Cartesian Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 of over 80 reviews

4.1
74%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cartesian CEO Jim Serafin
Jim Serafin
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Effort by leadership to ensure healthy work-life balance (for strategy consulting standards)(in 5 reviews)

  • "small teams, great flexibility, minimum traveling, interesting projects(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lack of appreciation for junior staff by senior leadership(in 4 reviews)

  • "Long hours, when commuting time is included(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent career growth & talented team

      Nov 20, 2020 - Strategy Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked at Cartesian for over 3 years in the strategy consulting team. - The team is made up of driven, ambitious and talented individuals from whom I learned every day. - Relatively steep learning curve, but I enjoyed the challenging nature of the work and it equipped me with invaluable skills for the next job. - One of the best things about working here is that if you deserve a promotion and show signs of being at the next level, you will get promoted and you will be given growth opportunities 100% (unlike other companies were there typically has to be a 'business need' for promo, even if you deserve it) - Genuine sense of team work and collaborative environment. - Effort by leadership to ensure healthy work-life balance (for strategy consulting standards)

      Cons

      - You could be staffed on US projects (which I personally really enjoyed) but it could require flexibility on working hours - In my opinion leadership should rethink they sales strategy (including the business development team). I felt they were very disconnected to our work and projects, which brought challenges in the projects they sold (terms, timelines, expectations)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great team and projects, exciting growth opportunities

      Oct 14, 2020 - Senior Business Analyst in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart, hardworking, and fun group of consultants in the Boston strategy office. Lots of exciting projects in relevant and trending industries. Work-life balance for junior analysts is strongly emphasized and important to management. It's a great place to start your career, as there are many different opportunities to grow professionally.

      Cons

      Management has not been as transparent in the past, but has definitely improved in the last year. Work can be challenging and late nights do happen occasionally as we are committed to a high standard for client deliverables.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Fantastic Place to Start or Accelerate a Career

      Oct 14, 2020 - Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined Cartesian as an analyst out of college and saw it grow and change in many positive ways over 5 years, in part due to the well formed criticisms and the passion of the Cartesian family to continuously improve itself. I've since gone on to work at a larger consulting firm, which has given me an appreciation for many of the things that Cartesian has gotten right: - They hire well rounded and enthusiastic people that foster a positive atmosphere - They trust their employees and create a safe space for fast-paced learning and failing while still striving toward a standard of excellence - They grant outsized client-facing responsibility to entry-level roles - They promote talent quickly and have a tangible rubric for professional development across hard/soft skill criteria - They develop great client relationships and have a solid business model - They treat every project like it's their most important, and foster a culture of continuous brainstorming, iterating, and reinventing in their problem solving - Overall, they maintain above average work-life balance for professional services

      Cons

      I wouldn't trade my time with the firm for anything, but there are a number of dynamics I observed that I wish we had done a better job of addressing while I was there: - We had no upward feedback or way for consultant+ leaders to identify and address their blind spots, which is critical when your business model is contingent on developing talent and promoting from within - Staffing decisions were made largely out of convenience and rarely prioritized development priorities / variety of experience for the analysts/consultants - There were only a few managers and mentors to learn from (albeit high quality) - There was a culture of apprehension toward challenging the status quo and speaking up among more junior employees, which senior leadership could have done a better job of addressing - Company growth vision was poorly communicated and at times inconsistent - Career trajectories and opportunities were ambiguous beyond Manager level - We did not have any programs or make concerted efforts to help employees self educate, communicate, or contribute to wider societal issues (e.g., sustainability and carbon footprint, diversity and inclusion, gender inequality) - Company outing events were few/far between - Budget for perks/office social events was low and often self-funded by a handful of employees - Senior leadership had a difficult time making and following through on commitments to the rest of the company (e.g., bonus payments)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A sinking ship with no direction

      Aug 2, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great and friendly team, who are willing to help - Work-life balance is good

      Cons

      In essence, company turmoil due to poor financial performance for the past several years (hence being recently bought out by a private equity firm to avoid bankruptcy) has made Cartesian an unattractive proposition: - Progression much easier if you're one of the senior management's favourites, with the office acutely aware who is a favourite, leading to an overall reduction in company morale - Salary pales in comparison to similar jobs in other consultancies - Selling low-value work / undercharging for work to win business; the end result being uninteresting projects are done or delivering (good work) on projects that should be paying out more - No clue about strategic direction - at the very least, most projects the Strategy team do aren't truly strategic in nature - Training opportunities are very limited

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Needs improvement in some areas of the business

      May 17, 2017 - Managed Solutions Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility to work on different projects and to move between the consultancy practices in the organisation Good work-life balance Decent benefits package Friendly, smart dynamic people to work with

      Cons

      Career progression opportunities are limited Difficult to maintain high motivation levels due to the nature of the work, which can be dull People are leaving and management seem reluctant to replace positions Some senior managers are over utilised following internal restructuring

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Awful recruitment process. Waste candidates' time and don't give feedback.

      Aug 4, 2016 - Human Resources in Pinner, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None that I can think of right now. Not a recommended employer. Need to improve their attitude towards potential employees.

      Cons

      Lack of work life balance, very long hours expected from employees, low pay, lack of flexible working, the list goes on.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Growing company with many interesting opportunities

      Apr 30, 2015 - Strategy Consultant in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people with diverse backgrounds, interesting clients and project work, growing company with lots of opportunities to have an impact

      Cons

      Since the company is small and changing quickly, sometimes the firm's vision/goals aren't clearly communicated to everyone. Work/life balance can vary significantly between projects.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Cartesian Response

      VP

      Thank you the commentary and suggestions.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Focused but tough

      Oct 3, 2014 - Senior Business Analyst in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Non-nonsense management "Flat" hierarchy- acts like a startup Always busy Work across TMT Some very very bright people Lots of travel opportunities Some interesting projects

      Cons

      Projects are often very, very dull- Cartesian does a lot of the dull grinding TMT analytical work clients don't want to do Something like 50%+ revenues are from one client... whose offices are 2 hours outside London Training is on the job- no structured schemes at all Pay and bonus is weak Great place for recent grads- experienced hires will not be stretched Work life balance needs to be looked at

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cartesian Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Cartesian? Share Your Experiences

    Cartesian logo
    or