C Space Reviews

Updated 26 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 215 of over 226 reviews

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
C Space CEO Jessica DeVlieger
Jessica DeVlieger
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "C Space is a place that really rewards an entrepreneurial mindset with near limitless opportunities to grow(in 22 reviews)

  • "Everyone is literally amazing, smart people, nice people, even 'cool' people(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Agency life anywhere is fast paced, and C Space is no different(in 23 reviews)

  • "Long hours for little pay or praise from seniors(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Its is very good company to learn

      21 Jun 2018 - Java Developer in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nothing to say any pros about this company

      Cons

      very useful for every developer

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      System Analyst with excellent knowledge

      23 Mar 2021 - Systems Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nice environment, nice office interiors

      Cons

      long work hours and work pressure

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Challenging work, some passionate people, not a long term career

      13 Apr 2021 - Cloud Infrastructure Engineer in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was at C Space for a little over 2 years. My department and team was very passionate about making the platform a great product. They supported and were open to new ideas or new ways of doing things and gave everyone a lot of autonomy. There was great camraderie - when we were in the office we'd do regular game and movie nights. Pay/benefits were fine, but I had department leadership that fought for me, I can't speak for other teams.

      Cons

      The leadership is totally lost and oblivious to the problems further down in the company. Management would rather pretend that everyone is friends instead of treating people like professionals with all the expectations and responsibilities that comes with. The parent company makes decisions that cause serious problems on the software development side and the leadership just shrugs their shoulders and forces IT/Engineering to go along with it. You never knew when they were going to surprise us with a change that we had days to plan, implement and fix whatever problems it caused. There are serious problems with favoritism, and when the People and Ops team hears any criticism they're quick to reject it as complaining, it not being "the right fit", or claim that the problems were magically solved after that person left the company.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      C Space Response

      Chief People & Operations Officer

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your experiences at C Space. We appreciate your feedback and there's a lot here for us to reflect on. Wishing you all the best with your next career step.

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Avoid at all costs

      26 May 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work & good clients Free breakfast when in the office Some really great, kind people in the workforce

      Cons

      C Space London is built upon systemic favouritism where those who have the longest tenure, or are favourites of the management team are prioritised for promotions. Salary is awful at a junior level & those at a junior level are required by directors to do the most work. Lazy directors that have minimal input in accounts but will claim to do all the work and have constant oversight to the client - this is not true. Cult like culture ideal for an extrovert but if you’re an introvert you don’t stand a chance. Burn-out culture has also been created across all teams - excessive working hours required with no overtime paid out. Management have no problem in singuling out individuals, publically, who don’t conform to the C Space culture.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Here for the people + mission

      23 May 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      C Space is full of people who genuinely care, about the company’s mission, about each other, and about the work. I love my teams. This by far has been the best work environment and working culture I’ve experienced. I see C Space as a place I want to have a long-term career, and I’m impressed by how long so many people have stayed at C Space - the tenure of many of my colleagues is 5, 10, even 20 years. That says a lot. I feel so lucky that my manager truly cares about my success and happiness, and is an amazing coach and mentor who pushes me. I really feel like I’m helping companies care more about people/their customers through the work I’m doing every day. C Space has also made DEI a true priority starting last year. They didn’t take performative actions like so many others did. They really began working from the inside out on what needed to change, and there is still work to do, but they’re working on it. C Space is even now working with companies to better understand experiences of customers living with disabilities and how to make them better. I still feel engaged even though we’ve all been remote this year. And C Space has been incredibly flexible in letting us decide what’s best for us personally in terms of returning to the office or staying remote, even long-term. I’ve worked at other companies with toxic work environments, constant gossiping, unhealthy competition, and leadership who doesn’t listen - and C Space is none of those things.

      Cons

      C Space isn’t perfect, but no company is. I still rate my experience 5 stars even with the issues that exist. These issues are very frustrating, and I do know initiatives are underway to work on them, but they still seem to never get solved. Resourcing and staffing our teams at the right levels has been an issue. There needs to be more training on craft skills and consultative thinking. While we are doing big, impactful, strategic work with many clients, we also still have many “traditional” clients where we wish we could do more.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to learn and develop if you have an entrepreneurial mindset, others find it a bit more challenging.

      15 Feb 2021 - Associate Director in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You are encouraged to propose new initiatives and ways of improving the business and consultancy, strong sense of test and learn. Entrepreneurial spirit makes it a great place to push boundaries and learn and develop. Variety of work is quite high across the agency, spanning CX, brand, innovation, Data and Analytics, etc. Brands/clients we work with are pretty good for CVs: all the big 4 tech firms, well known brands from a range of industries (from FMCG and Automotive to Pharma and Financial Services) Strong feedback culture, makes it easy to give and receive feedback and learn and grow if you are proactive about it.

      Cons

      While management is always open to conversations about long-term career development, you need to be the one to initiate and push them forward. Can feel stressful at times if you're stretched too far out of your comfort zone, and if you need to upskill yourself on a new topic quickly. Crunch periods can get quite heavy on workload, leading to some late nights for big deadlines. Occasionally this means working weekends too. When this happens, the business does provide “free” days off in exchange.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Starting Point, but Short Term

      24 Mar 2021 - Associate Consultant in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Can learn the world of market research with very little experience; a great place to start your career and dive right in - Feel they're taking genuine initiative with Diversity and Inclusion

      Cons

      - Awful compensation... nowhere close to industry average. If you're starting your career, you just have to accept that this is more of a learning opportunity than a chance to earn a pretty penny straight out of college. But by no means is this a company where many people stay long term - there are limited growth opportunities and, even so, poor pay at a mid-tier level. It's just painful when you're working 60 hour weeks and not getting the proper recognition or compensation for the work you put in. - Dare I say... two-faced culture? Everyone is all smiles and *has* to stay positive under all circumstances which for whatever reason the company believes boosts morale. And it would - if people were honest. Not everyone is. I've seen people praise their colleagues then turn around and bash them. It's wild... at the end of it all, I didn't know who I could trust anymore aside from being purely professional.

