California Casualty Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

California Casualty Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
California Casualty CEO Joe Volponi
Joe Volponi
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "They are family owned business and values work-life balance(in 11 reviews)

  • "The work environment feels inclusive and optimistic(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Small company, no room for upward mobility(in 6 reviews)

  • "No cons only good things happen at this company(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "So Grateful To Be A Part of This Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Sales Representative in Leawood, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, 37.5 hour work week, flexible schedule, the income potential is incredible, and the management team truly cares about each individual employee.

    Cons

    Any job you do will have its little stressors. This job is no different but the little stressors don’t even begin to outweigh all of the good here.

    California Casualty2019-09-22

    California Casualty Response

    October 2, 2019Vice President, Sales Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this kind feedback! We strive to create a positive culture where hard work is rewarded. I’m glad you recognize the earning potential and appreciate the flexibility that is offered as the organization understands the importance of work/life balance. We value our employees who make a difference for our group members on a daily basis! Your success is our success! We want nothing more than to see all of our representatives succeed and experience the rewards that this position offers within California Casualty. Your opinion is valued and we have an open door policy if ever have any suggestions. We wish you the best in your continued career with us and thank you for your contributions!

    Continue reading
  2. "RESPECT - Employees with company longevity should be treated with respect."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in San Mateo, CA

    I worked at California Casualty full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stabile, Hardworking, Committed and Loyal Long-Term Employees

    Cons

    Company Lacks Diversity and Transparency No Opportunities for Advancement No Work/Life Balance

    Continue reading
    California Casualty2019-09-12

    California Casualty Response

    September 30, 2019SVP Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. California Casualty takes great pride in the length of service of our employees – it is part of what makes us unique. We believe that this long tenure is a testament to how the company values and respects all of our employees. Our employee loyalty and smaller population is also one of the reasons why we have to think outside the box when it comes to all of our employee programs. For example, we have to go beyond the limited approach of traditional promotions to find other ways that our employees can grow their abilities and find satisfaction in their work. This focus on our unique employee demographic also means that we are always working to enhance our internal communications. We solicit suggestions for improvement from our employees, helping to enhance the annual all-employee events where senior executives share the successes and upcoming challenges our company faces. The employee feedback process has also driven changes to other aspects of our employee communication. We know that our employees are the key to our success and we are focused on addressing the whole employee lifecycle experience – from hiring to separation. We want our employees here for the long run and the proof that we are doing a lot of things right for them will be in continuing to maintain our outstanding employee longevity. We appreciate your contribution while with California Casualty and wish you the best in your endeavors.

    Continue reading
  3. "Good Company and Great Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at California Casualty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really good company serving first responders, educators and nurses. The training was excellent and maybe the best in my career! H,R. Dept is excellent as well.

    Cons

    Pay structure is weak and needs to be strengthened. It is mostly minimum wage with some salary and no residual income.

    Continue reading
    California Casualty2019-07-31

    California Casualty Response

    August 5, 2019Sales Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and acknowledging our valued group members, the “American Heroes” whom we serve. As an organization, we strive to provide our Sales Consultants the best start to their careers possible, and do value our training and agree our Human Resources Team is very effective and helpful. Creating an effective compensation structure in a sales department is always a challenge. We are constantly evaluating our compensation structure within Sales both internally and our competitiveness within the marketplace. Within the Inbound Sales position, we offer a higher base hourly wage with bonus potential, as compared to our Outbound position which has a lower base with a higher commission potential. Our Outbound Sales average compensation is currently well positioned in regards to income potential with the majority of our reps earning substantial success and income. We will continue to do our utmost to ensure the income potential for our Sales team members remains competitive and a positive motivator within our environment. We do appreciate the contributions you made while with our team and wish you only the best for your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at California Casualty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great starting pay, in-classroom training, they take care of payment to get your adjuster license, studying time available in class, standard hours

    Cons

    It was a lot of work in claims, however management if you stay on top of your work.

    Continue reading
    California Casualty2019-07-23

    California Casualty Response

    August 9, 2019KSC Regional Claims Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at California Casualty.

