Boston Medical Center Reviews

Updated 11 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Boston Medical Center President and CEO Kate Walsh
Kate Walsh
219 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits including retirement plan(in 40 reviews)

  • "Good benefits such as long PTO,(in 31 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work environment can be stressful d/t clientele(in 11 reviews)

  • "Can be a tough patient population(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years
      Featured Review

      great place to work, serve the underserved, make a difference

      18 Sep 2020 - Pediatric RN in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nursing division is run by women, who have cultivated so much change and moving the institution towards magnet status

      Cons

      things don't move fast- change can take years

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Stay away from Radiology!

      11 May 2021 - Team Coordinator (Radiology Front Desk) in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The benefits and the great people who work outside of Radiology.

      Cons

      As a whole the hospitable needs to to organize itself. Ive worked in three departments and the same things rings true in every department. Power struggle, people throwing others under the bus and just being overworked in general with no appreciation. Now the Radiology department is a big no no. Upper management does not have a pulse on the department and it shows. The department as a whole is dysfunctional.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee

      AMAZING

      11 May 2021 - Medical Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      kind, compassionate, happy, welcoming, warm

      Cons

      I don't think that there are any

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Job with Heart

      26 Apr 2021 - Program Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of opportunities to work with mission driven persons, their focus on equity and inclusion are not just words, lots of opportunity for professional development and wellness opportunities if you look for it

      Cons

      Demanding work, Sometimes stressful, Find team that works for you. You may have to search for a while but there are great persons to work with.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      v

      8 May 2021 - Project Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Laid back, community feel to work place

      Cons

      Not enough resources or support for

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A first job that stuck!

      6 Apr 2021 - Registered Nurse in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I completed the Critical Care New Grad RN residency in 2019 and I would highly recommend! 5-6 months orientation, extensive classroom and hands on training, and most importantly I felt supported and welcomed on my unit (Surgical/Neuro ICU). Coming up on my 3 year work anniversary in October and I'm not going anywhere!

      Cons

      You don't get the big name recognition like MGH/BI if you're into that sort of thing. Patient population can be a challenge, but being the safety net hospital, if we don't take care of them who will?

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      BMc

      19 Apr 2021 - Operations Supervisor in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary and freedom along with great colleagues.

      Cons

      Location and community, employees are Union.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good hospital

      10 May 2021 - Cardiac EP Tech in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Provide great benefits and vacation

      Cons

      Location in the south end

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Amazing place to work

      28 Mar 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This facility has the best combination of the most challenging patient population and the most brilliant and dedicated staff. Before I came here I was feeling burnt out with the medical industry, but now I leave everyday knowing that I made a difference. (Sounds corny, but it's true)

      Cons

      Parking is expensive and far from campus.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work to get your foot in the door

      13 Apr 2021 - Operations Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing benefits and time off and pay

      Cons

      The providers can be difficult to work with at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 472 Reviews

    Work at Boston Medical Center? Share Your Experiences

    Boston Medical Center logo
    or