Charterhouse Partnership Employee Reviews about "commission structure"

Updated Mar 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 143 reviews

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "I've been working as a recruiter for over 10 years in three different continents and Charterhouse is so far the best agency I've worked for(in 33 reviews)

  • "Makes one feel like we are treated with humane respect unlike the other recruitment firms I worked for previously(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Charterhouse is very well located in Dubai but the building has limited car parking slots(in 20 reviews)

  • "less than average commission structure(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "commission structure"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a good working environment

      Mar 8, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary is always on time. Commission structure is quite good.

      Cons

      Not a healthy working environment.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Recruitment Consultant

      Aug 3, 2018 - Senior Recruiter in Singapore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good commission structure and the firm has some of best consultants in the market. Great boss and working environment.

      Cons

      Turnover used to be on the high side. It is much better now.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Consultant

      May 9, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I’ve been with the company for two years so have seen the change from the old to new and it’s all for the good, having worked for a couple of agencies before I’ve got ground to compare. Some pros: - People. So many good recruiters and everyone gets along. I could happily talk to every single person in the company and everyone wants their colleagues to succeed, it is like a family and I’ve made some of my best friends over the past couple of years here. - I work autonomously and manage my desk how I want, yes there are KPIs which are more guidelines when people are starting a desk but they are realistic and reasonable. Once you’re billing, you get left to it and there is support there if you need it. In comparison to previous companies, I have so much flexibility and I’m treated like an adult. If I have a bad month or quarter I don’t feel as though my job is on the line and I’m given the support and help to get back on track. They see potential in employees and give you time to find your feet- a luxury not a lot of agencies do. - CEO and management are approachable and helpful and the HR Manager is amazing, they all want you to succeed and will go over and above to help you in both professional and personal dramas. - Incentives and parties. So many incentives, in a high pressure industry it’s so important to celebrate the wins which they do well I’ve been to amazing restaurants, boat parties, not to mention the NYE parties and big billers trips all around the world. - Pay for PR regardless of your billings or position-no need to say any more. - Changes put in place in the last year are incredible-HR, formalised training, quarterly reviews, 360 feedback, website, branding, new commission structure, and about to have another party to celebrate!

      Cons

      - There is a bit of negativity at the moment for various reasons which is such a shame, no company is perfect and it’s frustrating when people focus on the minor negatives rather than the long list of positives. One thing I will say is there are so many positive people in the company too, you just don’t hear from them because they are getting on with it, doing their jobs and making money-that’s what we are here for after all! - Training was a down point but this has been a major focus of the last year and the formalised training is about to launch.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great people, great company.

      May 9, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I’ve been with the company for two years so have seen the change from the old to new and it’s all for the good, having worked for a couple of agencies before I’ve got ground to compare. Some pros: - People. So many good recruiters and everyone gets along. I could happily talk to every single person in the company and everyone wants their colleagues to succeed, it is like a family and I’ve made some of my best friends over the past couple of years here. - I work autonomously and manage my desk how I want, yes there are KPIs which are more guidelines when people are starting a desk but they are realistic and reasonable. Once you’re billing, you get left to it and there is support there if you need it. In comparison to previous companies, I have so much flexibility and I’m treated like an adult. If I have a bad month or quarter I don’t feel as though my job is on the line and I’m given the support and help to get back on track. They see potential in employees and give you time to find your feet- a luxury not a lot of agencies do. - CEO and management are approachable and helpful and the HR Manager is amazing, they all want you to succeed and will go over and above to help you in both professional and personal dramas. - Incentives and parties. So many incentives, in a high pressure industry it’s so important to celebrate the wins which they do well I’ve been to amazing restaurants, boat parties, not to mention the NYE parties and big billers trips all around the world. - Pay for PR regardless of your billings or position-no need to say any more. - Changes put in place in the last year are incredible-HR, formalised training, quarterly reviews, 360 feedback, website, branding, new commission structure, and about to have another party to celebrate!

      Cons

      - There is a bit of negativity at the moment for various reasons which is such a shame, no company is perfect and it’s frustrating when people focus on the minor negatives rather than the long list of positives. One thing I will say is there are so many positive people in the company too, you just don’t hear from them because they are getting on with it, doing their jobs and making money-that’s what we are here for after all! - Training was a down point but this has been a major focus of the last year and the formalised training is about to launch.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Terrible place to work still

      Oct 25, 2017 - Recruitment in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good view of outside buildings

      Cons

      Where to begin... Even though the company tells you that they have just gone through major changes for the better, still nothing seems like it’s changed. Working there was a joke as well as a combination of micro management, high staff turnover, terrible commission structure and bad working environment. I was missfortunate enough to be pususaded over from the Uk where I was treated like just a number. Do your research before joining a company such as this. Also, I actually saw HR write reviews on here to better the company name!

      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      In response to all the bad rep of late!

