CDK Global Web Design Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

CDK Global Web Design Specialist Reviews

Updated 13 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
1.7
7%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
CDK Global CEO Brian Krzanich
Brian Krzanich
2 Ratings
  1. "The money is good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Web Design Specialist in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CDK Global for less than a year

    Pros

    Good group of people who are working with you.

    Cons

    As a contractor Management had no desire to be one of those friends. Often the manager would walk right past you and he wouldn't say a word.

    CDK Global2020-02-13
  2. Helpful (6)

    "No Place for a Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Design Specialist in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CDK Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I met some amazing life long friends at CDK and they are really the only thing that kept me going day to day. They have all pretty much moved on from CDK now, thank God. I learned a lot about myself here that really was life changing and about what I wanted in life and in a job. I mean if you really want to chance some self enlightenment, go for it, but maybe try reading a book first.

    Cons

    I won't go on too much. What can I say that already hasn't been said? Not much. Please take these reviews to heart because all the negative things said are 100% true. There is no growth for any sort of creative minded person at CDK. All these poor graphic designers being hired to be template monkeys and work with a platform that does not transfer within the industry at all. My advise to you? DO NOT WORK HERE! Unless you just love being under appreciating, treated like a number, ignored, working crappy hours, and OH having crippling depression.

    Continue reading
    CDK Global2019-10-22
  3. Helpful (15)

    "Suicide Jar, Favoritism, Bed Bugs, and HR is a joke."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Design Specialist in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CDK Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pros? The view from the office is amazing and you never have to take home work.

    Cons

    Co-workers constantly joked about committing suicide because they hated the job so much. Eventually, someone thought it funny to place a jar on top of one of the cubicles and have everyone put money in the jar each time they wanted to commit suicide. You would regularly hear the drop of a coin in the jar and the office would erupt in laughter. MIND YOU, this is happening right next to the managers who laughed along too. And if you think that alone is bad enough, they eventually took the money and had a pizza party. Absolutely disgraceful. When if comes to promotions, I knew people who had been with CDK for many years and were only a Web Design Specialist 1. But the people who were in good with management would get raises before their 1 year anniversary. Also, as a contractor they will tell you they are going to hire you full time, but I was one of the last contractors to actually have that happen. They just string along contractors with false hope BECAUSE THEY KNOW THEY HAVE CHEAPER LABOR IN INDIA. And then there is the bed bugs. Holy moly. The other reviews are true. Bed bugs were found (again and again) so they fumigated the office overnight. Many of us asked to work from home that day because we didn't feel comfortable sitting in an enclosed office space with no open windows. Needless to say, we didn't get to go home. And last but not least......CDK HR is HORRENDOUS . This is going to make me loose my anonymity, but who cares. I suffered a back injury while working at CDK. Instead of just letting me work from home while I healed, they forced me to take a leave of absence. Fine. Whatever. I'll take a month off work. But when I came back I made it through half a day before my back and nerve pain had returned, so HR sent me home, this time to WORK FROM HOME while they found me a new chair. Prior to coming back to work, they requested my Physical Therapist "prescribe" a proper chair for me. You should have seen my PTs face when I asked her for this. She literally said "Im a Doctor... not an interior designer." But she put together a bulleted list of requirements for my new chair. After several months, they told me they had a chair for me-- they told me it was a free sample that a vendor sent them (that should have been my big clue into their ineptness). When I got there, it was a chair that DID NOT meet all of the prescribed requirements, and again I only was able to make it half a day before going home again. IT TOOK THEM 3 MORE MONTHS until they were able to find me a suitable chair. SMH. I left CDK as soon as I had the chance and have never regretted it.

    Continue reading
    CDK Global2019-09-04
  4. Helpful (18)

    "You are stuck in your position. No advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Design Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CDK Global full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I am here only to keep a job due to family obligations

    Cons

    Company does not respect their employees. Underpaid they only look for their profitability and their customers. No advancement in the past 10 yrs - in position nor in Pay. They constantly make false promises that they cannot keep

    Continue reading
    CDK Global2019-07-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Very Supportive Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Design Specialist in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at CDK Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits were great for an entry level job. My team was collaborative and great to work with.

    Cons

    They expect too much in too little time.

    CDK Global2019-02-28
  6. Helpful (54)

    "This is a Fictional Company, it has to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Design Specialist in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CDK Global full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growing shorter by the day. There was a time when this company was actually focused on providing customers and clients with a good experience. You were given quite a bit of freedom in how you accomplished tasks, and were rewarded well for the time spent. Both offices used to be teeming with helpful, supportive coworkers who always had time to help. Used to. Were. Was. Not anymore.

