CDW Reviews

Updated 14 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
CDW CEO Christine Leahy
Christine Leahy
373 Ratings
Pros
  • "a Healthy Work/Life balance is stressed(in 199 reviews)

  • "Great place to learn and start a sales career(in 103 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Base salary for certain positions is less than average(in 103 reviews)

  • "not enough exposure to different Account Managers unless you go looking for it(in 71 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      CDW Has Heart and Drive

      29 Apr 2021 - Principal Field Solution Architect 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CDW is Genuine - CDW may have 10k employees but when you get sincere, thoughtful emails from the CEO Chris Leahy, about solidarity standing against AAPI hate, standing up for LGBT rights, acknowledging coworker hardships and effects of COVID. Whether it's standing up for employee rights, recognizing employee contributions, or providing financial rewards, I see that CDW truly cares. CDW Strives to do and be better - CDW is constantly innovating, acquiring companies to broaden and improve their offerings, being introspective about new capabilities, and encouraging employees to achieve goals that further the company's mission.

      Cons

      Hard-working culture - Work/life balance can suffer at the expense of serving its customers Territorial sales reps - Some reps want so badly to provide a customer a solution, due dilligence and measured approach sometimes fall by the wayside

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Finally found a company I want to stay with for the rest of my career

      13 May 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *Very pro co-worker (employee) atmosphere. Most co-workers are very collaborative and want to help you. Since this company is based in the midwest- you generally work with wholesome nice "salt of the earth "people. Outside of sales, they aren't cut throat and try to take care of their people. *COVID Response- the company had all of the employees that could work remotely work remotely, we have a configuration center that was an essential operation, if there were any issues, they had the whole center professionally sanitized to keep the config center workers safe. Our health and safety has always been #1. Unlike other companies, CDW hasn't rushed us back into the office- they have being taking surveys, seeing what people are comfortable with and are cautiously going forward. I'm glad they aren't pushing people to get back into the office ASAP- they been very understanding and been very respectful of employees privacy and wishes. * Fertility Benefits just got upgraded BIG time- CDW in 2021 has partnered with Progyny for fertility benefits. You can get 3-4 cycles of IVF, Egg Transfer, along genetic testing covered. This is offered to all employees including LBTQ+ couples and single people who want to start a family on their own. Also they will pay for 3-4 rounds of Elective Egg Freezing which is outstanding if you are an unpartnered female. Having friends who are in deep debt because of lack of IVF coverage with their work, this is huge if you are looking at starting a family. * A company will never be your family and I dislike when companies compare themselves to that. That being said, CDW is the company that has gotten me closest to that "feeling". Everyone here is really nice and I feel very supported here. Other companies I feel like I could get fired at any moment and not know why or because I wasn't part of the "in crowd". Outside of sales (they are performance based), if there is an issue, they will have you work with your manager to level set expectations and try to met those goals. There's no surprises when it comes to my performance and I feel much more secure here than any other job I have had. *Annual Increase- If you have a good rating, CDW usually does a merit increase each year. This is amazing because at least your salary increases each year which helps a lot with inflation. Not many companies do this at all and every year you have to "fight" for more money. I'm so glad I don't have to do this anymore and can get a merit increase for being great at my job. When my rent goes higher I don't freak out as my merit increase will cover it and I can maintain my lifestyle.

      Cons

      * Too many, tools process and admin work- 60-70% my job is dealing with discrepancies, pushing orders through, making exceptions etc. CDW makes it work but processes are very complex and it takes years to learn all the nuances of everything. I'm still not sure how everything exactly works and I can thankfully lean on others to help me if I don't know something. * CDW needs to work in it's diversity. They done an awesome job of promoting white women into their senior leadership and C-suite roles. They need to start promoting people of color and women of color into management and senior leadership positions- that *aren't* D&I/HR roles. I will say as a person of color- this is the most supportive and comfortable working environment I've been. I have no plans on leaving, I know CDW and Chris Leahy are actively working on changing this and I look forward to seeing what they do to change this. *401k/ESPP- could be much better, not competitive with what other tech companies offer.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company culture post military career

      27 Apr 2021 - Federal Solutions Manager in Huntsville, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture of this company really is amazing. Leaving the military I heard stories of how people missed the comradery they experienced with teams during their career. I am fortunate enough to work with teams that has the same feel of comradery and still solve problems in the Department of Defense environment. Other pros include: - Benefits package from a Fortune 200 company - Promotion for demonstrated performance and potential (I've been in the company less than two years and promoted twice) - Company culture is inclusive and dynamic - My team is not location based (can live anywhere)

      Cons

      Fortune 200 companies tend to have more governance ... i.e. they move slowly to make decisions so are not as responsive as a small business.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Culture Matters

      27 Apr 2021 - Business Development/Capture Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers matter and it's proven in myriad ways everyday. Hard work is recognized and rewarded. You are NEVER asked to choose between family or work. We are expected to behave ethically in everything we do, and our leaders do the same. You can always raise your hand for new projects, extra assignments, etc. and are encouraged to learn and take on new roles inside CDW. The mix of longtime and recent CDW Coworkers builds on the power of history, connections and new ideas. When you need help, ask. Someone will answer.