      Feb 22, 2017 - Recruiter in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Legitimately great incentives offered... including all expenses paid annual oveseas trips, quarterly boat parties, wining and dining, bubble soccer etc etc. I've never worked at a company that rewards so much, in addition to the financial rewards - Fun, supportive culture: Personable and fun people fill this office, making day to day monotony of full time work a lot more bearable! - Good commission structure (especially due to the recent change, now a significant improvement in incentivising the big billers!) - No KPI culture (if you make money, no one asks questions, which is highly refreshing from my perspective and comparison to previous companies I have worked in!) - Amazing Location: THE BEST view across Sydney Harbour and afternoon drinks on the balcony overlooking it, every Friday! Also hosts the Best NYE party in town. - Career progression is clear; ambitious and hard working Consultants are supported in their career progression and appropriately rewarded with promotions (loyalty and longevity is rewarded)

      Cons

      - More comprehensive training should be provided, particularly now that intake of Consultants is younger and much less experienced than it was a few years ago. - Staff retention: There has been a significant decrease in this, particularly in 2016. A lot of senior Managers have left, and many consultants, and the change of Senior Management structure has left people feeling very unsettled, which promotes even worse staff retention

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Terrible Place To work!

      Apr 14, 2017 - Recruitment Consultant in Dubai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Well known agency (not necessarily for the right reasons either even clients avoid using!) lots of staff employed and high turnover of stagf

      Cons

      The MD is vile and makes the place horrible environment she backstabs everyone and plays staff off against one another. You didn't see this side of her until you've been there 6-12 months - I've seen her do it to many others. It's. toxic place to work and should avoid - much nice boutique agencies out there to work! Commission structure isn't that great either!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Charterhouse Partnership Response

      Managing Director

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review, although it does sound like your review really isn’t a review of Charterhouse it is a few lines of hatred and anger. It is never nice to read that someone has had a bad experience and is unhappy, full of angry and hatred for a business or a person, so if you are indeed an ex-employee of Charterhouse then I am sorry to hear about your experience, I do hope that you have secured a new role in a boutique agency that betters suits you.

    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Stop taking advantage of staff

      Feb 7, 2017 - Recruitment Consultant in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Colleagues are amazing in this business and really make you keenit together when this business pushes you to the limit.

      Cons

      - mistreating people who are there on visas - poor HR - murky communication - poor or no management - insincere MD - underpaid work force - promote people because they haven't got any other options - poor turnover - limited recognition - less than average commission structure - poor hiring decisions The list goes on

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A word to the wise

      Dec 2, 2016 - Recruitment Consultant in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The view from the balcony is incredible. Friday night drinks were fun sometimes. Free lunches for hitting your targets were nice.

      Cons

      If you are a good recruiter who knows the Australian market and has done their homework, then you will already know not to go here. That's why 80% of the Charterhouse workforce are from overseas. So this review was written with the unsuspecting overseas recruiters in mind, those who are being misled and are about to sign the next 4+ years of their life away to Charterhouse, a company who consistently and reliably screws good people over. It's only fair that you know what you are getting yourself in for, so you can make an informed decision. This review is relevant to any branch of Charterhouse in Australia (Partnership, Professional Support, Medical etc). Here's how it's probably going to play out for you. In your initial interview they will lure you in with talk of sponsorship and 457 visas and they will look you in the eye and tell you that you will have your PR in 2 years. Sounds great right! But alas, it's not the case. Once you've signed on the dotted line you'll probably find they manage to stall your 457 visa application from the outset by advising you to apply for a working holiday visa first. This simple move will push your road to PR back by about a year. Plus a possible further 6 - 12 months to get your 457 visa processed after you've used up your working holiday visa. Once the 457 visa comes through, this is when your 2 year path to PR actually starts, any time with the company prior to your 457 being issued does not count towards the 2 years. If you get further than most and make it to the end of 2 years on a 457 (at this point you could already be up to 3 - 4 years in) you have to interview with the MD and, depending on what mood he's in, he will decide if they will support your PR application. Most likely at this point he will invent a new rule that ultimately results in your PR application being delayed. If they do decide to support your PR application it can take up to 9 months to get it processed. So you could easily be looking at around 4 or even close to 5 years to get your PR, if they let you get it that is. You can test this for yourself, ask them to put in writing that they will sponsor you at the completion of 2 years on a 457 visa (with no sneaky clauses) before you sign your contract, and insist that you get your 457 before coming to Australia. It used to be the case that you could get your PR application supported after 2 years and it was relatively straightforward, but after they realised everyone quits the day their PR is granted (which speaks for itself right?) they've started getting more and more creative with the process. Oh and the commission structure? It's purposely misleading. Long story short, as you sit there looking at your commission schedule and crunching numbers, whatever you think you are going to be paid, divide it by 4 and that's probably a more accurate figure. Then factor in that you will get it paid 3 months in arrears. Again, you can test this by asking them to put some examples of commission calculations in writing, to show you exactly how it works prior to you signing. But you've no doubt been quoted figures such as "we regularly pay our consultants $30k monthly commission cheques". They don't, just so you know. Desks are split into such small patches that your earning potential is going to be very limited.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Stay Away

      Jun 29, 2016 - Recruitment Consultant in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Balcony and drinks on a Friday

      Cons

      Easily the worst place I've ever worked. Arrogant and unapproachable senior management. Terrible commission structure. Known in Sydney as 'Slaughterhouse' so end up recruiting a lot of Brits from overseas who don't know better. Stay well away!

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Charterhouse Partnership Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Charterhouse Partnership? Share Your Experiences

    Charterhouse Partnership logo
    or