Boyd Gaming Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Boyd Gaming Reviews

Updated 30 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
39%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Boyd Gaming CEO and President Keith E. Smith
Keith E. Smith
145 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice people, relaxed environment for a casino company compared to other places I've worked; decent work/life balance(in 15 reviews)

  • "Benefits(once I start receiving them) and the team members dinning room(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "The stress of getting yelled at day after day by ridiculously rude casino guests really takes a toll on your body(in 22 reviews)

  • "When talking to many of my co-workers and past co-workers, a lot of the reasons they would or have moved out of Boyd is because of the low pay rate(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Relationship between employer employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time

    Pros

    Innovative, growth, expansion, profit oriented

    Cons

    Less focus on employees, remuneration could be better at par

    Continue reading
    Boyd Gaming2019-07-18
  2. "Good place, but pay is on the low side"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Slot Technician in Michigan City, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment, interesting work

    Cons

    Reasonable but also low pay

    Continue reading
    Boyd Gaming2020-03-30

    Boyd Gaming Response

    March 31, 2020Executive Recruiter

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Boyd Gaming offers a unique family culture in a dynamic environment that provides opportunities to expand one's skill set .

    Continue reading
  3. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, training, and team work.

    Cons

    Starting pay scale, nothing else.

    Boyd Gaming2020-02-12

    Boyd Gaming Response

    February 12, 2020Executive Recruiter

    Thank you so much for the 5-star rating and for sharing your feedback.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture and Relationships Built"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Analyst in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Great Corporate Culture 2. Build long lasting relationships 3. Upward movement/Internal hiring

    Cons

    My biggest and probably only con about working for Boyd would have to be salary. When talking to many of my co-workers and past co-workers, a lot of the reasons they would or have moved out of Boyd is because of the low pay rate.

    Continue reading
    Boyd Gaming2020-02-09

    Boyd Gaming Response

    February 12, 2020Executive Recruiter

    Thank you for your positive rating! Boyd Gaming has a great work culture and it is wonderful to see our internal team members grow within the organization! We appreciate your feedback and encourage you to speak with your leader working through the open door policy.

    Continue reading
  5. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time

    Pros

    There are constant changes in the organization

    Cons

    The organization is generally lack of leadership

    Boyd Gaming2020-02-11

    Boyd Gaming Response

    February 12, 2020Executive Recruiter

    We appreciate you as a current team member and thank you for the 5-star rating! Change is inevitable and we value your commitment and agility when it does occur. We want to make sure that you have the right information to thrive in your role, so please do reach out to your department leaders, or utilize other avenues such as Human Resources for support. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Server in Biloxi, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boyd Gaming part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours, great work environment.

    Cons

    No complaints. A job is a job.

    Boyd Gaming2020-02-12

    Boyd Gaming Response

    February 12, 2020Executive Recruiter

    We appreciate the 5-star rating and appreciate the contributions you made as a Team Member in Biloxi! We’re happy that the position was able to meet your needs. Best to you! #BoydStyle

    Continue reading
  7. "Great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    Room for growth and change

    Cons

    Ever changing management and benefits

    Boyd Gaming2020-01-28

    Boyd Gaming Response

    January 29, 2020Executive Recruiter

    We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review. Thank you for your contributions as a team member and being open and flexible to change. You are #BoydStyle!

    Continue reading
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great People, Great Culture, Great Management

    Cons

    Poor Pay and Poor Benefits

    Boyd Gaming2020-01-27

    Boyd Gaming Response

    January 29, 2020Executive Recruiter

    Your review matters to us and thank you for the 4-star rating. We appreciate you and what you and fellow Team Members do to create and maintain our #BoydStyle culture.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "One of the worst companies to work for..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Pay is on time every time.

    Cons

    If I could give a "0 stars" for this company I would. Hands down one of the worst companies I have ever worked for. They notoriously underpay compared to national averages and industry standards. They also practice unfair and discriminatory hiring and promoting practices, they do not offer raises or bonuses based upon actual performance, and they have a toxic and hostile environment rife with silos. It is a common occurrence for qualified individuals to be passed for the rare promotional opportunities to rise in the ranks and further their careers for unqualified and less experienced individuals who happen to have an "in". If you aren't a 6ft (or taller) white male OR a 5ft female with plastic surgery don't expect to be hired in any management or executive roles.

    Continue reading
    Boyd Gaming2020-01-29

    Boyd Gaming Response

    February 5, 2020Executive Recruiter

    We appreciate you sharing your honest thoughts, and regret reading that you feel your experience has not been a positive one. As a long-time team member, you know that one of our most important goals as an employer is promoting and strengthening our unique workplace culture, and we are disappointed that you feel you have not experienced the welcoming environment we promote. We hope you took the opportunity to share your thoughts through our recent, company-wide Team Member Opinion Survey, or have explored the many options to reach out (both anonymous or personally) via our open-door policy, Human Resources or the Team Member Hotline. Please do reach out to us, we’re here to help and we want to listen.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work but way too many upper management clicks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people I work with were very responsible and friendly but when it came to management if it wasn't their idea it wasn't a good idea.

    Cons

    Upper management has no clue

    Continue reading
    Boyd Gaming2020-01-04

    Boyd Gaming Response

    January 6, 2020Executive Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and wish you the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
Found 344 reviews