Citizens Bank Assistant Branch Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Citizens Bank Assistant Branch Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

1.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
21%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Citizens Bank CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
11 Ratings
  1. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Plymouth, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Scheduling, good starting point in a career. Room for advancement.

    Cons

    Upper management is totally disconnected from the reality. Constant changes in policy and ways of operating.

    Citizens Bank2019-06-21
  2. "You’re nothing but a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay rate Paid time off Flexible scheduling

    Cons

    Make you work when you are ill and throwing up Accuse you of incentive fraud once you start maxing out on revenue in a quarter Branch managers call off whenever they want Regional will threaten you so that you will open more products for her region no matter what it takes

    Advice to Management

    Start caring about your employees more than you do your sales

    Citizens Bank2019-02-26

    Citizens Bank Response

    March 5, 2019Sr Project Analyst

    Thanks for your review. We’re sorry to hear that your time with us has not been positive. We do have several different policies that provide our colleagues for time off when they are sick. We’d encourage you to contact our anonymous alert line Right Call at 1-877-495-4727 so that ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (4)

    "You are a salesman despite your title"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time

    Pros

    Fellow colleagues PTO Benefits were attractive

    Cons

    Citizens has a customer prospecting system that you are expected to use to make cold calls that are borderline obnoxious. Expect to call the same customers more than once . Your sales results depend on whether the customers qualify and accept the offer for different products the bank offers. There are no metrics designed and used to reward colleagues for those instances where the colleague was able to sit with the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be better sales initiative framework that motivates and encourages long term customer loyalty. Colleagues should not be pressured to "Sell a Mercedes to a customer, when all they need is a Ford". Customers see right through the short term gain and will actively seek out other banking institutions that take a long term approach to there customers needs.

    Citizens Bank2018-04-20
  4. "Assistant Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Providence, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great medical and dental benefits. Matching 401k contributions up to 3%. Generous PTO up to 22 days.

    Cons

    Heavy sales culture geared to make you hit numbers, not always in the interest of what is best for the customer. No amount of sales are ever enough. Long hours if at an in store location, little appreciation for the hard work.

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating the employees like a number that can be replaced at the drop of a dime.

    Citizens Bank2018-01-04
  5. "Great company/Horrible Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Wilmington, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, salary and potential for promotion.

    Cons

    Poor commission structure, Lack of truly caring management

    Advice to Management

    Please train management team some sensitivity. They seem only to care about numbers and not that you are a human being. Especially upper management, whenever they came to visit the branch, they always looked down their noses at the "lowly" employees.

    Citizens Bank2017-11-05
  6. Helpful (3)

    "It has changed a lot since I started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Citizen’s salaries are competitive compared to other financial institutions. Get a nice amount of vacation days. benefits are okay even though they go up every year but most companies do. Get most holidays off.

    Cons

    No work life balance, very aggressive in sales and incentives are horrible, eliminated positions so one person is doing multiple jobs. All branches are not consistent with one another so new hires are not being properly trained. They are being thrown in without much guidance.

    Advice to Management

    If you are going to make changes you should evaluate the whole process so that everything balances out. We are working harder not smarter.

    Citizens Bank2017-10-24
  7. "Regional Manager's will dictate your happiness with your job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved my manager, helped me be a better Assistant Manager. Ability to call CAL (colleague assist line) to help you with literally any process or question you may have with a customer. Training investment was tremendous. They really value your skills and want you to succeed. Sylvia Stein (Pgh area) was an absolute gem.

    Cons

    Felt like every day was the same. I know its a "sales job" but I didn't like forcing people into products just to hit numbers. As a user of a different bank, their technology is WAY behind. ATMs are out dated

    Advice to Management

    Focus less on numbers and more on your people. A happy worker will march through a wall and want to succeed on their own.

    Citizens Bank2017-09-12
  8. "High pressured sales environment, high customer service levels,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Customer service expectations are extremely high. Company is always trying to improve. Not a huge amount of micromanaging depending on management.

    Cons

    High turnover Always changing incentive system, which is not good. Constant changes within policies and procedures on a daily basis.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within with people that are eager to learn instead of someone off the street trying to bounce from position to position.

    Citizens Bank2017-09-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Make it or Break it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Citizens Bank is overall an excellent company to work for. Even just starting at an entry level position, the compensation is excellent and includes paid training (mileage and travel time.) There are many avenues to advance through the company and if you succeed and do well (very well), your hard work and success do not go unnoticed. You are given great teams and partners to work with and learn from. If you work as hard...

    Show More

    Cons

    The primary downside to working at Citizens Bank involves their sales based culture. It's hard for an industry like a bank to preach sales to their employees as primary focus, but preach exceptional customer service to clients. They implement sales practices that directly contradict "doing what's right for the customer." For example, their incentive program for managers and bankers alike. We are to push checking accounts...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I understand the value of growing households, but there is no value in unnecessary checking accounts that don't season and are closed prematurely. They impact the P&L negatively and I would like to see them removed from incentive goals altogether.

    Citizens Bank2017-09-02
  10. "Good Place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good opportunities to move up the ladder fast

    Cons

    100% Sales Based. If you do not like to sell, this job is not for you. Work/Life Balance is not good. Long hours

    Advice to Management

    Stick to a plan and not change things every few months

    Citizens Bank2017-03-08
Found 50 reviews