C Space Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

C Space Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
C Space CEO Charles Trevail  (no image)
Charles Trevail
61 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours for little pay or praise from seniors(in 19 reviews)

  • "I would say that to be successful at C Space there is a level of pro-activity required on your part(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Its is very good company to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Java Developer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at C Space full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nothing to say any pros about this company

    Cons

    very useful for every developer

    Advice to Management

    Nothing to advice to management

    C Space2018-06-21
  2. "A nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at C Space full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Part of the Omnicom Group (Big 4 in Advertising) which brings very attractive clients Gives good basic experience in Qualitative Research

    Cons

    "Cultural Crisis and Record Turnover" 2-3 people from project teams leave this firm every week because of the miserable pay and unbearable amounts of work laid upon them. C Space has a group identity culture enforced with a list of behaviors employees must demonstrate, they will describe themselves as a Inclusive Meritocracy, but it is the total opposite. The "360 feedback culture" enforces employees to... criticize each other, in the name of "constructive feedback". This therefore creates a culture of fear and walking on eggshells (in my experience in project teams, consultants act overly keen, obsequious and desperate to sugar-coat some very basic research insights. Over half of people who are in key project-work positions are secretly looking for jobs themselves. Every Friday at 4, the entire London team is summoned by the CEO who desperately tries to be like Steve Jobs. During his endless monologues, whilst you keep worrying about your unfinished tasks yet will find solace in the free beer/wine before the week ends, you will receive an earful about how amazing and modern the culture is, despite its obvious flaws which are causing key people to resign every week. You will only truly succeed in this firm if you play the game right.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your people know better, stop trying to be something you are not!

    C Space2019-12-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "A place to grow... but after? Not sure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at C Space full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you find yourself in a passionate and engaged team, this place will help you grow leaps and bounds.

    Cons

    Resource is a bit of a problem but they're aware of it. The work can feel really thankless at times as well - you have to find a personal reason to be here, and sometimes that means looking HARD at yourself. Also the skills here are great if you want to stay in London but can be hard transferring to other industries.

    Advice to Management

    People work hard, but sometimes don't feel like it's acknowledged, appreciated or even worth it - help them find value in what they do.

    C Space2019-11-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at C Space full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work is fascinating and I often find myself excited to come in and get to it. Overall I think the company had a high degree of self-awareness and leadership is always making an effort to reflect and recalibrate when things aren’t working. They don’t always get it right, but the fact that they can communicate about what isn’t working and show that they’re trying is appreciated. Because the company is in the... middle of a big transition, there is tons of opportunity - both to try and learn new things and to grow professionally.

    Show More

    Cons

    Like with any company, there are some challenges to working here. The technology available to employees is woefully out of date and we lose hours of productivity because of it. There isn’t a ton of transparency when it comes to raises and promotions and how they decide what levels to hire people at; I’ve seen a lot of inconsistency in terms of years of experience needed to be hired in at different levels. The... projects I’ve worked on have for the most part been undervalued and sold for much, much less than they’re worth compared to what I’ve seen at other consulting firms. And it definitely requires an iron clad will and very, very firm boundaries to maintain a healthy work-life balance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get us new laptops, please!! Also recognize that espousing the importance of work-life balance does not translate to a guarantee of having a healthy work-life balance. Many employees are still regularly logging 50+ hour weeks. someone should be checking in with them to find out why that is and figure out how to reduce their workload.

    C Space2019-10-20
  5. Helpful (8)

    "No separation of HR and company politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at C Space full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Resume builder. Long hours means a lot of experience.

    Cons

    Politics. C Space has a serious problem when it comes to corporate politics. The leadership team and upper management have been working together for years and have developed a toxic social click. If you have a problem, regardless of its nature (pay, workload, etc..) do not expect HR to help you. They are a part of the toxic cult and will not even look into your problem because they are a part of the cult. Sales... sells business that the company is not equipped to support, and other employees are expected to figure out. This results in understaffed teams, long hours and a stressful work culture. People are not happy here. Avoid at all costs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do not base business decisions based off of friends. Act professional.

    C Space2019-11-12
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Engaging work for lackluster pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at C Space full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Brilliant colleagues - High visibility within client organizations - Responsibility given when it is earned and asked for - Entrepreneurial culture - Self-aware organization always trying to deliver a better employee experience

    Cons

    - Pay is terrible - "Client-first" mentally can create martyrdom culture - Vision for the business is wishy-washy, creating confusion about where to place your bets to align yourself with future of business

    Advice to Management

    New hires prior to my departure were all very promising, most of all within the people operations roles and leadership. Continue building the culture that group has started, and bring pay up with the value employees deliver (which - shocker - may mean charging clients more for our services).

