Boyd Gaming Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Boyd Gaming Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
38%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Boyd Gaming CEO Keith E. Smith
Keith E. Smith
139 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice people, relaxed environment for a casino company compared to other places I've worked; decent work/life balance(in 15 reviews)

  • "Benefits(once I start receiving them) and the team members dinning room(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "The stress of getting yelled at day after day by ridiculously rude casino guests really takes a toll on your body(in 22 reviews)

  • "No one wanted to make it right including upper management(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Relationship between employer employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time

    Pros

    Innovative, growth, expansion, profit oriented

    Cons

    Less focus on employees, remuneration could be better at par

    Advice to Management

    Reconsider your employees focus strategy

    Boyd Gaming2019-07-18
  2. "over worked little to no banquet staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Banquet Cook in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    lots of room to learn

    Cons

    no room for advancement at all

    Advice to Management

    promote within

    Boyd Gaming2019-10-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Environment and very nice people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst 

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time

    Pros

    Teams are very collaborative, and overall really great group of people to work with.

    Cons

    Somewhat of a limited opportunity for growth in analytics. Not very competitive remuneration. Outdated, legacy BI tools.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on analytics rather than FP&A. Better 401k plans, as that speaks to long-term commitment to your employees.

    Boyd Gaming2019-10-03
  4. "Fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Human Resources Coordinator 

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This Company has Great People!

    Cons

    Not flexible with hours

    Boyd Gaming2019-08-26
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Ok Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Table Games Dealer in Saint Charles, MO

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Vacation Time is above average. Free Meals.

    Cons

    Health Insurance is expensive. 401k is weak.

    Boyd Gaming2019-08-17
  6. "Professionalism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender 

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time

    Pros

    Free Food & Drinks, free food

    Cons

    Messy, Nosey workers, Unorganized, Careless

    Boyd Gaming2019-09-05
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Confused Management and Executives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time

    Pros

    Team mates are great and easy to get along with. We support each other for help when Management is rarely there.

    Cons

    A confused management team with no support. Managers and Executives do not care or respect lower-level employees. You can cry for help, make all the suggestions and ideas you'd like to Management team and the Executives, but nothing will ever get resolved and you will not be heard. They pretend they listen but they do not do anything about it. There is an unrealistic workload that is present in the department that... became a churn & burn environment. No strategy behind any Marketing campaigns and they do not consider any best practices. Some in Management have egos. Usual office politics but the low-key and fake kind. No leaders but fake leaders in the department, many of which did not deserve to be promoted. Company culture is odd. Nearly all employees do not care about the quality of their work, often making mistakes for the ones who care to fix them. This is truly a place to end your career at and not a company to grow your career. Avoid if you are a young professional or middle-aged professional.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees regardless of position level.

    Boyd Gaming2019-09-04
  8. "Great place for Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, atmosphere, meet lifelong friends that you won't find anywhere else. Everyday is something new.

    Cons

    Outdated technology, very conservative environment. low pay

    Advice to Management

    Keep treating your employees as your best asset!

    Boyd Gaming2019-08-01
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Too Stressful..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Agent in Saint Charles, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free meals 50 minute lunch break, plus extra 10 minute break Pleasant/friendly co-workers Lots of company events/volunteer opportunities for employees Decent pay grade (depends on your perspective though) Lots of good benefits

    Cons

    The stress of getting yelled at day after day by ridiculously rude casino guests really takes a toll on your body. Ameristar has the nastiest guests I have ever had to serve. The managers just tell you to suck it up and get used to it. For me, I don't think anyone deserves to be treated as poorly as we are at the front desk. No amount of money is worth that.

    Advice to Management

    Don't give in to the guest's desires. You all know as well as I do that they don't deserve it if they are being rude. If they want to be children and throw fits, that's on them. It doesn't matter how much money they are spending here--tell them no anyway. You can't please everybody. Especially not the guests here.

    Boyd Gaming2019-07-12
  10. "Accounts Payable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy Job, good wage, good benefits, nice office conditions and location

    Cons

    No chance to to move up in the company

    Advice to Management

    Give people a chance to apply for the higher positions

    Boyd Gaming2019-07-04
Found 332 reviews