California Casualty Employee Reviews about "family owned"

Updated 25 Oct 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
49%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
California Casualty President and CEO  Joe Volponi
Joe Volponi
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "They are family owned business and values work-life balance(in 11 reviews)

  • "Very Nice work environment and great way to get introduced in to the Insurance industry(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Small company so not too many opportunity for growth(in 7 reviews)

  • "For a relatively smaller company, this can be a huge challenge and the updates sometimes seem to come rather slowly(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "family owned"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "No just another job, but a career with a Family."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Sales Representative in Leawood, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was immediately attracted to California for their long history and their reputation in the insurance industry. California Casualty has been around for over 100 years and it's not just a coincidence that they have such a solid reputation to the members they insure. They are family owned business and values work-life balance. From a personal perspective, I have the ability to work out in the morning or spend time with my family earlier in the day before going into work. This has greatly helped my family and I am very thankful that my schedule allows me to do this. From a sales representative perspective, you have so many resources and tools to your disposal to be successful. They have comprehensive training so that once completed you can run with the bulls and immediately start selling. There are plenty of leads assigned to you and there are enough that there are no issues when it comes to "not having enough". Management is great, they give you plenty of room for you to succeed but will always be available to offer any training you need. You have one manager who is very technical and very detailed about specific requirements needed if you are stuck with a specific client. On the other hand, you have the newest manager who has been in the field for over 15 years and brings a totally different perspective when it comes to how the members view California Casualty and what is the best way to approach each individual lead to be successful. Both manager's compliment each other and ultimately are there for us to succeed. I was 1 of 4 lucky to be selected and our class immediately became very close. Iron sharpens iron and that has been our mentality. In our first year alone we are bringing some serious numbers to the KC office. To be successful here you need to be coachable, have goals, put the time in and consistently strive to be better. If you played sports in college or have the ability to really understand how California Casualty can be a solution to each member's unique situation, you will be successful as a sales rep.

    Cons

    The only con would be the small adjustment to the work hours in order to be successful. Some of the best business you can write or sell is on the West Coast.

    Continue reading

    California Casualty Response

    November 7, 2018Vice President, Sales Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are thrilled that you have had a great start to your career with California Casualty! The company values each employee and understands they are the heartbeat of the organization! In order to do your best work, we believe you need the right training, tools and resources to do your job. The company is not successful, unless you are successful, therefore, we put a great deal of focus in those areas. We are delighted with the quality representatives we’ve been able to bring on board and contribute to the Enterprise results. We will continue to seek ideas and feedback from our front line Sales Representatives, as they are the ones speaking every day with our group members. We value your input and wish you the best in your continued endeavors with California Casualty. Thank you for all your contributions thus far and look forward to your continued success!

  2. Helpful (4)

    "Mediocre"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time

    Pros

    Holidays off. Shift selection is ok. Casual dress. Family owned. There is usually fun stuff happening such as pot lucks etc.

    Cons

    There is no work life balance. The ability to get a vacation day is almost non existent. The push to sell is all management cares about.

    Continue reading

    California Casualty Response

    September 1, 2015Assistant Vice President, Service Manager

    We appreciate you sharing your experience and feedback as an employee. The satisfaction of our employees is important and you listed several pros supporting a positive work environment in your review. We hope to build on this foundation and work through your list of cons with you. You indicated that you believe time off is an area where improvement is needed. We are hiring several Customer Care Specialists and we hope to begin training soon. We are also in the process of making some adjustments to pre-approved time off, and we anticipate some improvement in this area. Even with improvements, we will continue to face the challenge that our busiest times of the year are also popular vacation times. Additionally, we have an obligation to determine the insurance needs of our customers and to fill these needs as completely as possible. Our customers look to us to counsel them, and a part of this includes offering additional lines of business. It is our goal to provide the highest quality of service and protection, and this can’t be achieved without counseling our customers on their insurance needs. Yes, there is a monthly goal, but it is achievable. The majority of our staff is meeting and even exceeding it. We understand that not every decision we make or policy that we have in place will please everyone. We do our best to balance the needs of our customers, employees and the business. We have an open door policy at California Casualty and we would like to invite you to take the discussion to the next level. We believe that dialogue is necessary to maintain a healthy relationship and mutual understanding.


  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time

    Pros

    I enjoy working for a family-owned business. I can make a difference here, whereas at a large public organization, you are just a number.

    Cons

    There are some trade-off working for a smaller company. We may not have the biggest and best of everything, but that's OK. We have the essentials.

    Continue reading

    California Casualty Response

    July 16, 2015CEO

    Thank you for your advice to management about continuing to be engaged with employees. That is great advice. You have my commitment to remain engaged with our awesome employees, and I know our entire management team feels the same way! Beau

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Sales"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Colorado Springs, CO

    I have been working at California Casualty

    Pros

    I have worked for California Casualty for many years. Seen many "ups" and a few "downs" as any company experiences over the course of several decades. This Enterprise has a palpable heartbeat and a great compassion and care for the customers it serves and for the fellow employees who work here. The front line sales employees overall demonstrate a refreshing commitment to the members/customers on a daily basis. They also help each other out even though their is friendly competition amongst each other. Management does their best to support and nurture them, and abide by the Code which was established back in 1965. I feel that each member of the management team has their employees best interest in their respective hearts. There is a lot of teamwork and care between all the employees in Sales- which helps our tenure and experience level in an environment (sales in general) that normally has higher turnover. The intimate private family owned company environment is refreshing as well. You are not a number here... you truly can and do make a difference to the overall results of the Enterprise.

