Capital One Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Capital One Project Manager Reviews

Updated 28 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
79%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Capital One Founder, Chairman & CEO Richard D. Fairbank
Richard D. Fairbank
66 Ratings
  1. "Would Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, culture, benefits, flexibility the list goes on

    Cons

    Lack of promotion opportunities, primary focus is on acquiring top youthful talent vs retain current talent

    Continue reading
    Capital One2020-01-28
  2. Helpful (5)

    "A company built on “rank and yank”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive salaries. Benefits. Mostly great people. Generous perks.

    Cons

    Performance management system is the center of work life. The system is subjective and essentially rewards “suck ups”. Many people in leadership positions who are not qualified to lead or manage. Executives have different rules than the rest of the company. Think what banking would be like if consultants ran the show. You are also fighting others to get the last 10 to 20 percent of your salary. In general a the performance management system does not foster cooperation or innovation because everyone is trying to beat out their peers.

    Continue reading
    Capital One2020-01-12
  3. "Work life balance keeps me happy!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Project Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Allows me to be with my family and grow my career.

    Cons

    Annual review process is horrible

    Capital One2019-11-05
  4. "Relatively new to the company and industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, awesome corporate culture, technology focused, diverse perspectives are valued and employees are treated with dignity and respect

    Cons

    Frequent organizational restructuring creates potential project delays

    Continue reading
    Capital One2019-10-29
  5. "Amazing Company to Work and Develop Professionally and Personally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agile Project Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and opportunities to hone your skills and develop new ones.

    Cons

    It is a positive experience for me.

    Capital One2019-09-08
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Do not advise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager/Scrum Master 

    I have been working at Capital One full-time

    Pros

    campus is nice, a lot of covered parking

    Cons

    constantly reshuffling resources, priorities are constantly changing, poorly defined goals, people in tech leads and management positions do not know a thing about managing well, employee calibrations foster a competitive and back stabbing environment, high number of resources are contractors which results in high turn over rate, high number of tech is on Visas which results in employees being afraid to speak their opinions and just nod yes to everything they are asked to do

    Continue reading
    Capital One2019-08-29
  7. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager 

    I worked at Capital One full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Great people

    Cons

    None. Just got laid off

    Capital One2019-08-06
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Bait and Switch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits - salary, 401K, medical Flexible work schedules - allow work from home, flex hours to accommodate your life Growing company - increased focus on technology, striving to be a market leader in finance and tech with focus on moving everything to the cloud

    Cons

    Very little role clarity, constant re-orgs and forced ranking system contribute to a working environment that is constantly in flux and puts people on edge. Was hired for one role and, shortly after one month of my arrival, the role morphed into something that I was way overqualified for. Instead of the "team" attitude, because people are forced ranked against each other, it was less "I'll help you do this" and more "that's so and so's job." That attitude leads to a lot of backstabbing and politics across the culture. Told to just "keep my head down" and not "rock the boat." At this point in my career (I've been working for 10 years in corporate America), I don't have time to just skate by and hope that I don't ruffle any feathers by sharing an unpopular opinion or offering a new way of doing things.

    Continue reading
    Capital One2019-07-22
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Don't trust term to perm roles with Cap1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Project Manager in Tysons Corner, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic food options Of you work in one of their main campuses

    Cons

    Can not trust promises made during interview process

    Continue reading
    Capital One2019-08-01
  10. "Nothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at Capital One full-time

    Pros

    Not too much to talk about

    Cons

    Need more diversity within company.

    Capital One2019-05-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 105 reviews