Boots Opticians Optometrist Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 355 reviews

3.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Boots Opticians Managing Director James Arrow  (no image)
James Arrow
5 Ratings
  1. 3.0
    KEY NOT FOUND: jobLine.self_employ-former

    Strong Company

    Sep 23, 2021 - Optometrist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good, caring, team and banner of Boots Healthcare.

    Cons

    Like anyplace, too busy at times, as footfall right on its doorstep

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Optometrist

    Aug 18, 2021 - Optometrist in Sheffield, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay, generous compared to other companies OCT, phoropter, fundus camera and auto refractor. Good training programme for colleagues Friendly team

    Cons

    Paper record Practise system slow and can be difficult to find patient records Paper records and still not moved onto electronic records yet Not much opportunities for clinical progression

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Boots Opticians Bradford

    Aug 13, 2021 - Optometrist Boots Opticians in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    From starting my pre reg 4 years ago with Boots Opticians and have now worked in multiple Boots branches as a qualified Optometrist, I can say with confidence Boots Opticians in Bradford by far is the best work place to work. I have had the chance to progress as a supervisor for pre regs Optometrists and currently going to supervise my third pre reg in a months time. The team spirit at Bradford makes it a great working environment where I have made friends for life and always look forward to each working day.  The management in Bradford is what makes this store soo unique and has helped it go from strength to strength. In particular the practice manager Saqib and Assistant manager Bilal also a dispensing Optician have lead the team with such motivation, appreciation and always uplifts the mood of all the staff during the busy days and go out their way to make sure customers have nothing but the best service provided for them. We all are very grateful that they are our managers and I can say with 100% confidence that they have both together been the best managers I have ever had as I have had over 16 managers over my four years at Boots Opticians.

    Cons

    Not every store is the same with Boots as I had a very though time as a pre reg and the management towards the end of my pre reg at Chester boots store made me contemplate my career with Boots, however the management in Bradford from both Saqib and Bilal helped restore my trust in Boots Opticians and I have not regrets in staying with the company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Such a downfall

    Jul 14, 2021 - Optometrist in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    less pressure on conversion than competitors although threatened to reduced test times if conversion too poor

    Cons

    Everything else No support No real management, Expected stores to run itself Poor staff retention No incentives, no well dones Expected to drop everything and move stores as they require Long pre-screen No career progressions Old technology Paper records Extremely poor pay

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Poor management

    Mar 31, 2021 - Pre Registration Optometrist in Milton Keynes, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Received good training Good support from lead assessors within Boots

    Cons

    Paper records Supervisor was extremely deplorable - v poor support

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Optometrist

    Mar 10, 2021 - Optometrist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Respected by other staff, always big on teamwork,

    Cons

    Can get very busy, same cons as other opticians

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Poor start

    Feb 23, 2021 - Optometrist in Bournemouth, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company has a good reputation

    Cons

    Poor management Mixed paper and computer records with no coordination, very inefficient Old equipment Tatty building with poor staff amenities

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Experience very dependant on your store and area managers

    Jan 29, 2021 - Optometrist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Staff discount at the chemist

    Cons

    If you have a poor store and/or area manager, consider yourself completely unsupported and working there could be hell!

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Optometrist

    Dec 5, 2020 - Optometrist in High Wycombe, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Take into account maternity / child needs

    Cons

    Unpaid overtime old system and not all electronic , still paper records

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Not enough care about staff

    Jan 6, 2021 - Optometrist in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Longer testing time Provided with good PPE No ghost clinics

    Cons

    Pushing to make sales like other multiples Not about health care anymore

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

Popular Careers with Boots Opticians Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Boots Opticians? Share Your Experiences

Boots Opticians logo
or