CH2M Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 of over 1,284 reviews

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
CH2M CEO Jacqueline Hinman
Jacqueline Hinman
466 Ratings
Pros
  • "They understand the work/life balance(in 80 reviews)

  • "Great people and good diversity(in 60 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Need a little better communication from upper management(in 44 reviews)

  • "Bad senior management- the leadership needs to learn to be more proactive and teach their team new skills(in 34 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "senior management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 2.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Not as good a company as I thought prior to working for them

      Jul 2, 2019 - Occupational Health and Safety Specialist in Hanford, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Got to see the Hanford Nuclear Reservation and the Tri-cities, WA.

      Cons

      Inefficient. Hours started at 5:45 a.m. to 4 or 4:30 p.m. since they work 4-10 hour days. Workers would come dragging in in the dark, tired, which is not good since they worked with dangerous equipment and hazardous waste. The site was very large and quite far from town, yet the extra travel time was not paid for. Mgmt talked about ethics, but their ethics officer did not seem to know what ethics was. Snow days were not compensated. Overworked mgrs. Inconsistent information or poor planning--some would tell us one thing, but someone else would contradict them the next day. Offices were in many trailers across the site. Windy, with dust blowing often. Poor signage, if any--hard to navigate or find a specific trailer. Roads and lots in poor repair, hazardous waste grounds were placed every which way, building fragments may not have been removed completely. Traffic accidents were high, but senior management did not follow through on employee recommendations.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Facilities coordinator

      Feb 6, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great co workers, good environment to learn new things

      Cons

      Bad senior management- the leadership needs to learn to be more proactive and teach their team new skills

      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Bright future after a long decline

      Nov 4, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee culture is passionate about the clients and the environment. Strong company culture promoting values and diversity.

      Cons

      Senior management has been an undisciplined club in recent years, and it shows in the poor health of the company - but positive change is coming.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Falling apart

      Feb 14, 2017 - Vice Pesient 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people who want to do their best. Staff is absolutely committed to it's clients. Not only do staff want to do their best, but they are absolutely many of the best in the world in their respective disciplines. There is no doubt about this.

      Cons

      The CEO and senior management team have changed the heart and soul of the company. The new structure is really an EPC model that marginalizes the value of people and their relationships with clients and each other. Management says the opposite but that's just them trying to put a good spin on the restructure. Senior management is simply too far away from actually serving our clients and have followed the advice and direction from a relative newcomer to CH2M to lead BD activities and take her direction in restructuring the company to look like Jacobs. Unfortunately, Jacobs is principally an EPC firm not a consulting firm like CH. Senior leadership stresses how our restructuring is leading the market and the CH is the only firm using this new model. There's a good reason that no other consulting company follows this model. It's not new - it's just the wrong model for a consulting business. As a result of these changes, many top technical staff and managers have left and many, many more are weeks to a couple of months away from leaving. Leadership was "surprised" to see folks leaving in droves - literally. If our leadership really understood our clients and our business, this shouldn't have been a surprise to anyone.

      Continue reading
      29 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Slow death of a once great company..

      Jan 3, 2017 - Senior Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Junior staff have many opportunities to work on a diverse portfolio of projects. Good series of client contracts. Co-workers are, in total, smart, fun and ethical.

      Cons

      Senior technical talent thinking of coming on board should run away and run away fast. Unsupported unless you are in a very small select group, management has given up on true innovation (despite what they claim), funding for conferences is minimal and focus is on next month not on long term growth. In addition, senior technical staff are expected to be highly billable, even when they had been given OH roles. Management cuts overhead and if you don't have enough billable work you are expected to use your vacation (I kid you not)-- note senior management has no problem spending OH dollars. I have been at CH2 for 18 years and it went from a phenomenal company, focused on its clients and people, to a company whose senior management focuses on themselves. Poorly run for about a decade. Project Managers basically dead end at a certain level due to lack of opportunity. The recent reorganization resulted in many very good people let go (not for performance or workload reasons) and done so in a classless manner. Basically if you were not politically connected you were at risk. Talent is leaving in droves (including senior VP level management who ended up on the wrong side of the reorganization). Various internal tools are a nightmare to work with and support functions outsourced over seas, resulting in massive time wasting. Losing money on some bad projects and senior management keeps telling staff at their quarterly propaganda meetings they have it managed. Unless senior leadership changes, this is a doomed ship. If you have 15 years or more experience avoid CH2M like the plague. Advice to junior staff-- get 2 years of experience and move on, unless you see significant change at the top.

