Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Reviews

Updated 11 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
57%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services CEO  Lisa McEuen
Lisa McEuen
115 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is flexible hours, get to eat for free(in 29 reviews)

  • "Free food, great environment, upwards mobility(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "very low pay compared to market average(in 27 reviews)

  • "Not much support with upper management(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "6months internship"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Marketing Intern 

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time

    Pros

    My work was not restricted to marketing . I could learn about logistics.

    Cons

    The pay was low and scope for marketing was limited.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

    November 11, 2020Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

    Thanks for the feedback. We're glad you had a positive experience and were able to learn skills and functions outside of your internship field. We are thankful for the time you spent with us and wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  2. "++++++"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Cast Member in Lucknow
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    benifit of education and life set

    Cons

    no advise to you cons

    Continue reading

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

    January 6, 2021Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

    Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you're enjoying work/life balance and many benefits for our associates. Thanks for being a part of the Chartwells Higher Education family!


  3. "Student Worker"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learning is excellent. Work management is great. Alot to learn.

    Cons

    Growth is slow and as a student it is very hactic

  4. "Good start for cooking"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cook in Oakland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learning time management and a large variety of recipes

    Cons

    Hours can be a little low due Covid

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

    January 13, 2021Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

    Thank you for leaving us a review. We're glad you're enjoying your experience with us and that you find opportunities to hone your culinary talent. Thanks for being a part of the Chartwells Higher Education family, we're proud to have you on our team!

  5. "Ok"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Currently Unemployed and Seeking Work in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time

    Pros

    Great Staff, Wonderful Clients and location.

    Cons

    No work life balance. Very poor management

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

    January 13, 2021Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

    Thank you for leaving us a review. We're pleased to hear you had a great work environment and comradery with the team. We want our associates to feel supported by leadership and regret that was not your experience. Your feedback will allow us to continue to grow. Good luck with your future endeavors and we're thankful for the time you spent with us.

  6. "Ok job and ok company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to work with great people

    Cons

    Benefits are ok and a little hard to grow unless you move or have a position open

    Continue reading

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

    January 13, 2021Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

    Thanks for the review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Your feedback on benefits will allow us to continue to grow. Good luck with your future endeavors and we're thankful for the time you spent with us.

  7. "Experiences"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Prep, Cook, Server, Cashier in Florence, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice co-workers. Supervisors care about safety.

    Cons

    Not satisfied with pay or hours.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

    January 6, 2021Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

    Thank you for taking a moment to leave us a review. We are so glad to hear you’re enjoying your experience and that you share our passion for safety. We appreciate your note about compensation and will relay that to our team. Thank you for making Chartwells Higher Education a great place to work, we're proud to have you on our team.

  8. "Supervisor"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time

    Pros

    Great people and wonderful working with students

    Cons

    Heavy lifting to stock shelves in retail environment

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

    January 13, 2021Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience. Thank you for your time with us, and we wish you good luck in your future endeavors.

  9. "Director is not organized"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sous Chef in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I'm able to decide what I make and who I work with normally.

    Cons

    Promised advancement and training. I realize we can travel but this could be done remotely.

    Continue reading

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

    January 13, 2021Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We know the job can be demanding and appreciate all you do. We strive to provide associates with opportunities to advance and understand that may be on hold during these challenging times. Thank you for being a part of the Chartwells Higher Education family and we’re grateful to have you on our team.

  10. "Food service"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Cook/cashier in Toledo, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Co- workers where friendly, hours are good.

    Cons

    20 years of working for this company and no opportunity to move up.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

    January 6, 2021Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed work/life balance but regret your overall experience with us was negative. We strive to provide associates with opportunities to advance and encourage them to discuss available options with their managers. Thank you for your time with us, and we wish you good luck in your future endeavors.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 646 English Reviews