CarVal Investors Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

CarVal Investors Reviews

Updated 21 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
CarVal Investors President & Chief Investment Officer John Brice (no image)
John Brice
1 Rating
  1. "nice people and work culture but not flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CarVal Investors full-time

    Pros

    nice culture and nice people. good pay

    Cons

    too focused on NPL and probably lost other business opportunities.

    CarVal Investors2019-05-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "It was a good investment shop that got abandoned and mismanaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CarVal Investors full-time

    Pros

    good exposure to deal flow and larger organization

    Cons

    Core skills lost in the management shuffle process

    CarVal Investors2018-11-08
  3. "Great place to work for smart people willing to work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CarVal Investors full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working at CarVal Investors has been the best experience of my career. I have the honor every day of working with some of the smartest, nicest people I have ever met. The culture is one where hard work and integrity are both expected and rewarded. At the same time, there is a lot of laughter and camaraderie. I have been constantly challenged and consistently rewarded and I feel fortunate every day to work in such a great place with such smart people.

    Cons

    CarVal is not a place for people who do not like challenge or change. It is also not a place for people who aren't willing to work hard. This is a company and industry that demands a lot and where people are held extremely accountable.

    CarVal Investors2018-04-27
  4. "Nepotism, politics and no fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CarVal Investors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get a good idea of working for a small hedge fund.

    Cons

    - Nepotism: You have to be either a friend or a relative to succeed. My favorite story is when one of the directors hired his own brother to work under him. Most of the people who already work there, know each other from previous roles and it makes really hard to get into the inner circle. - Politics, politics, politics: People spend a lot of their time talking behind closed doors about non-project related topics. - Lack of diversification: 80%+ of the employees are British male. The very few female employees, are usually PAs. - No transparency in regards to the rewards and promotions. - Benefits are below industry average. - Negative against innovation. - Too much alpha-male attitude for such a small place. - A lot of inferiority complex going around this place. Most of the employees are coming from retail banks or consultancies and are trying really hard to behave as hedge fund employees.

    Continue reading
    CarVal Investors2018-01-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging and Interesting Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Hopkins, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CarVal Investors full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Smart colleagues who are willing to help you learn more Interesting asset types (credit, loans, real estate, special opportunity assets) No two days are alike - can be very fast paced

    Cons

    Leadership does not communicate well/enough with staff Deal management software is not easy to use Limited advancement potential but some opportunities for lateral movement Can be a political and/or cliquey environment

    Continue reading
    CarVal Investors2017-01-30
  6. "Overall a good place if you have no career aspirations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CarVal Investors full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's a big company with solid legacy culture and possibilities to learn new things. Their remuneration package is decent compared to market standards and there is a good working environment in operations.

    Cons

    People on the investment desk very detached from the rest of the company and the main focus of some senior managers was on internal politics as they were trying to get liked by the chairman to progress their careers and get good bonuses.

    Continue reading
    CarVal Investors2016-04-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good place for development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at CarVal Investors

    Pros

    Fund with broad mandate; strong in value investing and distressed investing - particularly credit analysis

    Cons

    Culture changing - increasing becoming political

    CarVal Investors2015-07-03
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Cutthroat environment with maniacal leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Income Tax Accounting in Minnetonka, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at CarVal Investors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    was paid a lot of money. many of my colleagues were friendly and enjoyable to work with.

    Cons

    learned many choice swear words from the company president who I constantly heard yelling obscenities in the phone (I worked just outside his door). conversations in break room/phone rooms were wiretapped and recorded. Cloak-and-dagger politicking was commonplace. Two persons in senior management were particularly difficult to work with, for different reasons. One you simply couldn't trust (not competent in his role, and verifiably lied to employees on a regular basis)

    Continue reading
    CarVal Investors2012-12-31
  9. "My Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Minneapolis, MN

    I worked at CarVal Investors

    Pros

    CarVal has a positive atmosphere.

    Cons

    Difficult to growth in the organization

    CarVal Investors2012-03-02
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Large Bonuses are not worth what you put into it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Minnetonka, MN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at CarVal Investors

    Pros

    Bonuses. Monetary Compensation is great. Great international exposure in a variety of investment products.

    Cons

    This is not a place you want to spend alot of time at unless you belong to the old boys club. There was an intense dislike of the operations managers and controler from the view of a low or mid level employees. The best day is the day you receive your bonus, the remaining 364 days is an invesment in futilty. I very overqualifie for my position.

    Continue reading
    CarVal Investors2011-09-29
Found 15 reviews