Cover image for Buffett Senior Healthcare
Logo

Buffett Senior Healthcare

Is this your company?

Buffett Senior Healthcare

Add a Review

Buffett Senior Healthcare Employee Reviews about "scam"

Updated 17 Feb 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 77 of over 77 reviews
3.2
56% Recommend to a Friend
65% Approve of CEO

Found 11 of over 77 reviews

3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Buffett Senior Healthcare Owner Harrison Burdett  (no image)
Harrison Burdett
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "Buffett Senior HealthCare is one of the biggest companies in Dallas, Texas(in 10 reviews)

  • "Buffett Senior Healthcare provided me with the support I needed(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "none so far except for the long hours(in 5 reviews)

  • "Again weekly "base" pay is only for the first 4 weeks, which totals to around(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "scam"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Senior Healthcare true sales opportunity

      17 Feb 2021 - Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      First I would have to say is financial confidence: If hired we are provided with a signed legal contract guaranteeing you will make a minimum first-year income of $50000, $75000, or $100,000. This is determined based on your interview performance/results and your overall position qualification at time of hire. If for whatever reason you do not make that minimum income after your first year, then Buffett pays you the difference in lump-sum. Obviously, they would not provide a 1st yr minimum income guarantee unless they felt highly confident you would surpass that income after your 12th month. Next is the income. This comes from both first year upfront sales commissions increasing as you get better each day from our continual training and your personal mentor, but more so from the residuals [we call them renewals]. Now well into my 2nd year I am earning residual commission from each off my first year sales. As I continue to sell more and more each following month and year will only continue to grow! Buffett calls this the renewal commission, "Stacking Effect." I can attest that the training and management team here compared to all the other companies I worked for prior to Buffett Senior Healthcare is highly superior. No doubt with it I would not be making the income I am now for my family. The training is outstanding, and the opportunity to truly protect the growing senior population is a great feeling. We only sell the very best senior healthcare products on the market. Next, we are in the senior citizen market. We focus on the baby-boomers and clearly the population of seniors is only growing larger and larger, thus so does our product demand. Finally, we have 2-4 preset daily sales appointments triple qualified made the prior day. No cold-calling. We work our appointments each day, Tuesday-Friday, and have a 3-day weekend.

      Cons

      The perception by some job seekers that the company is not legit. It is NOT a scam. It is NOT a multi-level marketing deal. Buffett is NOT out to take advantage of people. No doubt most bad reviews are bologna and many look like there are competitor companies of Buffett posting fake reviews or folks that never got hired and seek a way to sooth their broken egos. Some of the negative reviews are soooo way off the chart is does not even make sense. For example, a lot of reviews do not even get the primary product correct that we sell. Some of the reviews are from cities where we do not even have job postings or are in states where we do not sell at all due to us not having our primary product in that state (Medicare Supplement). Look, Buffett is purely looking for the person that is the right fit for their particular model in each of their divisions and desires an opportunity to grow their character, potential, and income over time as they continue to learn more and more about their products and their target markets. This all being said, my only hard my only negative criticism is that the company doesn't defend these bogus reviews enough. I have advised they do more press releases specifically addressing these allegations, but so far I have not seen much effort in doing this. From the company's perspective they believe it is not a big deal because job seekers will not take them serious and that it is free advertising. I am up for another promotion in a few months hopefully to a national manager level (director) and when that happens I will make addressing the exaggerated and false reviews a top priority. This is simply because they are not true! Unfortunately, it is true that many people nowadays tend to believe everything the read online and watch on TV. However, responding to scam allegations is easy when you explain the truth because it makes a lot more sense.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

      Outright Scam Do not take.

      8 Jan 2021 - Interveiwee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They will getcha if not careful and home page of website looks cool.

      Cons

      If you go to the website and go to the and FAQ you will notice 3 out of the 10 will tell you that the question has already been answered and for you to go back and look under the advantages tab the questions of the three are very simple questions which the space they took up telling you to go back and find what it say its purpose could of been to answer the questions right there. If you do apply you will be met with a black page on the website that will tell you to answer these questions that you have read from the website out of the pages compared to the website it feels like something is going on with this one in the background that you don't see they it does not feel user friendly on that page I recommend changing it from that because the entirety of the website looks user friendly besides this. After those step you will receive a phone call which mine scheduled me for my second interview which means that this call was my first interview and I did not know that. Upon the second interview the person will tell you if they do recommend you and if you are not good after 4 weeks they will lose their job so no pressure at all. They will also read off a script if you go to the advanages page of the website you will see the main example they give is on there so but they will recommend you take notes while it is in front of you. After that you will be recommended for a third interview. You will be told that this interview is from a different company to determine if you are the right person for this job. At this point I decided to look at the reviews and I seen about having to pay and how many bad reviews so I did as much digging as I could to figure if out why is it like this. On the last interview I was told to repeat the motto of the Company I am applying for to check and see what other companies they have trained people for you find out it is only it is two links for buffett and one for a veterans scholarships all of these are articles provided by Buffett and Sales marketing training academy no outside source in any of these and all from 2013/2014. Then I went to Buffett and all of their press releases are all from the same day. Back to the third interview I am told I would have to pay $999 for the training out of pocket and i will have to pay for a insurance license so $50 as soon as I found that out I had to hang up for me I do not have $1000 to pay for this training that people are saying is bad and on top of that the guy for the "second company" seemed to know the ins and out of the first. From everything I have found out I would never recommend this for anyone. It is not 100% transparent and you will lose out on money maybe that's how they have money and able to provide information on pay is because that how much they make off this scam. As well all the numbers have almost the exact same besides the last 4 digits so at the third interview everything will fall into place on how this is a scam if you do not get any help from this.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. Join the Buffett Senior Healthcare team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Scam, they get you in, with a guaranteed paycheck. Big scam

      9 Dec 2020 - Sales in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Their are absolutely no pros to mention

      Cons

      SMTACADEMY is a scam. Before you start you pay them more then a $1000 for nothing. They belong to Buffett, even though the tell you different. STAY AWAY FROM THEM. I learned the hard way.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Predators.

