretty great

      Cons

      Incredibly difficult to progress beyond a certain point in leadership. External hires are paid much more than internal promotions.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      17 Feb 2021 - RN Case Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am new to the company. The onboarding process has been great with thorough training. Colleagues are friendly, there is a great work life balance, benefits are excellent with affordable premiums, pay is good. So far I feel valued as an employee and it is a positive environment to be in.

      Cons

      I can’t think of any at the moment

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Response

      Talent Sourcing Lead

      We are so happy to have you here as a part of our Blue family! It is great to hear that you had a great onboarding experience, even while remote! We are glad to hear your feedback on our benefits pertaining to work/life balance here at BCBSMA. We thank you for Bringing your True Colors to Blue! If you have any further feedback to share please email us at talent@bcbsma.com.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      BCBSMA

      13 Mar 2021 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work. Leadership care about the community, members and employees.

      Cons

      I can not think of any negatives

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 303 Reviews

    Work at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts? Share Your Experiences

    Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts logo
    or