    Continue reading
  5. "Family Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with, good pay and caring management. Everyone is kind and supportive, lots of potlucks, treats and luncheons. Management interacts well with employees.

    Cons

    There is no for advancement and everyone has the same job title and nearly the same pay. There is no separation from an employee who doesn't perform to an employee who over achieves in their position. The bonus plan is hard to achieve and goals are unrealistic on a long term basis. There is no flexibility in scheduling, no telecommuting, job sharing or part time schedules offered. There are no vacation trades or buy outs and getting time off is non existent if you don't plan your time six months in advance. If you use your accumulated and available sick time you are reprimanded and ostracized for it. Cost of benefits per month is high.

    Continue reading
    California Casualty2019-06-21

    California Casualty Response

    July 8, 2019Assistant Vice President, Service Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We also value our colleagues and culture here at California Casualty! Our employees are the foundation of the company’s success and we want them to have fun while delivering on our promises to our customers! You are correct, as a smaller organization promotional opportunities are more limited. If you are able to consider relocation, it can certainly open additional career opportunities outside the location you currently reside in. We believe that growth and development are important and we do look for ways to provide opportunities for employees that show interest to grow their knowledge by working on special projects, additional online course work, obtaining insurance designations, etc… There are rich opportunities to grow your insurance knowledge as well, whether you chose insurance, or it chose you. We believe each employee should make the most of those opportunities and be a lifelong learner, so I encourage you to reach out to your Manager and discuss your goal planning and development. Finding the right balance with an incentive plan can be tricky. It should be a stretch goal and attainable, but not so attainable that it is no longer a challenge. We are currently looking at our incentive plan with the goal of making it more inspiring, so stay tuned! As for vacation scheduling, that does require some pre-planning on the employee’s part. In order to service our customers, we need to have the appropriate amount of representatives on the phone at any given time. Often, multiple employees want the same time off and while we would like to be able to accommodate everyone, that can be challenging as we want to ensure that the hold times for our customers are not too high. We look at a variety of factors to make time off determinations and we also recognize that not every event can be preplanned. Our managers work hard to accommodate their employees’ requests and we strive to be fair to everyone. Our generous sick time policy is there to cover time off due to illness; however, we do have dependability guidelines in place for the flexibility of our employees and balancing the need to meet customer expectations. We try to be very clear up front of the expectations so that you can decide if we’re a fit for you. We do have an open door policy, and encourage you to reach out to your Manager, your department manager or to Human Resources for further discussion. We appreciate all your contributions to the organization and wish you continued success.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Understaffed, Underpaid, and Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The coworkers are great because they all feel you like do. Its a casual environment. The CEO Beau Brown is the nicest guy you'll ever meet but he doesn't have anything to do with running the claims department.

    Cons

    You will be micromanaged on everything you do. The only way you will ever get caught up is if you work 50+ hours a week. Tenured employees take all the vacation time and early schedules so don't count on either of those. Systems are 20 years old and they refuse to update them. There is zero chance of a promotion to another role as there are 20 year employees still in the same position they were hired in.

    Continue reading
    California Casualty2019-06-03

    California Casualty Response

    June 18, 2019Regional Claims Manager

    California Casualty works hard to ensure our Claims Department is properly staffed. The claims environment can be challenging and difficult to anticipate since accidents and catastrophes are not scheduled, which means the workloads can fluctuate from one week to the next. However, we recognize that our employees are the core to our success and the excellent training and guidance we offer allows our adjusters to succeed within a normal work week. The majority of our employees excel in the Claims Adjuster role without needing to work extra hours. Vacation bids for adjusters are governed on a first come, first serve basis and holiday requests take into account whether prior holidays were taken. Seniority plays a limited role in this process. competing requests for time off. California Casualty continues to attract talented employees because of its reputation as a first class employer. Opportunities are provided for continuous learning and promotions from within. Being an employer of choice is reinforced every day by the number of long term employees who choose to stay with the company, as well as our high customer retention rate that exceeds the industry average. We have an open door policy and strongly recommend that you reach out to your manager, your department manager or to Human Resources. We appreciate your feedback and your continuing contributions.