      Continue reading
      28 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      800 right-sized in November 2016

      Dec 28, 2016 - Senior Engineer in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Telecommuting, flexibility in working locations, some great people.

      Cons

      If you don't have top coverage, your time on board is limited; top heavy senior management earning huge salaries and not contributing to the bottom line efficiently. Us technical people doing the work with not support. Client centricity model isn't working; having no overall admin number to charge to if you're not considered a BD person is crazy; using vacation time so as not to incur overhead costs is a widespread practice that no one open admits to but everyone does it. Not a way to manage an organization. Truly care about your people so they don't feel like they are a number on a spreadsheet and only as good as their previous project. There is no loyalty.

      Continue reading
      22 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Tool Install Designer

      Oct 7, 2016 - Tool Install Designer in Lehi, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many different locations across US and World Managers willing to help with personal growth Tons of online training available Average to High pay for industry

      Cons

      Working at Client site, projects are unpredicatble so jobs can be short term Bureaucracy of trying to get certain things accomplished Senior Management in Colorado seemed disconnected from our operations.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Engineer

      Oct 12, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salary. Talented people. Good technical knowledge.

      Cons

      Senior management does not have a coherent business strategy. Reactive to market pressures, but not strategic. Project managers are technically proficient but administratively hamstrung, not good with giving clear direction or feedback.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Global Talent Brand Strategist

      Thanks for your comments, and we’re sorry you’ve left the company so you may not know about the changes we’re making to our operating model. These are designed to fully align the company to the client-centric strategy we put in place several years ago and that has been highly successful. One of the benefits of the new operating model is that we’re simplifying how we work and reducing barriers that have made it difficult for our people to serve our clients. We are convinced our new model will reduce the duplicative tasks and give our employees more time to focus on what they love to do most – creating unique and differentiated solutions to the world’s greatest challenges. We hope you will consider coming back to CH2M. Thanks

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Culture Change

      Jun 16, 2016 - Staff Engineer in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team effort of hard working employees.

      Cons

      Senior management cares more about bottom line rather than employees.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Global Talent Brand Strategist

      Thanks for your feedback, we're pleased to hear that you are part of a great team. We recognise that the company is evolving so would encourage you to look at the 2015 Summary Annual Report, which explains changes that are contributing to our stronger sales and backlog and better long-term prospects for our clients, our people and our company. Thanks, Matt

    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      On the Decline

      Jun 4, 2016 - Civil Engineer III in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - large firm with a mix of opportunities for young engineers - work-from-home flexibility, good for parents

      Cons

      - Actual office culture is depressing. Coworkers are generally resigned to be there with a few cheerleaders from corporate. Office culture is a nightmare for millienials - stifling, impersonal, unlikely to be resume-building. - Despite a female CEO, company culture is definitely still an old boys club. Career trajectories for minorities and women seem to stagnate once they reach mid-level. Some diversity at lower levels, but select few minorities in senior management or executive positions. - Benefits are not good, very expensive for employees and continue to get cut every year. Bonuses are non-existent for anyone but senior level, and even they didn't get bonuses last year "due to poor company performance." - Company seems to be slowly sinking. Brought in outside investors to fix bad investments in the oil industry. Sacrificing their brand of innovation to bland, low-hanging fruit projects. The notion of "employee-owned" is meaningless at this point and no one wants company stock.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Global Talent Brand Strategist

      Thanks for your feedback. All companies must evolve and adapt to the marketplace and the stakeholders they serve in order to be competitive. To sustain the greater purpose of CH2M as a global company, the company is evolving too. We encourage you to read the 2015 Summary Annual Report, which explains changes that are contributing to our strong sales and backlog and better long-term prospects for our clients, our people and our company. We also invite you to review the FAQs that explain the minority investment by Apollo. Thanks, Matt

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 34 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with CH2M Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CH2M? Share Your Experiences

    CH2M logo
    or