Blue Diamond Growers Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Blue Diamond Growers Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
65%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Blue Diamond Growers CEO Mark D. Jansen
Mark D. Jansen
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, clear communication, emphasis on safety, casual fridays(in 5 reviews)

  • "Great Pay and occasional company shirts(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sacramento can be hard to attract talent(in 3 reviews)

  • "Company's management running the Turlock facility is nothing but trash(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Core Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator in Turlock, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Diamond Growers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay, Great team, Semi good benefits. What I meant by great team is the every day to day team you work with. Not management.

    Cons

    Company's management running the Turlock facility is nothing but trash. They supposedly live and breath by their values but that's just a whole bunch of BS. Do not go to management with any issues if you are not on good terms with them, they will use that opportunity to get rid of you. Management is also a bit racist I've seen and heard it first hand. Open door policy is strongly encouraged but do not fall for that... BS. Company gets rid of good employees if management doesn't like you. Also management claims to be there for the employees but once it is 1630 they are walking out those doors. They claim to be on the production floor but honestly they are only in there when an important audit might be going on or the higher ups from Sacramento are coming in to tour the facility. Most workers stay quiet because they need the job but there is a lot of things that they wish they would be able to speak up about. There was well qualified workers by experience that had applied internally for a lead position. They where denied because others had a degree, or they knew management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your employees don't be so racist and be a part of the team.

    Blue Diamond Growers2019-08-04
  2. Helpful (3)

    "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Technician in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Diamond Growers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay, Lots Overtime, Job Security

    Cons

    Long Hours, Lots of overtime,

    Blue Diamond Growers2019-06-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Diamond Growers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Blue Diamond Growers truly stands by their Culture and Values.

    Cons

    No work life balance when you work in the production & operation departments.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your employees, because they are who build your brand.

    Blue Diamond Growers2019-03-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Many departures"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Blue Diamond Growers

    Pros

    In the past, Management use to support and promote internally. The past two years, many hires from out state get top posituons. Good brand name, healthy product , competitive benefit.

    Cons

    We tried to stay, but could not. Morale has been low few years. We were overlooked for new positions given to out of state or external new hire.

    Advice to Management

    Too many org changes. Assess morale. Respect longer term Team members; they are truly ones that built the Team.

    Blue Diamond Growers2018-11-27
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Company wants to be a great place to work has A LONG WAY TOO GO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Packaging Machine Operator in Salida, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Diamond Growers full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits great team to work with in salida new manufacturing opportunity for over time for the people who need it good work schedule

    Cons

    The management is broken no one is on the same page the level of favoritism is ridiculous no chance for you to grow unless your one of the team leads favorites team leads allow people to influence their decisions way to much definitely needs new management every shift is the same team leads need to acknowledge the people who actually do a good job instead of their favorites

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of team leads and hire people who actually have good management backgrounds not just because they have a degree team leads need to care for their team not just themselves oh and round tables are of no use no point in waisting time paying employees to talk about there team leads when there favorites will tell team leads who said what about them

    Blue Diamond Growers2018-07-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good candidate for this position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sanitation Worker in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Blue Diamond Growers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people at blue diamond were great people to work with, I've learned alot of new things working there as a temp. The environment was very professional

    Cons

    I really didn't have any issues or misunderstandings working there,

    Advice to Management

    I will give 100% to the job,

    Blue Diamond Growers2018-07-02
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Good Almonds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Diamond Growers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are competitive. Location is convenient. People are really nice. Lots of employees with long tenure.

    Cons

    Management in specific areas is not open, is demanding and controlling. Communications within departments is extremely poor. Favorites are strong.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. Review the communications between finance and HR departments. HR groups are not consistent in practices. New software was not implemented correctly and needs revamping in specific areas

    Blue Diamond Growers2018-04-23
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Great products, great company and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Diamond Growers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees have a lot of freedom to do what they feel is right for the business. This is not a culture bogged down by bureaucracy which is in part why we continue to grow. While internal alignment is necessary at times the focus is on impactful work to drive our business vs. creating presentations for internal stakeholders. There are many new faces at the organization, many of which came from large, well-known CPGs.... They are coming here because they can utilize their skill sets to have a real impact.

    Show More

    Cons

    A bit of apathy in pockets and teams. We need better technology and tools. More internal leadership and development programs. Sacramento can be hard to attract talent. Flat organization which can hamper upward mobility career-wise.

    Advice to Management

    Stick to our core values and culture even as we grow.

    Blue Diamond Growers2018-02-16
  9. Helpful (4)

    "DONT WORK THERE AS A TEMP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Temp in Salida, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Diamond Growers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    not any from my experiences

    Cons

    Worked there for about 2 months and did nothing but build the boxes that almonds go in, while they rotated BDG employees in and out of the fiber department I was stuck there the entire 2 months and did not learn one new thing when promised I would be rotated out and trained in new departments. Also had to work every weekend even though they say "depends on rotation" not only that I would work 10-14 days straight... with no days off and be asked 10 minutes before my shift is over that ill have to stay for 12hours. Thought this was going to be a great experience but it was far from it and I would never recommend someone else to work there. Not once did I have a positive experience in my 2 months

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your temps like actual humans.

    Blue Diamond Growers2018-05-01
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Accountability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Witheld in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Diamond Growers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    National brand that is recognized globally.

    Cons

    HR at Headquarters is spinning their wheels. Quick to assign blame and issues elsewhere when needing to look within.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the employee survey

    Blue Diamond Growers2018-05-01
Found 51 reviews