    Continue reading
  7. "Understaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at California Casualty full-time

    Pros

    People are pleasant to work with and for the most part work together to get claims closed.

    Cons

    You are paid salary and are working 50 or more hours a week just to try to stay on top of your claims. Extremely understaffed and turn over is more than they hire.

    California Casualty2019-04-13

    California Casualty Response

    April 17, 2019Dir of Claims-Field Operations

    Thank you for the feedback. We agree that California Casualty has a wonderful staff whom are dedicated to serving the insurance needs of our customers. Claim volume does fluctuate from time to time and that can create uncertainty in work volume and staffing needs. However, we understand that workload during periods of high claims volume is challenging. We are constantly monitoring our staffing levels and making necessary adjustments as needed We appreciate your feedback and the time you spent with our team and wish you the best in your next endeavor.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Leadership, & Income Potential!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outbound Sales Agent in Leawood, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at California Casualty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Compensation plan is very competitive with the rest of the industry and top sales rep make over $100K -Company pays for your P&C licenses in 44 states -Team Managers in Leawood,KS office are very helpful and will do everything they can to help you succeed. -Hours are very flexible and, for the most part, you make your own schedule

    Cons

    -A lot of the initial training was not hands-on, as the trainer was located in another state and you were basically taught through a TV screen. This sometimes made it difficult to hear the instructor and communicate with them. However, my training was about 2 years ago and I believe the company has improved on their training process since then.

    California Casualty2019-01-22

    California Casualty Response

    February 5, 2019Vice President, Sales Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We do offer a competitive package including licensing in 44 states, as we want to set our representatives up for success. We work with our representative through coaching, sales enablement tools and being available to assist them to reach the best they can be. We work as team to achieve the same targets. We did listen to feedback we received regarding virtual training a couple years ago and thrilled we now have a live trainer in our Kansas office. While the offices may work together during new employee orientation, we feel it has improved our overall communication and support to have trainers at both locations. Wish you the best in your continued career with us and thank you for your contributions.

    Continue reading
  9. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers, benefits, executive team.

    Cons

    Few opportunities for advancement.

    California Casualty2019-01-07

    California Casualty Response

    January 9, 2019Assistant Vice President, Talent Acquisition Mgr & Sr. HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I agree that the employees and the executive management team at California Casualty are top notch! Anyone who works at California Casualty can tell you how important it is to our culture that we serve our customers at the highest level, which means we only want the best working for us. Thank you also for acknowledging the company’s benefits. I believe that our employee benefits are very generous and certainly an excellent safety net in today’s world. You are correct that as a smaller organization, there is less room for promotional opportunities. However, continuous learning is one of our core values and we believe strongly in expanding the knowledge and skill set of our employees. If you haven’t already done so, I encourage you to discuss your career development with your manager to ensure you are maximizing those opportunities that are available to you. Thank you for all your contributions at California Casualty! We appreciate you.

    Continue reading
  10. "General"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at California Casualty

    Pros

    Good commission and Co-workers are helpful as well.

    Cons

    Late hours and some Saturdays

    Continue reading
    California Casualty2019-01-03

    California Casualty Response

    January 14, 2019Vice President, Sales Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! It’s nice to hear you enjoy working with others in your area. California Casualty has an incredible group of talented individuals that make up a great team environment. Our culture is built on the premise that everyone has the opportunity to succeed, and not at the expense of someone else. I believe it creates an environment where representatives can share their successes, while working through ideas to overcome challenges, as well. I’m glad you feel the commissions are favorable. We continue to evaluate our commission program against what is trending in the employer market and also to ensure we reward for performance with integrity. California Casualty believes strongly in a work/life balance for employees, while also wanting to ensure we are there to meet our group member’s needs. This can be challenging when we sell our products across 4 time zones. The ability to be available during the evening and weekends is crucial as many of the American Heroes we serve are protecting and serving our communities during the normal workday. We value your opinion and wish you continued success at California Casualty. Thank you for all your contributions.

    Continue reading
Found 111 reviews