    Cons

    Our IT support is stretched and challenged by systems that are in the process of being modernized and updated. For a relatively smaller company, this can be a huge challenge and the updates sometimes seem to come rather slowly.

    California Casualty Response

    July 25, 2015CEO

    Yes. Any company that is around long enough will have its "ups" and "downs", as you state. Your comment about California Casualty having a "palpable heartbeat" and "compassion and care" for our customers really resonated with me. The heartbeat is maintained by our dedicated and experienced supervisors and managers who, in turn, hire compassionate and caring employees who will deliver for the educators, education support professionals, law enforcement officers, firefighters and nurses who are our customers. Your comment about "teamwork" in Sales caught my attention as well. We have many Sales professionals who have been with the company 5, 10 or more years. They contribute greatly to the strong team environment in Sales. My perception is that they are so proficient at their own jobs that they are able to turn outward to help those who are newer to the company. I appreciate their leadership! Finally, I agree that it is a challenge to maintain IT systems as a small company doing business in 43 states plus the District of Columbia. I do commend our IT team for recently rolling out a brand new auto quoting system that has a modern architecture and is highly stable. As you state, it will take time to bring all of our legacy applications into the new environment.

  5. Helpful (5)

    "Penny Wise Dollar Dumd"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at California Casualty full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This is a great company with a strong family owned culture. You will feel and be treated like family. The CEO will know you by name. The company is very directionally correct by relating high level company goals to your individual contribution. The people make this a positive place to work overall!

    Cons

    They focus so much on saving money and being frugal it seems there is a financial struggle although they have one of the strongest rankings for capital. The cost of health insurance for the employee is extremely high, the high deductible plan makes it hard to go to the doctor, the annual sales recognition event was removed, the pension plan was frozen (replaced with a savings investment plan but a hit to long term employees), small coffee cups instead of a tad bigger coffee cups, you get the idea. All the perks for employees have been stripped away There is high scrutiny on home inspections making it very difficult for their members to obtain home insurance. Members are cancelled for a missing shingle or they ask members to paint their homes in the winter. Common sense seems to be set aside in order to fix a number on a report somewhere. The risk is that they damage the affinity group marketing brand in the process and do not have a growing opportunity with new groups to market. It feels like this plan has a dead end instead of a recovery.

    Continue reading

    California Casualty Response

    June 24, 2015Executive Vice President Sales, Marketing & Service

    Thank you very much for your multiple years of service and employment with California Casualty and thanks also, for taking the time to share your view point regarding your employment experience. We appreciate your acknowledgment of the strong family owned culture and the fact that you felt like you were treated like family. That is a true testament to the culture we are committed to fostering. We also can appreciate the frustration expressed related to the changes that have recently occurred with employee benefits, such as the sales recognition event, pension, etc… As difficult as those types of changes have been, they’ve been necessary, in order to improve our poor loss ratio results and combined ratio which cannot continue at their current levels. By improving those key profitability measures, we will be able to maintain our strong capital position and ensure that our organization is around (for our employees and insureds) for the next 100+ years. Thank you again.

  6. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Sales Representative in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The leadership and training with this company are unlike any other I have worked for. The management team is absolutely fantastic and work with they work with your personal schedule and professional schedule. The CEO of the company not only comes to say hi but knows us all by first name, a true family owned business that employees have pride in.

    Cons

    Some late nights and weekends, but that's where the potential for money is!

    Continue reading

    California Casualty Response

    March 30, 2015Executive Vice President Sales, Marketing & Service

    Thanks for sharing this great feedback! We couldn’t be happier to hear that you enjoy our work environment and culture. It is always our goal to ensure that our highly valued employees like yourself are appreciated and we strive to recognize each individual and their contributions to making California Casualty so successful!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fabulous and rewarding place to work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family owned, employees are treated with respect and valued, great work environment. There is also great HR and Learning and Development support for work place issues or for those who want to advance. I am six months in and feel valued, challenged and appreciated. No place is perfect but I have talked with many people here who left other work environments to join California Casualty, and what more can you say about a company that boasts hundreds of employees with 25 years or more who still work here.

    Cons

    Expectations are high but attainable.

    Continue reading

    California Casualty Response

    May 28, 2014Assistant Vice President, Staffing Manager

    Welcome to California Casualty! We take great pride in being an employee-friendly workplace and place a high value on employee retention. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here; it is very much appreciated.

  8. "Great Company to Work For"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Consultant in Leawood, KS
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at California Casualty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family owned. Great management team. Leads provided. Excellent work/life balance.

    Cons

    Tough job at times (sales).

    Continue reading

    California Casualty Response

    April 10, 2014Assistant Vice President, Staffing Manager

    Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at California Casualty. We work hard to ensure that our employees feel valued and rewarded.

  9. "CalCas is a great company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love the family owned aspect and the California Casualty Code. It really sets the company apart from any other company I've experienced. My group and management team is also fantastic and I love everyone I work with. The tenure within the company is very impressive as well.

    Cons

    There is not much opportunity for telecommuting in emergency situations.

    Continue reading
  10. "AVP Service Operations"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President Service Operations in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California Casualty full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, culture and the business is family owned

    Cons

    Small company in a very competitive market

    Continue reading
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 English Reviews