      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Well intentioned, but delusional.

      6 May 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incredibly nice people. Great client roster. Ambitious vision.

      Cons

      While C Space claims to be a “Customer Agency,” it remains primarily an online community provider - yet the community platform is woefully outdated and painfully lacking automation. They hire very green, young talent (most often recent undergrads) yet ask staff to act like consultants. Most (remaining) leadership have been at C Space for ages, or have never worked anywhere else, limiting the ability for fresh thinking to drive meaningful change. Burnout is real, and it’s not because “agency life is intense”; it’s because things aren’t managed, staffed, or invested in properly.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      High Stress, Low Pay and Recognition, Have a 1-2 year exit plan

      2 May 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun teammates Young culture Industry exposure Emphasis on culture events A+ client list (big names) Love the customer centricity + interesting product Diversity and Inclusion initiatives Stable job Base PTO is 15 days vacation (though this is not much) + 2 personal days + 40h sick + 2 paid volunteer days + 2 floating holidays

      Cons

      This is NOT a place to stay for a long time. Leave within a few years or risk stalling your career and experiencing burnout. C Space does not value their talent. They hire bright (often straight out of undergrad) employees and pride themselves on having the best, but chance for upward mobility is slim if you are not a 'favorite' - despite great work/putting in long hours. The PTO is minimal considering the OT put in to get work done on time. Management is in denial about staffing well enough to fulfill timelines they promise (which leads to OT, stress, asking for coverage, etc). Note: some levels do not receive OT pay. Promotions are few, and promotion timelines are long. There is a quota for how many people can be at each level. Management knows most people leave after 2-3 years but writes off those who leave as "not making the cut" when the attrition is actually due to no/low financial or title growth. The pay is low. When you are at a lower level, you will be expected to do 'upper tier' work as part of your normal duties but will not receive compensation or recognition. Moving up requires you to already be doing the job of the tier above you at highly proficient level. Keep in mind pay raise can only happen once a year and promotions usually only happen twice a year. Read: you will work at a level above what you are being paid to do for a year or years before getting rewarded. C Space does not invest in key backbone areas like technology and employee retention. The stress is high and work levels can be unhealthy. It can be hard to find time for lunch even though you're "at the office" for 9 hours+ a day. You may find that OT is expected of you, and downtime during the workday is non-existent. Burnout is very real. Periodic/daily health issues went away after leaving. LOTS of talk about innovation - but impossible to sustain or truly act upon because the seasoned experts at various levels continually leave for greener pastures. Many buzzwords and initiatives that sound great but lots of "talk". Some teams can be toxic. Management plays favorites and moves goalposts. Taking risks/new ideas can be risky to voice if they don't align with viewpoints of higher-ups. Issues affecting growth aren't surfaced until performance reviews instead of being communicated in a timely fashion. Reviews might circumvent established processes. Markers of progress are often subjective - your review will reflect how much your higher ups want you to grow - or not grow. Onboarding is rushed. New employees aren't taught all the skills they need. Communication internally about onboarding has been spotty and incorrect info is taught.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      C Space Response

      Senior Director of HR

      Thanks for your feedback on C Space. Of course we’re saddened to read your review though appreciate your citing of positives like our incredible culture, noteworthy client list, and DEI focus. We know that working in a client-focused business can mean hard work, long hours, and stress; this can be real for many and are things we are actively working on as business. I won’t try to address everything in your review but would like to clarify on a couple of points: Despite the pandemic, we’ve promoted over 1/3 of the company (100 people) in the last year, and our average tenure these days is close to five years. It would be remiss of me not to acknowledge the uptick in attrition in the first two quarters of this year compared to 2020 (when attrition was only 15%). Phil, our Chief People Officer, spoke transparently about this in our most recent staff meeting. As he said, we remain focused on the everyday employee experience, bringing in strong and diverse new talent to our business, and supporting them and their teams as we train them. We’re conscious it’s been challenging for many people through the last year, and we hope some of the initiatives shared in the session will continue to shape our culture in positive ways: a new Culture Committee, empowered and focused to build connections across the business, Impact Awards celebrating our teams’ work with clients in May, a ‘Me Day’ in June where every employee can book an additional day away from the office to focus on their own well-being, an additional day of PTO for Juneteenth, and another day of inspiration and education linked to Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in August. We always welcome conversations with any team members who may be struggling to see how we might help. Sorry you didn’t have a good experience with us, and wish you all the best in your future career steps.

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Entrepreneurial and ambitious. World's your oyster to rise the ranks

      17 Apr 2021 - Associate Director in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Entrepreneurial, meritocratic, ambitious, and great people who were inspiring to work with

      Cons

      Long hours - asked to go above and beyond too often. Mainly the nature of agency more than the business. Resource always a challenge, like most agencies.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 215 Reviews

    Popular Careers with C Space Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at C Space? Share Your Experiences

    C Space logo
    or