    Cons

    Let's get this one out of the way. It is morally reprehensible to attempt posting so many fake positive reviews on Glassdoor. You should be ashamed of yourselves. Any person could take a few seconds to invalidate any of these reviews. It's sad that you can no longer find any employees willing to write a legitimate positive review for this company. Let's start with your shady business practices. You are well within your right to hire contractors as much and for as long as you like. However, don't you dare make consistent promises to hire these people full time, and then string them along with some non-existent carrot. We all know the reasons. You opened up the office in Hyderabad, India, because you can realistically pay 3 of them for the price of one of us (if you even remotely paid us well, to begin with. It's why our job title is Web Design Specialist, and not Web Designer, so you can do that.) This practice is not new, nor is it uncommon. I know the people in our Indian office. They're hard workers. Good people. What's wrong is the way you are deceiving clients and customers. The folks in India are being asked to work in an industry that is vastly different than in their country, following instructions that can baffle even native English speakers. You have expressly forbade this team with communicating with clients, and instead have the team Stateside essentially play cleanup fixing (understandable) typos and communicating with clients, taking up time we could be using to help our customers. Back on the topic of contractor treatment, there have been innumerable instances where an employee could rightfully sue CDK Global for their actions (and in at least one case, this did happen, and CDK lost). A manager intercepted an HR complaint filed against one of her "favorite" employees for making a racist comment. Needless to say, the victim was a contractor, and they definitely found a reason to fire her. In another case, a contractor with chronic migraines had to take regular days off (contractors do not get PTO, they simply do not get paid). After providing medical evidence and a legal doctor's note about their condition, they were let go less than a week later for being "away from their desk too often". We also had a disabled employee in a motorized wheelchair, whom would have to wait outside the office floor every day because the company failed to provide a working handicap-accessible door. Then there are the health and safety violations. Bed bug infestations (yes, plural) have happened, and rather than closing the office to allow employees to work remotely, the building was sprayed overnight and everyone was made to come in the next day. An electrical fire broke out from one of the microwaves, and rather than evacuate, everyone was asked to continue working. The fumes for the rest of the day were so bad, that surgical masks were passed out to employees (not by management of course, but a fellow coworker). This brings me to our technology. We live in a constant state of building the metaphorical airplane in the air. Our proprietary platform is still missing promised features from it's launch over two years ago. It is missing features that were common in the platform's previous iteration. We are completely unable to respond to requests that our competitor's handle with ease, and are expressly forbidden from doing any sort of custom work to suit a customer's needs, no matter how small or large. Explicitly, this means no usage of HTML or CSS whatsoever. From a web designer. For a website company. In 2018. At the base level, we have no recovery tools. If content is deleted from a customer's website, or if published changes need to be undone, it is simply not possible. The customer's data and content is so vulnerable, how could you possibly trust us to take care of it? Things that are gone are gone forever, and that is just reprehensible. We do not even have a reliable way to center text on a web page. Think about that for a moment. If we are unable to perform such a basic task, how can we possibly be a leading tech company? You are a mockery. A farce. It's at this point, I must remind you that I am not speaking about a fictional company. This company is real. This company is doing all of these things and is getting worse by the day. This is CDK Global, and they truly deserve the reputation that they have gained.

    Continue reading
    CDK Global2018-10-16
  7. Helpful (37)

    "I’m just another broken spirit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Web Design Specialist in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CDK Global for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Direct managers were wonderfully strong people. And continually supportive in realistic ways during the bleakest moments. Working smart, not hard, is extremely easy, as long as you can give up pride in your own work. System rewards relationship building, which means an easy life if you remain likeable.

    Cons

    Take 5 minutes to browse the reviews and I promise you there is little left unsaid. The endless detailed accounts of employment at CDK directly mirror my own, and I find no reason to be a broken record. The biggest impact to myself, is the company destroyed my skill set, and has no shame in that. How can you call this position “web design specialist” ? Call us what we really are, Retention Specialists. We offer no graphic design as we follow templates, and no web design - as coding is even a fireable offense. We are simply on the frontlines against a frustrated customer base, told that our priority is to appease retain customers when we know they deserve far better. If that sounds like what you want to do with your $60,000+ Graphic and Web design student loan debt. You can have my spot, and I’m off to find work that rewards the skillset I put myself in debt for.

    Continue reading
    CDK Global2018-10-19
  8. "Decent Company Decent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Design Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CDK Global full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Steady work, work-life balance, ability to work remotely (was one of the only ones on my team of 50+ allowed to)

    Cons

    pay, no advancement in my team

    CDK Global2018-09-06
  9. Helpful (25)

    "Please don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Design Specialist in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CDK Global full-time

    Pros

    No experience required, mindless work, watch YouTube as you slave away.

    Cons

    Basically a sweatshop for web content creation. Every minute of your day is evaluated. Produce as many low quality Photoshop copy/paste banners as possible in order to survive. Creativity is punished.

    Continue reading
    CDK Global2018-07-06
  10. Helpful (7)

    "It’s ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Design Specialist in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CDK Global full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It will look good on your resume if you haven’t had a job/experience before. You are working with a company that works directly with GM.

    Cons

    I found that people make fun of co workers behind their backs a lot. Management has a ‘quantity over quality’ mindset when it comes to web design.

    CDK Global2018-04-15
Found 25 reviews