      9 Nov 2020 - Insurance Agent in Cape Coral, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really can't admit to any.

      Cons

      On boarding $ 900.00. $15.00 non vetted leads, Paid for SMTA training. The trainer came down w/ corvid and was unable to work. BSH used one of their producers for our training. Paid for 1 full week of training, 2days classroom 3 days in the field training. Actually got a total of 3 hours of classroom total and a half a day in the field (the trainer had family in town for the week, which was obviously more important than her responsibilities) Kept us waiting for hours on multiple occasions. She had cherry picked leads for the brief field training of us but still managed to anger prospects and got us thrown out of one house. she was not very sharp but boasted about being one of the company's biggest producers. She told our personal onboarding scores and testing scores with other trainees with a total disrespect for privacy and morality. the entire company was a third rate company with no respect for the people on boarded. The trainer was tacky, vulgar and condescending berating us for not making HER goals. I quit after the 9th day. The other trainee quit on day 14. Do not fall for their scam or their inferior products. I lost a huge amount of money since I was a newbie. I hope I can save others from making this same mistake.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Contractor

      YES, IT IS A SCAM!

      24 May 2019 - Anonymous Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I saw through their lies and deceit before investing more money.

      Cons

      SCAM, do not waste your time or money joining this group. The training is an absolute disaster. It is far from elite. The SMTA training and BSH company was not anything close to what they portray while recruiting people. Three people showed up for the training I attended. All three of us left after the first day. We were lied to, they tried to avoid answering questions we had about the conflicting information and then tried to belittle us and stop us from asking pertinent questions about the company and training by saying we were negative and to stop spreading negativity. They would not professionally address concerns and questions which lead to everyone feeling deceived, losing trust in the company, and feeling completely disrespected. The concern and lack of trust were bad enough that it lead to leaving the training and being out nearly $2,000.00, each, with the cost of training, flights, cars, hotels, and meals incurred for the training. The training videos and material were all outdated and they didn't even have current insurance information and materials despite trying to claim they are experts. Upon asking for 2019 guidelines we were told to go to our local social security office and obtain Medicare material ourselves. That's the bare essentials that the training should be based on and it wasn't even provided. DO NOT DO IT, IT'S A SCAM!

      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Positive reviews are 100% corporate-made

      6 Aug 2015 - Sales Representative in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked as a Sales Rep and obtained all Licenses to sell policies which would benefit seniors. 1 of over 50 preset appointments would actually benefit from the coverage Buffet offers. There are no pros to working with Buffett.

      Cons

      All expenses are paid by the Sales Rep., including preset appointments regardless of sale. After noticing preset appointments were with seniors who would primarily not benefit from coverage offered, I was being charges for each appointment regardless. Two years later, I've received a call for debt-collection on preset appointments. Buffett is legitimately a scam.

      Continue reading
      53 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Insurance agent for BSH

      9 Aug 2015 - National Sales Representative of the Year for Major Medical Device Company 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I cannot say one good thing about my experience with this company.

      Cons

      Watch out, Total scam! Will charge you for terrible leads and come after you years later.

      Continue reading
      35 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Contractor

      DON'T WALK AWAY ---- RUN FROM THIS SCAM

      13 May 2015 - CONTRACT AGENT 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Promises of $75,000 a year income, three to four guaranteed preset appointments, reimbursement of travel expense, territory in your area. Promises with read between the lines scam!

      Cons

      You have huge gas and travel bills,$1,000 you pay for training upfront, they hold part of your commissions. No 3-4 preset appointments. Scam run!

      Continue reading
      110 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Scam

      26 Oct 2014 - Sales Representative in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Being able to leave that company is the biggest pro I could ever give to these scam artist con men.

      Cons

      Was here for 4 months and poorer than when I went in, what is the point of running a company to scam people? Why not just run a legit business that doesnt scam old people?

      Continue reading
      24 people found this review helpful
    11. 1.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      The company is a scam.

      13 Aug 2014 - Agent in Albuquerque, NM
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. The run-around began from day one. Instead of training with a professional in Dallas, I was forced to fly to St. Louis, where I had to drive 70 miles to a small city in Ilinois. My trainer was an obvious crook, who engaged in illegal acts in my presence. He sold nothing and all of his "sales" were canceled by the customers he scammed.

      Cons

      Forced to spend money that was not necessary for training. Forced to use high-pressure tactics to convince seniors to drop their existing coverage and buy the company's scam products.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Buffett Senior Healthcare Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Buffett Senior Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

    Buffett Senior Healthcare logo
    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    Buffett Senior Healthcare Photos

    + Add Photo
    Buffett Senior Healthcare photo of: BSH Team
    Buffett Senior Healthcare photo of: Brainstorm Session
    Buffett Senior Healthcare photo of: Champions Dominate
    Buffett Senior Healthcare photo of: BSH Team
    Buffett Senior Healthcare photo of: Jonathan Rothschild Team
    Buffett Senior Healthcare photo of: BSH Team
    Buffett Senior Healthcare photo of: BSH Team
    See All Photos

    Buffett Senior Healthcare Job Seekers Also Viewed

    Bankers Life Logo
    Bankers Life

    3.5

    2,255 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 77 Buffett Senior Healthcare reviews submitted anonymously by Buffett Senior Healthcare employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Buffett Senior Healthcare is right for you.