    C Space2019-09-06
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Sinking ship w. horrible compensation, unclear vision, and chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at C Space full-time

    Pros

    - Coworkers are kind and willing to lend a hand, some from elite schools and intellectually driven, think high performing psych major from Tufts U -Leadership is mostly transparent as I’m sure they will be in responding to this review - Get to build C Space as a company since we are transitioning -Even for jr employees, opportunities to reach up and do higher-level work - Work hard, play hard mentality with... some fun social events and lots of laughs, great for people with a sense of humor and bringing their full selves to work

    Show More

    Cons

    - No training. Leadership will defend the new learning program but really you will be thrown into the fire as soon as you start - I have to secretly look for a part time job to supplement my pay because I can’t afford to pay student loans with a C Space salary -insane turnover in my teams largely due to salary and resentment people develop towards C Space before they leave, also leaving no institutional knowledge... behind -half my time spent w. IT figuring out laptop crashes, software crashes, or losing all my progress on my report when the screen goes black - Too much focus on being consultants makes leadership openly disparage our market research work which IS the bulk of what we do. It’s like a cult.. -Too Boston focused including which schools we hire from [tier 1 liberal arts schools or tier 2 Boston-area schools] - Constant chaos. No one knows what anyone else is doing. Random account assignments and then you are yelled at for going over your assigned hours - CEO and leadership is too far removed from the work and don’t work as long hours as jr employees do ever - Jr employees do menial work while our competitors have automated these tasks 5 years ago. These employees then have to work like crazy to get the menial stuff done to gain actual skills by reaching up - New Omnicom promotion and pay increase policies make it even harder to get promoted and get a raise -ironically nonsensical branding of ourselves when we are supposed to be consultants to brands (??]

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It’s time to realize that C Space is a sinking ship. To salvage it, get your life preserve and Take a week to pause everything and seriously reconsider pay, who we hire, and how things operate internally. It’s been 10+ years of employees scraping by on your pay. It’s doable if you’re an East coast rich kid where dad can pay for your rent, vacations and trips home, but if you’re anything but that, life will be a... struggle. No more excuses, us employees have had it.

    Show More
    C Space2019-09-15
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at C Space full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and work

    Cons

    Stress and poorly resources projects. Few snakes in the grass

    Advice to Management

    Focus less on hitting targets and more on employee wellbeing

    C Space2019-08-09
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Changed for the worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at C Space full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * High calibre. Most people are very intelligent, curious and ambitious * Innovative. Lots of exposure to new research techniques * Lots of the people are nice, friendly, funny. It can be good socially * HR know what they're doing. It just gets lost in the day to day of teams (see below). They must be pulling their hair out

    Cons

    Firstly - it’s not really innovation, it’s ideas and inspiration for clients at the start of the process. There’s not much commercial thinking, market sizing, logistics. They’re often good ideas, so don't dress it up and pretend to be something else But mostly, this year has been a nosedive in terms of culture. They won some awards last year (these were more deserved at the time, plus they put a lot of effort... into submissions), but since it's gone a bit wrong. Key things: * Thankless. Long hours for little pay or praise from seniors. Emphasis on feedback culture often used as an excuse to criticise and over-control. Very common to feel patronised * Unfair. The apparently rigorous progression process and some successful people are shouted about, but really it comes down to a manager's opinion. If you're one of the favoured few, great - if not you can be stuck * A lot of hot air. Some things feel like vanity/an Instagram post rather than for anyone's benefit * Believes it's more progressive than it is. Some leaders talk about how special/transparent/modern it is - and use that as a sticking plaster for low pay. Reality is a lot of what they talk about is standard in the agency world * Trying to be something it’s not. Self-compares to big, famous consultancies. That’s not why people work here. Bain, McKinsey etc. do a very different kind of work in a different atmosphere for a lot more money. Really competitors are small-medium market research agencies

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    * Value your people or more will go * Go back to how it was 1-2 years ago * Having things like ‘show the love’ stenciled on the wall and over-using the word 'empathy' doesn’t make up for being a bit brutal

    C Space2019-07-11
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Chaotic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at C Space full-time

    Pros

    Lots of growth opportunities if you have the patience

    Cons

    Left hand does not know what the right hand is doing

    C Space2019-07-13
Found 158 reviews