      Cons

      CDW can be more risk averse than some of our corporate peers and that can be frustrating; however, their decisions are all based on what's best for Customers, Coworkers, and Shareholders. Always.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Incompetent management and below market value salary

      8 Apr 2021 - Sales Support in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home and nothing else

      Cons

      Management does not support workers in any manner. They lie, contradict each other, show no appreciation, and give really low raises. Very high turnover and there is currently a mass exodus of long term employees who are tired of not getting promoted, not being appreciated and being given unmanageable workloads. Management seems like a bunch of robots, trained to use the same sound bites. They constantly tell us how every situation can be turned into a positive; they promise change but do not deliver. It’s a highly dysfunctional environment. The Sales team is rude, demanding, impatient and treats sales support very poorly. I am pretty sure CDW pays people to write “good” reviews because I don’t know anyone who is happy working there. Cheap company, silos their employees, poor internal communication and management will lie to your face. It’s amazing how much money they must spend in onboarding as most employees leave within several years due to low raises and getting passed up for promotion. Horrible place to work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CDW Response

      Manager, Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We assure you it does not reflect CDW’s values or corporate culture and take any claims not in line with The CDW Way very seriously. We would like to know more details about your situation, so we can look into this further. I encourage you to contact us via one of the following options: a. CDW Ethics and Compliance Office directly by calling (847) 419-6160 b. Ethics Helpline at (877) 723-9929 or c. Coworker Relations, Sr. Manager Keith Arnold at (312) 547-3028

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Hardwork, slow start, long term project for workaholics

      24 Feb 2021 - Account Representative in Etobicoke, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good culture - Commission scales with achievement and tenure - High earning potential - Good training - The start of this job is like chewing glass everyday for two years. If you can get over the hump, there's greener pastures (ie loads of money) on the other side.

      Cons

      - Work life balance; if you want to truly see success you need to put in 12 hour days and grind really hard throughout the day. This job will probably take over your life. - Unrealistic expectations, your targets scale each month based on your growth and previous years earning with that account. If that account made a huge purchase last year but buys nothing this year, good chance you won't make target (some commission clips are based on achieving target instead of gross profit percentage) - Benefits are pretty average. - Start at 8:00am, unpaid lunch. - They schedule constant trainings that clog up your precious time to reply to customer requests/call blocks (lots of them are super useless) - First class to get trained remotely, this job would be difficult in an office environment, but they haven't set up appropriate resources for new candidates working remotely. Extremely difficult to navigate the endless always changing processes without a team, or manager that can answer questions quickly throughout the day. Instead having to send emails constantly, waiting for replies before being able to get back to customers and managing that in an inbox was a nightmare.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Headline

      14 May 2021 - Account Representative in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great atmosphere at the place

      Cons

      Low Salary to start off

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Working with Account Managers to deliver best in class services and product.

      11 May 2021 - Regional Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Diverse and engaging environment. Like a start-up, but we're not!

      Cons

      We are growing and at times it feels too big.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Hard Work Noticed, Recognized and Appreciated

      8 Feb 2021 - Cloud Solutions Specialist in Lincolnshire, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      (1) Outstanding Leadership; I can confidently acknowledge that for the first time since my career began, CDW has shown me what true leadership means. Working with the most considerate and best mentor for the first time has made me appreciate my job and company that much more. (2) Many chances offered to learn and growth development- Regular opportunities provided to further learning and gain new knowledge assisting in said growth are provided often. These lessons make you feel more of an asset to the company. (3) Supportive (Coworkers), who feel more like Team Members, are always working together, free to assist in helping resolve issues, and work as a Team should. (4) Excellent training initially and continue to be challenged by being provided new tasks added to our responsibilities. (5) Positive Atmosphere, Coworker Centric Environment and Value recognized often.

      Cons

      Typical office environment that has nothing to do with our jobs and responsibilities, but people acting unprofessionally from time to time. The type of issue that Management can't do much about and will always be a factor in the workplace environment. *Nothing to deter from the happiness of working for the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome Company and People

      3 May 2021 - Product Specialist in Etobicoke, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hiring process was great, Faiz was very on the ball and always kept me looped in throughout the process. The PPM team is led by Dan who is probably the best director I've have the opportunity to work with so far. A great group of people who all want to support each other and work to strengthen the team overall. Work life balance is great, very excited to grow my career with CDW.

      Cons

      Nothing negative to say here.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,402 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with CDW Job Seekers

    Senior Cisco TelePresence and Video Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CDW? Share Your Experiences

    CDW logo
    or