Bournemouth University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Bournemouth University Reviews

Updated 24 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
94%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Bournemouth University Chancellor Lord Nicholas Phillips
Lord Nicholas Phillips
14 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Student Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Ambassador 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Bournemouth University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really friendly team Flexible - you can work as per your convenience

    Cons

    Needs some more management, though I am told it has improved this year

    Bournemouth University2018-07-25
  2. "Great place to learn...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Network Engineer in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bournemouth University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great tech to get your hands on & great to learn and grow: if you want to learn something, you can generally get some hands on time & experience. There are some great technicians on the 'coal face'. It's not a bad place to work and a lot of people stay for years & years. Colleagues are a good lot, on the whole. Flexible around families, good holidays.

    Cons

    Weak management (think this can change depending on what area you are working within the university). It can be a little like the wild west. There is a bit of a blame culture, but no real mechanisms to follow up. Lots of slippy shoulders.

    Continue reading
    Bournemouth University2020-02-24
  3. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Placement Coordinator 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Bournemouth University part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexi time and family friendly

    Cons

    restructure processes sometimes not handled in the best way possible and staff are left very stressed

    Continue reading
    Bournemouth University2020-02-04
  4. "I create websites and manage server for the university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bournemouth University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people, working culture. Flexible environment.

    Cons

    I don't think of any.

    Bournemouth University2019-12-26
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postgraduate Researcher in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bournemouth University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to work. Quite supportive and encouraging work environment.

    Cons

    Nothing that I could think of.

    Continue reading
    Bournemouth University2020-01-01
  6. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Student 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bournemouth University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment Great Staff Good Facilities Recent Investment

    Cons

    Assignment briefs can be vague

    Bournemouth University2019-12-05
  7. "I work as a student influencer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Student Ambassador 

    I have been working at Bournemouth University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s a great international environment and a perfect place to integrate into the UK culture of work. An excellent community to build one’s career

    Cons

    None that I know of

    Bournemouth University2019-11-02
  8. "Review Title"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bournemouth University full-time

    Pros

    Numerous thoughtful faculty who care about student learning.

    Cons

    Shortsighted administration that is constantly changing policy with little understanding of learning or research.

    Bournemouth University2019-10-25
  9. "Very organised and friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Ambassador 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Bournemouth University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Adapts to your course hours

    Cons

    Sometimes there are not enough shifts available

    Bournemouth University2019-08-13
  10. "A great community in a demanding environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Engagement Officer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bournemouth University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The university has a vibrant student and staff community and is constantly expanding. The student services team is very friendly and supportive. Opportunities for personal development.

    Cons

    The university keeps getting in more and more student though the door which puts a strain on both academic and support staff.

    Bournemouth University2019-07-23
Found 56 reviews