Capitol Office Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Capitol Office Solutions Reviews

Updated 21 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Capitol Office Solutions President Reed Hagmann
Reed Hagmann
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "COS is a great place to be for development, growth and a successful career path(in 11 reviews)

  • "We definitely believe in the work hard-play hard philosophy(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sales and upper management are the only people who get the fun perks (trips, happy hours, prizes)(in 3 reviews)

  • "There isn't much I don't like about COS(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Decent first job in sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Executive 

    I worked at Capitol Office Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Decent first job if you’re just getting into outside sales

    Cons

    Management plays favoritism and you never really know what’s going on with the company

    Capitol Office Solutions2019-08-21
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Chantilly, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capitol Office Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Clear path for account executives to be promoted to different roles, such as major account sales or a management/leadership role. Management was always very hands on and supportive. Reps are allowed to take their business and run with it, which is very empowering. There are a ton of incentives and trips to qualify for which makes the job very rewarding. Admin, operations, and leasing are all very strong.

    Cons

    This industry is not for everyone. If you are not willing to work your tail off each and every day you will have some challenges.

    Capitol Office Solutions2019-07-15
  3. "Stressful with no room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Capitol Office Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, decent pay, fast paced business

    Cons

    No room for growth or promotional opportunities (outside of sales). Sales management is very sloppy and has extremely low expectations and standards of the work done by themselves and by sales reps. Being shady is a promoted practice, it may not be taught, but it is definitely (and obviously) not discouraged. The entire admin, operations, service, and warehouse teams are constantly understaffed and overworked - that does not mean more pay either, and bonuses are not always paid even if sales have constant bonus opportunities outside of their regular commission. Existing customers receive little priority from sales and there is almost no proactive customer relation or customer advocacy process. Sales and upper management are the only people who get the fun perks (trips, happy hours, prizes).

    Continue reading
    Capitol Office Solutions2019-03-02
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Don't forget"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Capitol Office Solutions full-time

    Pros

    The people are very nice. The industry is face paced and it's never boring.

    Cons

    Focus is only on sale's happiness and never on support departments. Often take advantage of support staff to make up for the lack of accountability within sales.

    Continue reading
    Capitol Office Solutions2018-06-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "True review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capitol Office Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Company is fast paced and doing well. Glad to be a part of the Capitol team. Management stays involved and helps you be successful.

    Cons

    Pressure every day to perform, it can be stressful if you're not hitting your numbers on a quarterly basis. But there is an opportunity to have a career path if you hit your numbers and you're promoted from within.

    Continue reading
    Capitol Office Solutions2018-05-26
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Check out the social media"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capitol Office Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Seriously, look at their social media. They give out trips, TVs, fitbits, cash, tickets to preakness (front row tickets) and they do huge parties, happy hours, all the fun stuff at the expense of the company. It's unreal and it actually kind of spoils you.

    Cons

    Sales can be tough but I still find myself reminiscing about my short stint there

    Continue reading
    Capitol Office Solutions2018-04-26
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Capitol Office Solutions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capitol Office Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Capitol truly cares about their employees and success. It is truly a work hard, play hard environment with a LOT of incentives and various ways to earn additional money. The culture is very positive and team focused. COS is a great place to be for development, growth and a successful career path.

    Cons

    Sales flexibility - expectation to be in before 8am and in the office at 5pm.

    Continue reading
    Capitol Office Solutions2018-04-04

    Capitol Office Solutions Response

    April 12, 2018Human Resources Director

    Thank you for your review. I have to agree that our culture is one of positivity, development and growth. COS is committed to the development and success of its employees. The expectation in sales is to be successful and a major part of being successful is preparation. Our sales teams may choose to come in early or stay late to prepare for their day. We do offer the flexibility to start the day in the field when there is an early morning appointment or end the day in the field when there is an appointment late in the day.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategic Account Manager in Vienna, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capitol Office Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent leadership, lots of opportunity to grow, very big on moral values, great work/life balance, great coworkers and staff. Everyone here wants to do a great job, and helps you to be the best you can be. I was full-time in sales, and loved it. My direct manager, Jon, was an amazing coach and very well accomplished in his career. The VP, Kevin, was so fantastic at everything he was part of, and really helped in any way that he could. The president, Reed, is shockingly hands on! You'd think that the president of the company would be too busy to help a sales rep with lower-level tasks, but Reed will help you every step of the way, and is an unbelievable role model and a fantastic leader. I cannot say enough about how happy I was to work there. I left for personal issues, but it was a very hard decision, but in no way did I leave for anything COS-related. I will miss every person there dearly, and anyone who is given a chance to work there should be grateful for the opportunity.

    Cons

    Base pay on the lower end, but manageable. It's a tough industry, but it makes the challenge and the chase that much more fun!

    Continue reading
    Capitol Office Solutions2018-02-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capitol Office Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Great structure and room for growth!

    Cons

    Car allowance needs to be adjusted.

    Capitol Office Solutions2018-02-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capitol Office Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People, culture, incentives, benefits, balance, and career path. Really glad to be part of Capitol, aggressive company and management team.

    Cons

    First 8-12 months are difficult, need to put in extra hours to be successful. Must be willing to cold call for the first few years, then business takes care of itself.

    Continue reading
    Capitol Office Solutions2017-12-13
Found 54 reviews