Cancer Research UK Shop Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Shop Manager

Cancer Research UK Shop Manager Reviews

Updated 9 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
0%
Recommend to a Friend
Cancer Research UK CEO Michelle Mitchell (no image)
Michelle Mitchell
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great atmosphere to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Shop Manager in London, England

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great teams of volunteers Nice work not at all boring ever Every day is different You easily fall in love with the job itself

    Cons

    Cruk give shops no support They just want want want Every time expecting targets to be reached and endless fund raising They don't quite understand what it's like working in the shops Very poor pay with very high expectations

    Continue reading
    Cancer Research UK2019-07-09
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Not a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The cause made me stay there for so long,

    Cons

    CRUK are too keen to spend money on POS and equipment rather than paying staff fairly. I was unsupported in my role and when I asked for help it wasn't given to me.

    Continue reading
    Cancer Research UK2019-03-25
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Poor wages and excessive work loads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are some amazing shop managers and volunteers and some great customers. Its a good start for gaining experience in retail.

    Cons

    Under appreciated, very stressful. Work load is always increasing but the pay doesn't. Very little chance of career progression. You can take on more responsibilities within your role but that just adds to the stress of your already stressful job. Very little help with recruitment of volunteers.

    Continue reading
    Cancer Research UK2018-11-21
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Excellent Shop Staff & Volunteers, Poor Management and Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Shop Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK part-time

    Pros

    Great team within shop, supporting worthy charity.

    Cons

    Little or no support from area or regional management, when issues were raised they're dismissed without action or support of any kind. Expected to open shop for 8.5 hours plus open and close, which means paid for 7 hours but at work for minimum 9 hours with little or no chance of breaks as many volunteers are not comfortable to be left alone to manage shop. All for minimum wage.

    Continue reading
    Cancer Research UK2017-11-08
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great team of hardworking shop staff and volunteers!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Shop Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team of staff and volunteers, and some lovely customers too. Worthy cause. Very hands on job and a great opportunity to gain or further your retail experience. Always something happening in the shop, no two days are the same!

    Cons

    Too much gossip and backbiting going on between shops. Don't feel there is always enough encouragement and support from higher management. Running these shops day in-day out can be very physically and emotionally draining. Shop staff can feel undervalued. We are not just shop staff who operate a till and keep shelves and rails stocked up, we are cleaners, security guards, admin assistants, staff trainers, fundraisers, and sometimes social workers. Despite all these many roles we undertake daily, just like any regular retail outlet, we still have targets that we are expected to hit and we work so hard to meet them. We often feel that higher management do not fully understand what running these shops actually entails and how very exhausting it can be. Decisions are made from higher up which affect shop staff, but changes are forced and not up for discussion. Also, there are too many changes within short periods of time which make things very unsettling.

    Continue reading
    Cancer Research UK2017-06-01

    Cancer Research UK Response

    August 25, 2017Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback it is very important to us at Cancer Research UK. It's good to hear you enjoy the varied work in the shop and feel you are gaining valuable experience whilst working as part of great team. I'm sorry that you feel your work is undervalued. Be assured that the CRUK shops and all volunteers are immensely important to the charity and we will work to ensure that all members of staff at every level feel like their crucial work is both recognised and valued, whilst having their opinions and ideas heard.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Let Down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Shop Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cancer Research UK part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Volunteer are great will do anything for you everyone hard working

    Cons

    let down all the time promised progression never happened

    Continue reading
    Cancer Research UK2017-02-17

    Cancer Research UK Response

    August 25, 2017Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for providing feedback, we value your opinion. Thank you for commending our hardworking and dedicated volunteers, the work they do holds vital place at Cancer Research UK. I'm sorry that you felt let down by the promise of a progression that never happened. In the fast-pace climate of retail decisions often need to be made quickly, but we will endeavour to ensure both our staff and volunteers have their opinions heard and leaving reviews such as this plays an important role in achieving this goal.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Tough environment if not working in their headquarters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Shop Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cancer Research UK part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incentives and discounts on their stock, flexibility in terms of work hours, different faces every now and then, possibility of making friends (depending on the location)

    Cons

    low pay, overcrowded environment, no team play, not very professional, not allowed to write referral/recommendation, not organized, no values whatsoever, too much gossip

    Continue reading
    Cancer Research UK2015-02-18
  8. Helpful (6)

    "They expect the world but don't appreciate your efforts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Shop Manager in Northampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Volunteers are great and super helpful.

    Cons

    Management expect the world from you but don't appreciate your efforts. They will only give you a chance if you fit into their clique, otherwise they will vandalise your opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Cancer Research UK2014-12-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Working as a charity shop manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Manager in Godalming, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great volunteers, great area manager, fun and amazing donations

    Cons

    Long hours, hard work physically, shop lifters

    Continue reading
    Cancer Research UK2014-10-09
  10. Helpful (10)

    "VERY DEMANDING JOB - HARD - WORKLOAD IS TOO BIG & WAGE NOT GOOD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You meet new people all the time. Every day is different and you face new problems on daily basis, which is great, as I love a challenge. It is great, to make the shop look nice and hear it from customers.

    Cons

    The job as Shop Manager (my job) is not that well paid. We are required to meet weekly DONATED TARGETS (income from donated sold items). If we do not meet them, our Area Managers then ''bully'' us, in terms of WHY DID WE NOT REACH THEM. I say bully, but it is like, daily calls, texts, etc., keep asking us, if we are at least half way through with the income of weekly target, texting us, way after closing time, with questions about the shop. I am not saying every AM is the same, but most of them are this way. They send us WAY TOO MUCH stock from other stores, and expect us to deal with it. When we say, we have no space for it,most of the AM say: TELL YOUR VOLUNTEERS TO DEL WITH IT. The worst is, that you are expected to REACH THE WEEKLY DONATED TARGETS ON TOP OF EVERYTHING ELSE. The job title is SHOP MANAGER, but they want you to be a fundraiser too. We need to organise FUN DAY every few months and raise in excess of £150. How? E.g. through tombolas, selling cakes etc. Then we need to organise DONATION STATIONS, and raise at least £2000 a year. HOW? Ask local business, if you could set up stall there, where people drop off their donations, or simply ask local business to donate their unwanted stock. OUR INTERNET IS BLOCKED: we cannot use e-mail, so of course, during day, you have no time for this, as you deal with donations, refunds, shop being tidy, training the volunteers, hiring volunteers, doing the H&S checks. When will you do it then? I tell you. At home, in your own time, but you get paid only for about 36 hours work weekly. In fact we do rarely have lunch breakes. Plus we need to overlook the H&S. Fire safety, etc. Area Managers just boss you around because of the targets, but are not very supportive.

    Continue reading
    Cancer Research UK2014-09-08
Found 15 reviews