Cengage Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cengage Reviews

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Cengage CEO Michael Hansen
Michael Hansen
774 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Cengage Unlimited isn't holding up to the pedestal it was put on by upper management(in 74 reviews)

  • "To many reorgs when company numbers aren't met(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time

    Pros

    Vibrant and employee friendly culture, visionary leadership

    Cons

    Here performance matters and thats also a positive

    Cengage2018-12-14
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Below avg. company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in New Delhi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice Salary and nothing else.

    Cons

    People with 3-4 years of experience in publishing becomes AGM. A production editor becomes Publishing Manager and doing Acquisitions. Favoritism and bootlicking are prevalent here. People with no market knowledge are made managers in the editorial department. No proper emphasis on the development of the book. Just publishing a high number of titles is the goal. Worst company to work for in terms of learning.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2017-07-12
  3. "Sales executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Executive in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cengage full-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Grass root management and titles are more from foreigner

    Cengage2016-07-27
  4. "Learned a lot, freedom to work, team work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Promotion Executive in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, Supportive Managers and staff

    Cons

    less chances to get a growth.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2012-08-10
  5. "A Good Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Clifton Park, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Laid-back and low stress work environment Opportunities to work on modern technology stacks Growing investments in tech areas

    Cons

    Uncertainty about the upcoming merger

    Cengage2020-02-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "I Love My Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent territory with great benefits. When you have the support of a Regional Manager it makes your job more enjoyable.

    Cons

    At this time, I have not had any negative experiences.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2020-02-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work and grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cengage has provided many opportunities to learn as both an employee and personally. I believe Cengage gives people opportunities if they are clear they want them both through demonstration of behavior and attitude as well as strong work ethic. I believe Cengage does a job of recognizing the work that people put forth. The challenging part is often goals may not align. For instance you want an opportunity in 3-6 months to advance but that opportunity may not be available until 9-12. Cengage is a company that values your personal life as well. For my direct manager experience they have always cared that you had balance. At times there is more balance than others but that will be true with any Company. The people I work with are great. And that is across departments and locations.

    Cons

    The company is working hard on transparency with their employees and I feel it has improved. I still think there is a bit more to go there.

    Cengage2020-02-10

    Cengage Response

    February 19, 2020CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is refreshing to read your comments as you mention learning, personal drive, recognition and advancement --- all are top of mind for me and the leadership team as we look for ways to deepen the learning we offer through our development programs, as well as taking the time to recognize excellent work. I understand that timing of advancement opportunities may not always align, and believe that the best way to go about advancing is to continue to look for opportunities to grow, including laterally, and by exploring new skills to broaden your capabilities. Your investment in your own development will always be well worth your time and effort. Thanks again for sharing your feedback and please feel free to connect with me directly at any time to share more about your experience at Cengage.

    Continue reading
  8. "I Love My Job!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I get to help Teachers grow the love of the world and education by providing them engaging and thought provoking materials produced by National Geographic Learning.

    Cons

    I don't get to see my colleagues enough. We all work from home in our territories.

    Cengage2020-02-07
  9. "Going in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive, Level II in Carmel, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Management has a vision where the industry must go to survive, and is willing to risk a dangerous road to get there. They also consider not just shareholder value, but the needs of all stakeholders, including students.

    Cons

    I am not sure we need to merge with McGraw-Hill. Our strategy was likely to outlast other competitors, and the merger might just slow that progress.

    Cengage2020-02-02
  10. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Otolaryngologist in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people, interesting work, flexible hours

    Cons

    Some uncertainties with the impending merger

    Cengage2020-01-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1324 reviews