Capital One Senior Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Capital One Senior Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 266 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Capital One CEO Richard D. Fairbank
Richard D. Fairbank
184 Ratings
  1. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accounting Manager in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Capital One is an financial institution which provides loans and financial services to MNC and big business owners accountable for their business needs and what they need for their services.

    Cons

    They don't provide service beyond USA which is a bad idea or not willing for compete with private companies like Bajaj finserv or ge money and also airtel payment bank.

    Advice to Management

    Better way of getting the job that think are well suited for people who wants to join on immediate or urgent basis. Its an opportunity not an asset.

    Capital One2018-01-23
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, people, location, the work itself

    Cons

    Insular, not too well connected to the industry

    Advice to Management

    Make more of the opportunities Cap1 has in the marketplace

    Capital One2019-06-18
  3. "Process Manager @ Capital One Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Process Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Friendly work atmosphere - Great talent pool (very smart colleagues) - Opportunities for advancement (depending on department) - Great benefits

    Cons

    - if you’re not good at promoting yourself regularly, advancement is hard - quality of work doesn’t dictate advancement - most managers are good but some are really not fit to lead people and stone wall their directs. When you get placed on a team, be very critical of who will be managing you - infrastructure of the Canadian line of business heavily depends on the US line of business and Canada often gets descoped...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Get aligned on the core management values you want the company to have as a whole and make sure the people you are promoting to management roles really exemplifies that. Just because they’ve been around for a while, doesn’t make them fit to lead people - continue to make strides towards being independent of the US infrastructure. Their needs and wants are not the same as ours yet we often change to align with theirs...

    Show More
    Capital One2019-06-09
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Process Manager in Lincoln, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast pace and great benefits

    Cons

    I was not with them long enough to see a down side, i was Laid off

    Advice to Management

    I thought communication was good but my situation was a little different. Wish our company had more direction through the by out.

    Capital One2019-06-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Senior IT Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    flexibility, benefits, campus services, exec leadership,

    Cons

    rewards show horses, not work horses

    Advice to Management

    diversity at exec leadership

    Capital One2019-05-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Every day is different in the best possible way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Tysons Green, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Capital One has helped me be a better leader daily, but above that they have helped me become a better person. It’s easier to thrive when you have so many people who are there to cheer you on and help support you!

    Cons

    Career pathing is not like other companies and because of our size can make navigating through potential jobs and career changes a little challenging. Having a mentor or using HR does help, so seek guidance.

    Advice to Management

    Streamline Systems and Processes across all channels

    Capital One2019-05-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Treat people unfairly that have been with company a long time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Risk Manager in Chester, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    benefits, enjoyed helping people with financial situation

    Cons

    high pressure,Hugh difference in treating employees

    Advice to Management

    Rich need to spend more time in chester VA Management is a joke they have their own click

    Capital One2019-05-24
  8. "Strong pay and benefits, high bureaucracy and red tape"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineering Manager in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A strong company that pays well and offers good benefits

    Cons

    Large corporate bureaucracy, inefficiencies galore, red tape at every turn. It's hard to feel productive day to day.

    Capital One2019-05-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture and benefits despite disorganized approach to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly people, good work/life balance, nice benefits

    Cons

    Disorganized priorities, constant disruption from software migrations, high turnover

    Advice to Management

    Set priorities from the top down and thoughtfully arrange teams to accomplish them.

    Capital One2019-04-25
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Product Owner Driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Development Manager in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    C1 has a nice group of engineers. The engineers I worked with came across at the McLean and Richmond offices were professional, genuine, and engaged.

    Cons

    In my division, product owners were in control of every decision- including architectural decisions, engineering decisions, sprint planning, engineering meetings- everything. I wondered if one day I would have to ask a product owner for a hall pass to use the restroom. The focus is not engineering, but command and control management. Engineering practices, architecture, design; everything suffers because of it.

    Advice to Management

    A Senior Engineer taking direction from a product owner is rather ridiculous. product owners should make product decisions- these are usually in the form of documents. Engineers should make engineering decisions. Product says what to build, engineering dictates how it's built.

    Capital One2019-04-29
Found 266 reviews