CMC Markets Reviews

Updated 13 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
CMC Markets Executive Chairman  Peter Cruddas
Peter Cruddas
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great colleagues and work life balance(in 23 reviews)

  • "there are nice and good people around all business units (globally)(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Not bad"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMC Markets full-time

    Pros

    Free cereal Nice office location

    Cons

    Aren’t really any cons I can think off

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Associate in Singapore

    I worked at CMC Markets full-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues and work life balance

    Cons

    No career progression within the company


  3. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMC Markets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good work-life balance - Decent pay - Transformation team is ambitious and keeps growing - HR are making an effort to listen to employees - Allowed to work from home during lockdown - Free doughnuts on CEO's birthday - Despite not being able to have a Christmas party, HR are making the effort to come up with an alternative - Good reputation i.e haven't been fined by the FCA yet

    Cons

    - New joiner onboarding could be improved. Depending on what team you join, can take a while to get up to speed - Access request approvals could be quicker - Diversity could be improved - Can sometimes feel disconnected from the overall company vision

    CMC Markets Response

    December 17, 2020HR Team

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is fundamental to improving the way we work together and improving our employee experience. We are pleased to learn that your experience with CMC Markets has been positive and we wish you continued success with us.

  4. COVID-19
    Helpful (8)

    "Dont bother joining unless you are a friend of the CTO"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unspecified in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CMC Markets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The salary and benefits are good.

    Cons

    No working from home, even during the Covid19 outbreak. Disorganised company, will many layers of management adding little value. The company is undergoing a technology "transformation" which us a good thing, but unfortunately this is being undertaken entirely by the mates of the new CTO. So if you aren't one of Brendan's buddies, its not worth joining as you will soon be dead wood.

    Continue reading

    CMC Markets Response

    December 17, 2020HR Team

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is fundamental to improving the way we work together and improving our employee experience. We value our people and talent acquisition at CMC Markets and operate a fair and transparent recruitment process with all roles advertised internally before the release on our website and LinkedIn page. We aim to promote cross training and knowledge sharing across the business, creating an open environment leading to potential development opportunities. We are sorry to hear about your experience at CMC Markets. We value the opinion of all current and former employees. Please feel free to contact a member of the HR department at any time to discuss further - hr.inbox@cmcmarkets.com

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Cmc markets has the best working environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Onboarding Specialist in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMC Markets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good company culture and friendly environment

    Cons

    Internal system need to be improved

    CMC Markets Response

    December 17, 2020HR Team

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is fundamental to improving the way we work together and improving our employee experience. We are pleased to learn that your experience with CMC Markets has been positive and we wish you continued success with us.

  6. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Collaborative and innovative environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMC Markets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - definitely the friendly people. the support from colleagues and managers through covid have been great, and we have gotten lots of flexibility on working from home or the office, with substantial measures in the office to keep it a safe environment for the ones that prefer to be in. - autonomy and variation in your role, and scope to grow which makes it exciting. There is also much trust from management to do your job, and not being micro managed, but rather trusting your skills and experience. - great successes and a culture for innovation and technology, with exciting projects in pipeline that makes you feel a part of a journey and a company that is going places.

    Cons

    - the package over all is great, even though the salaries are not the highest in the market. The role and environment definitely makes it worth it though.

    CMC Markets Response

    December 17, 2020HR Team

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is fundamental to improving the way we work together and improving our employee experience. We are pleased to learn that your experience with CMC Markets has been positive and we wish you continued success with us.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Overall efficient and organised company"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CMC Markets full-time

    Pros

    The structure is flat the team works efficiently between them.

    Cons

    Bonus paid in June of second year

    CMC Markets Response

    December 17, 2020HR Team

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is fundamental to improving the way we work together and improving our employee experience. We are pleased to learn that your experience with CMC Markets was positive and we wish you continued success in your future endeavours.

  8. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Good company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMC Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked for CMC for over a year now and have found the environment engaging, challenging and rewarding. Like any City firm it’s demanding but unlike other City environments its fair and understanding in its approach. The business is growing making significant investments in people and systems across both the front and back office. The office is open with all the requirements in place to provide a Covid safe environment. Those employees needing to work remotely are supported to do so but equally I prefer to work from an office to give space between my work and home life. Personally, I would struggle in a firm that was not supporting employees to return to office.

    Cons

    Very few so far. Career options may be limited by the firms size but there is scope to move laterally and there is support for formal training if needed

    CMC Markets Response

    December 17, 2020HR Team

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is fundamental to improving the way we work together and improving our employee experience. We give a great deal of autonomy at CMC and encourage people to shape their own career paths, which, (as you mentioned) the company actively supports through a range of learning and development initiatives. We are pleased to learn that your experience with CMC Markets has been positive and we wish you continued success with us.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "A company going places"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CMC Markets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Without doubt a company that's going places, investing hugely in technology and people Great people in a work and social sense People are empowered

    Cons

    Currently still fixed desks although that's changing

    CMC Markets Response

    December 17, 2020HR Team

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is fundamental to improving the way we work together and improving our employee experience. We are pleased to learn that your experience with CMC Markets has been positive and we wish you continued success with us.

  10. COVID-19
    Helpful (3)

    "Horrible company hiding Covid cases in the office"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CMC Markets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - work life balance - finally working from home again

    Cons

    - Disgusting company to work for. Two weeks ago we were told that one person in the office tested positive to Covid-19....did they tell us to work from home? NO. We were asked to continue going to the office. What if other people got infected? What if those people infected more people while commuting? That’s so irresponsible! You should be ashamed of the way you handled this pandemic! - senior management is ridiculous. They don’t even know what they’re doing

    CMC Markets Response

    December 17, 2020HR Team

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is fundamental to improving the way we work together and improving our employee experience. We value face to face collaboration and have worked hard to ensure our office is safe for employees to return to work. We have strictly followed government guidelines and protocol to ensure the office is a Covid-secure workplace as well as carrying out regular risk-assessments. We also appreciate individual circumstances and concerns. With the support of line managers and HR, we have offered a range of remote working scenarios whether that be a combination of office and home working or working from home full time during this difficult period. We are sorry to hear about your experience at CMC Markets. We value the opinion of all current and former employees. Please feel free to contact a member of the HR department at any time to discuss further - hr.inbox@cmcmarkets.com

Viewing 1 - 10 of 100 English Reviews