Cibo Reviews

Updated Oct 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 18 reviews

3.8
65%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Cibo Co-Founder and CEO Lu Lacourte (no image)
Lu Lacourte
12 Ratings
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Rude managers

    Oct 21, 2021 - Waiter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The other staff seemed really lovely and the restaurant was beautiful

    Cons

    The managers were extremely rude and gave little introduction or welcome

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Craziville

    Feb 24, 2020 - Vice President Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Creative, locale, fun, drinks and sun

    Cons

    BD mgmt, egos, no support and long hours

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A Whole New World

    Mar 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cibo has been and continues to be one of the best places I've worked after 15 years in the design industry. The team is smart, upbeat, flexible, respectful and like a family. Having worked at a number of shops that favor burnout and cliques - Cibo is a breath of fresh air in the world of advertising. Project managers and the new business team are doing a spectacular job with staffing/scheduling reasonably to maintain a solid work/life balance. They allow anyone to take the initiative and influence/shift how things are done. Projects are a nice mix of conceptual/routine and everyone is onboard with modern digital design tools + UI/UX/dev knowledge. Older negative reviews don't align with the Cibo I've experienced thus far. I have been incredibly happy since joining the team and looking forward to doing more great work together!

    Cons

    The staff is mostly comprised of senior talent, which doesn't make Cibo a great place to start your career. Everyone comes to the team with their A-game and it's confident sociable personalities who can think and do that thrive.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Freelancer

    Less than happy with this company

    May 25, 2017 - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can't give any pros as of now.

    Cons

    I work for a tech company who uses agencies to contract several employees. I was switched over to CIBO about 4 months ago and it has been nothing but a constant headache dealing with them. They had no idea what basic employment laws are and when I asked certain questions regarding basic benefits, they would give me incorrect information. Would highly discourage anyone from using them.

    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Love the CIBO team!!

    Jan 26, 2017 - Social Media Strategist and Community Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great working culture and teams!

    Cons

    Not enough full time opportunities when I was there.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing culture of creative, driven people

    Jun 14, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I’ve worked at Cibo for several years. Cibo has built an amazing culture of creative, driven people who function like a big family. I made some of my best friends at the agency, which is big on company outings and always looks for opportunities to have fun together. There are also great educational opportunities across the company, from 4A’s classes to speaking coaches, to Photoshop classes for non-designers. Cibo has great partnerships with its clients, with big names in the automobile industry, and large Silicon Valley tech companies making up the bulk of the roster. I remember when Cibo fired a huge account because the clients were a nightmare, which is the perfect representation of how Cibo cares about the well-being of its employees. Work-life balance is also great, because a lot of people have families, and are usually out the door by 5:30.

    Cons

    I’m a big believer that companies’ (and peoples’) greatest strengths are usually their greatest weakness, and this is very much the case with Cibo. The agency is fluid, with little to no structure. It provides a great opportunity for hungry, proactive people to succeed and grow their careers. On the flipside, with no structure in place to provide career growth for junior people, those who don't take initiative to get where they want to be on their own may not succeed.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Freelancer

    Freelance Designer

    Jun 5, 2016 - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Here's the harsh truth about freelancing/contracting: the companies don't give a damn about freelancers. They treat us very differently than their full time employees. I think it's the mentality of "temporary help" gives them the sense that we are not worth giving the same respect to. This is based on the past 4-5 years of being a freelance designer. But here comes the twist: Cibo, out of all of my past and current companies I freelanced at, treat us pretty awesome. Lou, Bob, Alder, Tom, Kerrie -- everyone-- take the time to actually talk to me. They genuinely are curious how your day is going. You know, like normal human beings.

    Cons

    I don't have many thoughts on the Cons here. If anything, it could be that their timeline/deadlines can be a little aggressive. But that's typically the life of most agencies.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Smart, creative team

    Jun 1, 2016 -  in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working at Cibo has been a great experience. Everyone on the team is very smart and leave their egos at the door. Everyone values a solid work life balance.

    Cons

    No cons at this point.

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    My Cibo experience

    May 19, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've never worked with such amazing personalities. Everyone here has a set of skill and they utilize them exponentially each and every week. You can see the team grow more and more dynamic. It's amazing. Not to mention we are all somewhat of a family here. We work together, and have company outings that are always fun. They really make sure everyone has time to breath easy after our busy week(s) and really make an effort to make sure everyone is comfortable and satisfied with what they are working on which is a definite plus.

    Cons

    So far my only con would be that Cibo is a company that aims to please each and everyone of our clients. We are the "yes we can" guys before anything, and so there are times when maybe we shouldn't. BUT I have noticed an effort in making sure each person involved in a project is satisfied and that's honestly all I can ask for.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Fun, short time

    Feb 12, 2016 - Web Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - great (collaborative & close-knit) office space - solid relationship with clients - speakers and workshops were great

    Cons

    - needed more time to build relationships with others outside of my project

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews
</>Embed

Work at Cibo? Share Your Experiences

Cibo logo
or