Central Garden & Pet Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Central Garden & Pet Reviews

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Central Garden & Pet CEO Tim Cofer
Tim Cofer
1 Rating
Pros
  • "You meet a lot of great people and develop great relationships(in 13 reviews)

  • "The company is great for work life balance and generally a positive place to work(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management turned a blind eye to it(in 7 reviews)

  • "No cons from my experience with Central(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent De Surface in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work independently. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Some long hours. Physical work in the heat

    Central Garden & Pet2020-01-20
  2. "It’s a great starting point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager 

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    You meet a lot of great people and develop great relationships.

    Cons

    You will sell millions of dollars of product, but do not expect any kind of bonus, other than a “Good Job”.

    Central Garden & Pet2020-01-15
  3. "Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Myrtle Beach, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working schedule will allow for 7 days

    Cons

    401k, working with box store employees can be a challenge, no compensation for mileage.

    Continue reading
    Central Garden & Pet2020-01-07
  4. "Good Mix of Large/Corporate and Small/Local Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most coworkers I work closely with are in the same office. Management is generous with dress code and taking time off. Everyone is generally friendly and the working atmosphere is good.

    Cons

    The company as a whole has a very dispersed hierarchy that makes the largest/enterprise projects (no matter how urgent or agreed-on) take more effort and longer to realize.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-12-09
  5. "It was at a good location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Payroll 

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It was in walnut creek

    Cons

    Manager was hard to work with

    Central Garden & Pet2019-12-23
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet

    Pros

    They help you if you don't understand

    Cons

    Very fast pass but keeps you busy

    Continue reading
    Central Garden & Pet2019-10-16
  7. "bets work environment in distribution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    this is a very positive friendly work environment. everyone appreciates each other and helps motivate the team, a true team.

    Cons

    no cons that i can think of.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-14

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    October 16, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. Our managers work hard to keep a positive work environment for all employees!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing & Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are easy to talk to. Work life balance (to a degree)

    Cons

    Not a marketing company No merit increases despite achieving individual goals Lack of support for promotion and moves

    Continue reading
    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-25

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    October 16, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    As a clarification, all employees are eligible for annual increases based on their performance.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "was an entry level job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    pros were freedom of hours

    Cons

    cons were traveling a ton

    Continue reading
    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-26
  10. "Algona location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Selector in Algona, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work culture. Strong work ethic. Transparency has increased, so it feels like there isn't as much favortism as in the past.

    Cons

    Communication between management and staff could use some improvement.

    Continue reading
    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-13

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    October 16, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your insight. Communication can always be better and is something that we continually work on.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 195 reviews