Cinesite Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cinesite Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
88%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Cinesite CEO  Antony Hunt (no image)
Antony Hunt
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's the place to be in Montreal(in 6 reviews)

  • "In general there are great people to work with(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "The projects are really low budget with poor stories and the directors do not look really competent(in 6 reviews)

  • "The management team is largely incompetent, particularly senior management(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CFX Artist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cinesite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work environment, positive management, good benefits. I like basically everything about this studio

    Cons

    Not many, can be slow at times, like most studios.

    Cinesite2019-11-19
  2. "Yeah they're pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prefer Not to Say in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cinesite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like it, it's a great environment to be in. Leadership is great and friendly. They've got snacks.

    Cons

    Too far from the skytrain

    Cinesite2019-10-02
  3. "Good Place to start."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lighting Artist in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cinesite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent projects. Good salary. Great work environment.

    Cons

    Could be better organized. Almost no permanent contracts. Could improve quality of movies

    Continue reading
    Cinesite2019-09-22
  4. "Nice work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cinesite

    Pros

    Great coworkers Lots of projects going on Nice facility Nice cheeky beers and parties Friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    Salary is lower than the market rates A bit disorganized Overtime isn't 1.5x Pipeline tools could be improved Maya isn't good for lighting

    Continue reading
    Cinesite2019-08-15
  5. "Respectful and fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cinesite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can meet a lot of great people

    Cons

    A lot of those people quickly become ex-colleagues

    Continue reading
    Cinesite2019-08-22
  6. "Nice place, some bs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cinesite full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay Progressive Multi national Nice neighbourhood Good trucks!

    Cons

    Could be more transparent Some incompetent supervisors

    Continue reading
    Cinesite2019-08-18
  7. "More or less fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cinesite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life, great amenities and benefits.

    Cons

    The culture is a little strange, feels more like an office then a creative place. People tend to show up work then go home. No real social/fun atmosphere.

    Cinesite2019-07-19
  8. "Fun project, great team, enjoyed my time there very much!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shot Finalist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cinesite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Open and accepting environment: They make it well known they are a studio that has zero tolerance for harassment. They take the extra step to confirm your pronouns when you interview with them and when they hire you. It is of high priority to create an environment that does not tolerate discrimination against anyone’s age, gender, sexual orientation, disabilities, or otherwise. -Friendly coworkers: Talented individuals who come from all sorts of backgrounds and experiences in the industry. Contribute to high quality work. -Paid OT: There is no pressure to do it if you are unable to commit to it. They also order meals from Lazymeal or reimburse you if you decide to order your own from another source. -Nice facilities: Their new building is very nice and well-kept. The kitchen is a decent size and has plenty of utensils and appliances to help you prepare your morning drinks and meals. -Cheeky Beers: Last Friday of the month is a beer Friday. Optional, but a good way to mingle and introduce yourself with coworkers from other departments.

    Cons

    -Unclear about the upcoming projects and extending employment within the company: I understand it was a busy time, but there was never any real indication from the superiors or management if there was going to be a new project to be rolled onto after my contract had ended. -Assets between studios were not always compatible: The project I had worked on had shared assets between two different studios whose pipelines were run differently. This caused some confusion and difficulties when working on the sequences that involved these foreign assets. -Only Half&Half Coffee Cream provided in kitchen: Okay, I know this really isn’t a con, and more of a nitpick, but it would’ve been nice to have a mix of milk, almond/soy milk, and cream stocked and provided in the fridge. It would be beneficial to those who would like to prepare cereal for breakfast, use milk in their tea or coffee, or be an option for those who are lactose intolerant or have dietary restrictions like vegans.

    Continue reading
    Cinesite2019-06-28
  9. "It's okay for a start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3D Animator in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cinesite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great lead animators and animation directors. Positive people to work with

    Cons

    Super french clicky thing. They talk a lot about Quebec should separate from Canada, lots of weird language politics, makes you feel unconfortable when youre an outsider. I even saw people with the picture of the Queen with holes on it on their desks. They are not mean people but they should not talk about this at work. Most movie you work on don't even have a publisher yet so the movie might never comes out.

    Continue reading
    Cinesite2019-04-14
  10. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cinesite full-time

    Pros

    Some of the artists are lovely!

    Cons

    HR is a mess, they will low ball you and bully you into feeling like you should just be grateful to have a job. Management will ask more of you than the role you are being paid to do. Thé films they work on in feature animation are so low budget and look like they were rendered in a video game engine. The films take years to release after their completion so be prepared to work on your reel outside of working here.

    Continue reading
    Cinesite2019-04-01
Found 48 reviews