Capital One Senior Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Capital One Senior Manager Reviews

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
78%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Capital One Founder, Chairman & CEO Richard D. Fairbank
Richard D. Fairbank
203 Ratings
  1. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accounting Manager in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Capital One is an financial institution which provides loans and financial services to MNC and big business owners accountable for their business needs and what they need for their services.

    Cons

    They don't provide service beyond USA which is a bad idea or not willing for compete with private companies like Bajaj finserv or ge money and also airtel payment bank.

    Continue reading
    Capital One2018-01-23
  2. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 

    I have been working at Capital One full-time

    Pros

    very resourceful and excellent perks and benefits

    Cons

    none noticed so far so good

    Capital One2020-01-03
  3. "Great company (specific to the Bank line of business)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate Product Manager in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Amazing work/life balance - Great perks - Many exciting products with a great mission of changing banking for good/building products for the under/un-banked - Movement across teams is supported - Great coworkers, everyone is encouraged to bring their full self to work and it makes for a great environment - Lots of development opportunities

    Cons

    - Culture is different across different lines of businesses, sometimes you can get a bad manager/leadership chain - Reorgs happen often and communication from leadership on why is oftentimes subpar, you should be prepared for change - There are a lot of gripes from employees about the promotion cycle because it's very strongly dependent on the manager you have/the networks you've created, not necessarily on just your contributions, another challenge of a big corporation

    Capital One2020-02-16
  4. "A neutered, toothless house pet posing as a predator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technology Manager in Tysons Corner, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. Most locations have a beautiful campus. Fantastic subsidized cafeterias with amazing food. Some very talented people (who will leave).

    Cons

    Your experience will vary greatly based upon for what part of the company you work, and then even more so by your leadership team. The company repeats ad nauseam that it is "a tech company that just happens to operate in the financial services space" -- saying it does not make it so. I've worked for many companies in my career; this is more like a Soviet-era, government-owned manufacturing company than anything else. Organizationally, it is highly fragmented and lacks both vision and leadership. The various LOBs are so very siloed, and driven by their own goals and politics that serve the sole purpose of getting leaders fat bonused, that is nearly impossible to get anything meaningful done. Unless it is a Cyber remediation activity, then all of a sudden everyone is aligned -- and that's what a takes to get alignment. The vetting/hiring process for Directors and above is a) do you have a friend here? and b) do you have a pulse? This means that the excruciatingly painful and laborious hoops of tests and interviews through which Senior Managers and below must go through are not equally applied; as such, you will undoubtedly encounter some absolutely terrible people in senior leadership roles that have no business being in such positions of authority. Despite what the Capital One PR machine claims, it is ridiculously far from being an Agile organization. Small, sporadic pockets of something slightly resembling Agile exist within the company. I was very disappointed by encountering people (in leadership roles) who have only been with Capital insisting "we're doing Agile" [flag!] and who, when you thoughtfully challenge that inaccuracy, you're persona non grata for telling the Emporer that s/he has no clothes.

    Continue reading
    Capital One2020-02-20
  5. "Great company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Talented people, positive culture, and great executive management

    Cons

    Frequent reorganization and role restructuring Can be overly competitive Few retire from this company

    Capital One2020-02-03
  6. "Would Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, culture, benefits, flexibility the list goes on

    Cons

    Lack of promotion opportunities, primary focus is on acquiring top youthful talent vs retain current talent

    Continue reading
    Capital One2020-01-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Some good, some not so good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and nice facilities!

    Cons

    The pain of cross calibrations and performance management create a very unhealthy working environment. I left on my own after almost 9 years and I did it because I could no longer deal with the unfair process for managing awesome people!

    Continue reading
    Capital One2020-01-23
  8. "Product Owner, Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Contractor - Senior Product Owner Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One for less than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed the work. Excited about the direction the company was going.

    Cons

    Poor on-boarding experience Treat consultants poorly. If you don't go along with them you get shunned. I was actually cused at by an employee because he didn't want to follow the process I adhered to. Nothing was done about it.

    Continue reading
    Capital One2020-01-28
  9. Helpful (5)

    "A company built on “rank and yank”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive salaries. Benefits. Mostly great people. Generous perks.

    Cons

    Performance management system is the center of work life. The system is subjective and essentially rewards “suck ups”. Many people in leadership positions who are not qualified to lead or manage. Executives have different rules than the rest of the company. Think what banking would be like if consultants ran the show. You are also fighting others to get the last 10 to 20 percent of your salary. In general a the performance management system does not foster cooperation or innovation because everyone is trying to beat out their peers.

    Continue reading
    Capital One2020-01-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Only worth working in business analysis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Process Manager in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some people are nice and genuine, but stay guarded.

    Cons

    Constant, purposeless reorgs and smug attitudes from business analysts

    Continue reading
    Capital One2019-12-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 294 reviews