Cactus Communications Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cactus Communications Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Cactus Communications CEO  Abhishek Goel (no image)
Abhishek Goel
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home or wherever you are(in 42 reviews)

  • "I think they do a good job of balancing the demands of their customers with the needs of their freelance editors(in 41 reviews)

Cons
  • "Paid electronically in USDs once a month based on number of words edited (not hours spent editing)(in 127 reviews)

  • "Too low paying for US based editors(in 78 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The experience was great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Editor in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible timings and work from home

    Cons

    Have not found anything yet

    Cactus Communications2019-10-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Editor in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything. Great office, great people.

    Cons

    Have not found any yet

    Cactus Communications2019-08-20
  3. "Its a very good company. Cactus Communicationsy is a brilliant company in all aspects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Entry Operator in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work culture, salary, work-life balance, organisational behavior, hire-ups coordination

    Cons

    Nothing, nothing, nothing, nothing, nothing.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain these rapport in future. And bring comfortable and employee-friendly policies in the organisation. Thank you.

    Cactus Communications2019-07-18
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Career opportunities and Work culture, motivate me to work in CACTUS

    Cons

    There is no as such difficulties in CACTUS faced yet.

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Cactus Communications2019-07-23
  5. "Great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, QC in Andheri
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture, Flexibility, People, Ever-evolving, and great infrastructure

    Cons

    Long work hours, compensation, and no work life balance

    Cactus Communications2019-06-14
  6. "One of the best companies to work for in India"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Communications full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great culture, fairness in compensation and role, employee-focus, fast growing

    Cons

    Niche industry space - academic publishing

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Cactus Communications2019-06-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good company for freshers in scientific writing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientific Writer in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good learning opportunities Good employee benefits

    Cons

    No work life balance Poor pay

    Advice to Management

    Please have quantitative achievable targets for employees rather than random number scaling

    Cactus Communications2019-05-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Working as a Editor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mumbai

    I worked at Cactus Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1.) Very good working atmosphere 2.) Employee Morale

    Cons

    Cons: No problems faced so far

    Cactus Communications2019-05-23
  9. "GD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cactus Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very cooperative company.. good HR. . Team.. team.. everything.

    Cons

    Nothing.. this is good company

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Cactus Communications2019-03-14
  10. Helpful (15)

    "A job as any other - has its pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cactus Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. As an org, they strive for transparency 2. Invested in continuous improvement of org 3. A good work environment when it comes to rapport with and professionalism of peers and others. Encourage resolution of disagreements in a cordial atmosphere.

    Cons

    1. Pay not commensurate with the skill sets brought to the job. Also, career options can be limited given that the org operates in a rather small and niche industry. May be difficult to pass off this experience as legit if one decided to move on. 2. Likely incorrect and lopsided strategic emphasis on bringing in more clients, adding new features for clients, and expanding the business through various media... channels as opposed to hiring and retaining talent. So, while the demand/sales side is strong and bloated, the supply side remains weak, with there being constant churn in the editorial pool that prevents its growth. 3. Subjective standards of edits. The emphasis needs to be on helping the author getting the science published and NOT on educating the client about language. An attempt to be the gatekeepers of the language artificially raises the bar to a level that is an overkill when it comes to manuscript publication. Moreover, this unnecessary higher standard only lowers output.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on attracting and retaining talent and go easy on the demand/client side now that a critical mass (of brand knowledge) has likely been achieved. Revisit quality standards of edits and pay structure.

    Cactus Communications2018-11-26

    Cactus Communications Response

    March 7, 2019Associate Vice President

    Thank you for your feedback! Among other things, transparency, trust, freedom of thought and expression, and professionalism, are fundamental to the core values CACTUS practices. To touch upon the demand and supply point you've made, I agree that we have more to do to bolster our strength and meet industry and customer requirements. We have a 2-year vision aimed specifically at resolving our challenges in this area and are confident that we'll overcome these soon. While the industry CACTUS operates in is niche in India, the skills developed at CACTUS are applicable across industries, as is seen in the new career trajectories of several of our ex-employees. We will continue to focus on pay structures going forward, as we've done in the last couple of years, and would appreciate your suggestions. Please feel free to contact me at yasminc@cactusglobal.com or my colleague Divya Nair at divyad@cactusglobal.com. Finally, to address the purpose of our services, it's important to keep in perspective the fact that language functions as the vehicle for the science that scientists want published. The two are far too interlinked, and to remove language from the purview of how our editors communicate scope for improvements with authors would be a disservice to the process of good scientific communication, a cause CACTUS is committed too. I hope you'll agree. Sincerely, Yasmin C Associate Vice President, CACTUS

    Show Less
Found 68 reviews