Carbon Black Employee Reviews about "no 401k match"

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 163 reviews

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Carbon Black President and CEO Patrick Morley
Patrick Morley
127 Ratings
Pros
  • "My work/life balance is incredible and they have a rockstar group of managers(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great culture, friendly people, very professional(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "no 401k match(in 13 reviews)

  • "No 401k match (however it sounds like it might be in the works(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "no 401k match"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing CEO

      Aug 22, 2019 - Inside Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      best CEO - very charismatic and transparent

      Cons

      there is no 401k match

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Keep Looking

      May 20, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sell a premium product. Some people are nice to work with. Unlimited PTO offered (not really thought highly of using).

      Cons

      Leaderships communication to employees is abysmal. Our product team struggles in execution of deadlines which has lead to increased tnesion. You will be micro managed to no end and even the top performers are held to hitting absurd metrics just because. ALSO - for anyone whom says there is cold brew...There is cold brew yes, however the Keg is refilled once a week and the sales team drinks it all within hours. There is a negative and toxic morale here recently and I have never seen a culture shift so drastic, so quick in a negative way. Lastly, the favortism here is horrible. Good luck advancing your career here unless people quit (which is likely i guess?). And there is no 401k match

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful

      Carbon Black Response

      Carbon Black

      Thank you for your review! We're sorry to hear that your experience has shifted lately and would like an opportunity to learn how we can improve. Please contact your HR Business Partner with your concerns. They rely on the feedback from our employees to investigate areas of improvement and pull together a plan to create better employee experiences.

    3. The latest conversations about Tech India

      Join the conversation on
      Join the conversation on
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Not the best, not the worst

      Apr 17, 2019 - Senior Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Flexibility and autonomy in fulfilling your job description - Respect and independence with how you manage your time - CEO is a distinguished leader with outstanding record at administrative accomplishments and mentoring of staff - Equity consistent with mission and values of Carbon Black

      Cons

      - Since going public the company has drastically changed, not your typical growing pains - Underqualified disrespectful middle & senior management has been brought in which has negativity affected work and productivity - Little to no investment in growing junior or new staff with ambiguous direction on future - Climate of immature office politics that adversely affect working towards the greater mission - Constant reorganization with lack of leadership causing negative culture - No 401k matching

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company & People!

      Mar 26, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Waltham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great company with potential to grow - Lots of hard working people. A lot of hours put in, but amazing to see great results driven by employees. - Work, life, balance is evident (noted above, lots of hours put in, but everyone is motivated to do so) - Free coffee, ping pong, snacks AND bagels on Monday! - Unlimited PTO - Positive company culture - Great opportunities to learn - Team and colleagues always willing to help -Creative culture -Growing industry with lots of projects to work on - never bored!

      Cons

      - No 401K match (but offers stock options)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      More political than Fox News

      Mar 30, 2019 - Director in Waltham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Low stress environment Mission and vision come from the right place and are genuine Most people are very friendly Cold brew kegs 2x per week if you are willing to fight the SDRs to get some Good paid parental leave Beer fridge where you can literally just grab a six pack and take it home

      Cons

      Lack of clarity on how we are planning to fix known issues Weak senior team with questionable recent hires and limited diversity Rampant favoritism and inequity in how employees are rewarded and promoted Slowing topline growth means less opportunity to advance Various teams literally refuse to work cross functionally No 401k match Weak equity grants at sign on and no refreshes Waltham HQ location leaves a lot to be desired Most of the top talent I know has left or is looking to leave

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee

      3.3 Rating is a lie.

      Apr 22, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      snacks Beer fridge All I can think of

      Cons

      No 401k match Pay is no where near competitive in the market Toxic culture: many Young inexperienced managers and they act it. Promote based on who they like the best Culture and morale on the sales floor is horrible People who have been here the longest aren’t always the most qualified to lead large teams.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Carbon Black Response

      Carbon Black

      Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your perspective and encourage you to bring your concerns to your HR Business Partner. Our HR team takes this feedback into consideration when they look for ways to improve the employee experience, and this can prove to be helpful.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place To Work!

      Feb 10, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Waltham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ive been at CB for over 4 years now. I have seen it grow from 200 to over 1200 employees in my time here and there is one thing that is consistent - THE PEOPLE AND LEADERSHIP HERE ARE GREAT! I have never worked and seen people that are as friendly and willing to help one another than at CB. Our leadership team does its best to be as transparent and accessible as possible even as we have scaled. Be ready to work hard!

      Cons

      Scaling has come with its fair share of growing pains. Some processes are dated and are being worked on but that still causes some friction. As we have grown, groups have begun to get split off from one another and communication isnt as great as it needs to be. No 401k is a bummer.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Refreshing & Transparent Work Environment

      Jun 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Waltham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Talented, smart and experienced co-workers -The c-suite tries to be as transparent as possible with the rest of the company -Unlimited PTO - take it as you need it -Supportive management team -Work from home option -Growing company so always new projects to work on. You definitely won’t be bored! -The company treats you like an adult and allows you to make your own decisions. No micromanagement -Competitive pay

      Cons

      -Winter St traffic -No 401k match (however it sounds like it might be in the works?)

      2 people found this review helpful

      Carbon Black Response

      Carbon Black

      Thank you for your review! We’re happy to see that you’re finding your first year here enjoyable and we agree that there are a lot of great things that Carbon Black has to offer (as you mentioned on your pro list). Despite all the growth and change, we work hard to keep our company culture intact, which includes things like supportive management, hiring great people, and transparent leaders. We hope you’ll see that holds true in years to come!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Mostly Amazing

      Jun 13, 2017 - Software Engineer in Waltham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture and management, at least within the Engineering organization, are excellent. There is a strong push from the top down to make sure employees are not burning themselves out or overly stressed. "Unlimited PTO" sounded like a great way to pressure people to take less; but I've had management come out and tell me I need to take a break and that I wasn't using anywhere near enough. There is a constant push to train and help employees grow, and it would take a lot for me to leave the company.

      Cons

      The culture is *very* dependent on management, and where you fall within the organization. Engineering as a whole seems top notch, hiring great people and attracting management that cares about its people. I've heard and witnessed the opposite from some other teams, where it seems a few problems managers have found their way into a management position and are making things far worse. Salary seems to vary a bit too much. Some people are hitting above market rate, while others are quite a bit below. No 401K match is a bit painful.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Carbon Black Response

      Carbon Black

      Thank you for your review! We’re happy to hear that you find our culture and management to be favorable. With growth and change, many companies can find it difficult to keep these things intact but we’re committed to protecting them (both by maintaining our culture and helping our people develop their careers) as we scale. Our HR team is also working on improving our comp and benefits offerings in the near future. We hope these changes will be a nice improvement for our employees. Thank you for all you do at Carbon Black!

    11. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Software Engineer

      Nov 7, 2015 - Software Engineer in Waltham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent benefits, flex-time, culture, facilities, management, shared vision

      Cons

      No 401k matching, rapid growth has presented many challenges to transparency, hiring quality people and communication

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Carbon Black Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Carbon Black? Share Your Experiences

    or