Charles River Associates Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 56 of over 366 reviews

4.3
93%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Charles River Associates President Paul Maleh
Paul Maleh
190 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work/life balance as well as fun social/extracurricular events(in 37 reviews)

  • "Junior staff members are not over-staffed on projects(in 20 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "At times unpredictable workload, some long hours(in 31 reviews)

  • "Sometimes unpredictable hours, limit opportunity for junior staff to travel(in 25 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to start a careee!

      Dec 25, 2020 - Associate in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting work, exceptional colleagues, good work/life balance once you’ve mastered time management

      Cons

      Steep learning curve, unpredictable hours at times

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Horrible culture

      Jan 19, 2021 - Consulting Associate in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Money, especially in terms of bonus

      Cons

      - No work-life balance. You are on call literally 24/7 - Juniors bullied by upper management - No external recognition - They are losing really good people to competitors precisely because all this

      1 person found this review helpful

      Charles River Associates Response

      Thank you for the feedback. We strive to provide every employee with a positive experience, with recognition programs to show appreciation and wellness initiatives to support employee well-being and balance. I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not positive. I note that you are no longer with CRA, but please reach out to me directly if you would like to discuss your concerns further. Jen Kordell, CHRO

    3. The latest conversations about Consulting India

      Join the conversation on

      Consulting India

      5m

      works at 

      Wipro

      Hello everyone, Let's post our CTC and take home of every month, it will help many. Having home loan, mine is 16L, 1.05L every month.

      2,708

      1065 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      Dec 3, 2020 - Consultant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good culture, nice people, good work life balance

      Cons

      team structure is limiting for breadth of work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Intern

      intern experience

      Oct 15, 2020 - Analyst Intern in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good work life balance, company culture

      Cons

      lower pay for the industry

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Associate

      Sep 9, 2020 - Associate in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work culture. Incredibly smart colleagues.

      Cons

      Variability of work load can lead to poor work life balance sometimes

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A poor-diversity consulting firm

      Sep 12, 2020 - Principal in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Good work-life balance 2. Pricing and Market Acess expertise

      Cons

      Multiple and many 1. No diversity and leadership doesn't seem to care. There has been no attempt to hire African Americans, Mexican etc. in the last 3 years even after repeated attempts- VPs just keep hiring their own clan. Out of 30+ principals and above- 0 people of color in last 5 years 2. The work has plummeted atleast 30% month over month. 3. No effort from leadership (Senior Principals, VPs) to help juniors grow- they only care about their own profit sharing 4. Bonus and incentives is decided behind closed curtains- its a joke how they decide your bonus

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Charles River Associates Response

      Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We are committed to our diversity and inclusion initiatives, our training processes, and providing our colleagues with the tools needed for professional development. We are proud of our firm and our track record, and share information frequently about our growth in the areas of financial performance, people, and culture through our website and our social media platforms (LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram). Please reach out to me directly if you’d like to discuss any specific concerns further. -- Jen Kordell, CHRO

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Brilliant colleagues and great company values

      Apr 14, 2020 - Senior Associate in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good colleagues - Great salary and benefits - Excellent company values

      Cons

      Work life balance can bit tricky at crunch periods - but it's still very good for consulting!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work

      Apr 13, 2020 - Associate Principal 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My colleagues at CRA are terrific and a real highlight of the job. The company affords a nice work life balance and seems highly invested in nurturing individual career development

      Cons

      Compensation is rather opaque and expectations/incentives around compensation are unclear

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Successful firm with intellectual colleagues

      Apr 8, 2020 - Communications Associate in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -From day one, you're given lots of responsibility, which allows you to learn and grow quite quickly -Ample opportunity to work with colleagues from across the firm (both on the consulting and corporate side) -You have freedom at CRA - there are few barriers should you want to explore your personal areas of interest -Surrounded by smart, multi-talented, and supportive colleagues from around the globe -Good work/life balance as well as fun social/extracurricular events

      Cons

      Corporate staff could be given more visibility/recognition. Also, corporate departments are small and still evolving - as a result, there are sometimes competing/shifting priorities. Personally, however, I've found this allows for leadership and creativity outside of pre-determined roles.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      17+ years of software development experience. Software Architect. Microsoft stack C#.

      Mar 4, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work / Life Balance, Culture & Values

      Cons

      Career Opportunities, Compensations, NA , NA

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 56 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Charles River Associates Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Charles River Associates? Share Your Experiences

    or