Cengage Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cengage Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1286 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Cengage CEO Michael Hansen
Michael Hansen
747 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "In some cases, they even created "new positions" for people who were personal friends with upper management(in 73 reviews)

  • "To many reorgs when company numbers aren't met(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time

    Pros

    Vibrant and employee friendly culture, visionary leadership

    Cons

    Here performance matters and thats also a positive

    Cengage2018-12-14
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Below avg. company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in New Delhi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice Salary and nothing else.

    Cons

    People with 3-4 years of experience in publishing becomes AGM. A production editor becomes Publishing Manager and doing Acquisitions. Favoritism and bootlicking are prevalent here. People with no market knowledge are made managers in the editorial department. No proper emphasis on the development of the book. Just publishing a high number of titles is the goal. Worst company to work for in terms of learning.

    Advice to Management

    Resign. This is for the India management.

    Cengage2017-07-12
  3. "Sales executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Executive in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cengage full-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Grass root management and titles are more from foreigner

    Cengage2016-07-27
  4. "Learned a lot, freedom to work, team work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Promotion Executive in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, Supportive Managers and staff

    Cons

    less chances to get a growth.

    Advice to Management

    Give a fair chance to everyone to get a growth in their respective field.

    Cengage2012-08-10
  5. "Cengage is the Industry Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent balance between business life and personal life. Super-talented people. Industry leader in the transformation from textbooks to digital learning.

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say about Cengage.

    Advice to Management

    Continue building an inclusive, exciting culture and corporate ethos.

    Cengage2019-10-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "This company really has it together!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Content Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cengage has a strong focus on organization and employee morale. Leadership works hard to ensure that folks who work here are happy, heard, taken care of, recognized, encouraged, and given opportunities for growth. Cengage promotes collaboration, teamwork, exploration, and constant change and improvement. The people here are friendly and happy to help each other. The company is organized and highly focused on... developing processes, systems, standard tools, and avid documentation. There are plenty of chances to connect with and learn from colleagues outside your specific group. The office is also beautiful. Lastly, the onboarding process was far beyond what I have experienced at top competitors.

    Show More

    Cons

    Training courses were fantastic and well-put together, but they were sometimes outdated or too high level and not specific enough to the nuances of my particular role. If coming from another industry (or another role within the same industry), the learning curve can be steep. It's very high-tech here and you have to be extremely proactive about asking good questions and learning quickly. You have to be able to... problem solve and deal with some level of ambiguity. The location of the new office can be a tough commute for certain people. Finally, it is a very spreadsheet heavy workplace, which people may or may not find appealing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Inevitably, a new employee will be thrown into a workflow that is already underway. That is to be expected. But some specific training from the ground up would be excellent. I highly recommend instituting a simulated training, where a new employee watches a project get off the ground from square one, and then follows the workflow process from conception through to fulfillment, experiencing various milestones of a... model project, and learning his/her specific role and responsibilities. An opportunity to shadow someone in their position as they begin a project and get it off the ground would be great.

    Show More
    Cengage2019-10-02

    Cengage Response

    October 8, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for posting your experience to Glassdoor. I particularly appreciate your comments on the onboarding process as that is something we have prioritized and continue to invest in. You have some good ideas on possible improvements – I will make sure they get to the right team, but please also consider bringing them directly to your HR Business Partner.

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great First 3 Months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Consultant in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are genuinely happy working for Cengage. I feel trusted as a professional.

    Cons

    Uncertainty of how the merger will affect my day to day work.

    Cengage2019-10-02
  8. "Making a Difference in Education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Stamford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Among the highlights: - Colleagues that are smart, innovative, supportive and aligned in wanting to improve the education space - Flexibility for remote workers, with support to help stay connected to teams - Push for transparency across the organization

    Cons

    - A tough industry facing headwinds

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course and continue to be transparent with all audiences, including employees. As we transition through change, this quality shared by leadership continues to build trust in a time of uncertainty.

    Cengage2019-10-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Colleagues, Great Mission, Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    So many people say it on Glassdoor - but it's true. The people here are the best I've worked with. Always eager to help - very few turf issues or agendas that you see in other organizations. Everybody is looking forward to figure out how we can better serve students and reform a broken industry. A lot of that comes from the leadership that has put in the work to diagnose what's wrong with the industry and chart... a course for Cengage that the rank and file believe in - and believe they can impact. Folks are bought in. Other pro's: Casual culture for sure. A lot of fun is had amidst serious work. In Boston an amazing new office in the Seaport District. A growing number of social events, happy hours and the like -- many of them sponsored by Employee Resource Groups focused on the experience for People of Color, LGBTQ+ employees and Women in Technology. This is a progressive place always looking to improve. Plans to merge with McGraw Hill present all sorts of opportunities to have a bigger impact.

    Show More

    Cons

    We are constantly looking to do things better so change is a constant. I don't see that as a negative -- in fact it's a positive -- but if you are change averse, this might be a tough place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing the organization. Keep communicating.

    Cengage2019-09-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company Leading the Disruption of a MAJOR Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Farmington Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management is very open to feedback and the company overall is very transparent about things. Cengage is in the midst of a merger with McGraw Hill and it is never difficult to get questions answered about this. The tech stack is very current with industry standards (Jenkins CI/CD pipelines, TDD, React.js & React Native, Microservices architecture...etc). This is a great place to gain experience early in your... career and learn from some great engineers. Plenty of opportunity for more senior roles as well! Free lunch and company wide information sharing session every other Wednesday. They fly all new hires to the HQ in Boston for three days and you get to explore the city while receiving an interactive orientation program from leadership and HR. This is generally 1-3 months after you start. The company is always looking to be candid and find ways to improve. You can generally work remotely when you need to which is super helpful. Coming from an Automotive company in the Detroit area, this company is a breath of fresh air. Things move very quickly with very little bureaucracy. The office is very laid back and many people dress down so you should feel comfortable in whatever you choose to wear to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Pay could be a bit more competitive in certain regions. I was only able to negotiate up to $85,000 base with a $4k sign-on bonus in the Farmington Hills, MI office having 2 years of experience. Was given excuses about internal equity as the reason the base salary could not be higher. This is decent and definitely not underpaid, but other companies in the Detroit area are a bit more competitive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the same energy. Don't be afraid to pay a bit more, especially with the company currently pushing so hard to bring in more engineering talent. If you want the right people to come and stay, you have to pay them accordingly.

    Cengage2019-09-24
Found 1286 reviews