Citizens Bank Banker I Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Citizens Bank Banker I Reviews

Updated Jan 3, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

1.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
0%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Citizens Bank CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
1 Ratings
  1. "Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Banker I in North Tonawanda, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Citizens Bank for more than a year

    Pros

    Steady 40 hour schedule workweek benefits and holidays

    Cons

    Unhuman workload distribution understaffed, with high turn over rate. Low pay attracts unprofessional uneducated personnel to work as bankers.

    Citizens Bank2017-01-04
  2. "Banker I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Banker I in Methuen, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -You learn a LOT about the banking system (which proves to be useful): loans, mortgages, fraud and affidavit, credit, credit cards, money markets, certificates of deposit, cashier's checks, bonds, business accounts, IRAs, etc... as well as all the rules and regulations to go with them. - It is decent sales practice with leads as well as cold calls and cold approaches. - Decent benefits

    Cons

    - The Sales goals are intentionally extremely high and you only accumulate commission on sales once you surpass your goal. Employees can view the sales progress of every Citizens Bank Banker in the region, and you will notice less than 10% make their goal. - At a busy in-store branch, you will spend a lot of time as a teller. In my case it was most of the time. - The turn-over rate was extremely high. I started...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Watch who you hire as branch managers. My first boss was a the worst boss I ever had. He would find ever reason to blame someone for something and would take people's sales for himself which I didn't notice until he left and I saw a boost in my numbers.

    Citizens Bank2016-01-31
  3. "I worked as a banker, that was my title. But my job functions were that of a teller. i was misled about the position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Banker I in Boston, MA

    I worked at Citizens Bank

    Pros

    The company itself has a good work culture, good benefits, and shows appreciation towards employees.

    Cons

    It depends on the location where you work.. My location was terrible, horrible manager, stressful sales environment,

    Citizens Bank2015-03-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "ok place to work, easy to end up there forever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker I in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    mostly friendly co-workers the company does seem like it cares about its employees overall OK work-life balance very extensive training (3 months) OK benefits

    Cons

    Many people in upper management are too sales focused The promotions are gimmicky and very off-putting for customers The products cant really compete with other banks

    Advice to Management

    Push customer service and forming solid relationships b/c that is what makes customers stay and not chase interest rates

    Citizens Bank2015-01-05
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Easy to get hired although it was a lengthy process, no chances of a raise though."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Banker I in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank

    Pros

    No experience required to be hired making more than min wage. .

    Cons

    No pay increase, abusive, LONG HOURS, work most holidays.

    Advice to Management

    If you treat your employees better maybe the turnover wouldn't be so high.

    Citizens Bank2015-01-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Banker I in West Chester, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, opportunities to advance, fair hours, good medical/dental

    Cons

    Not enough pay, ridiculous goals

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire managers that are not capable of leading a sales team.

    Citizens Bank2014-08-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker I in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    company has good benefits and 401K

    Cons

    long hours this a high sales environment. goals increases every Q

    Advice to Management

    quit hiring best buy ex employees

    Citizens Bank2014-04-25
  8. Helpful (4)

    "This bank will promise you the world when you are interviewing but there is no advancement or incentive to be acquired."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Banker I in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There really are not any pros to working here.

    Cons

    Dealing with upper management that wants you to sell, sell, sell. They can be downright nasty if you are not producing. Then you go for training about the customer experience and are told you are not supposed to be sales sharks, but instead be truly interested and caring about the customers needs. They do not practice what they preach. They also hire people that have sales experience. It does not matter if you know...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You say you care about your customers, but until you put the customers needs first and the sales need second, you will continue to have dissatisfied customers. Employees are also dissatisfied overall. Upper upper management needs to reach out to their bankers and tellers to see what is really happening in their branches.

    Citizens Bank2014-03-28
  9. "Charter One Is a Horrible Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker I in Lisle, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The only real pro to working here is that the benefits package is very good.

    Cons

    No room to advance, Low pay, Terrible Management.

    Advice to Management

    You need to get rid of the dead weight. you dont understand that the people in the branches keep your jobs relevant. You don't know what really goes on at the branch level and you just make changes with no understanding of what we had to deal with at the branch level.

    Citizens Bank2013-10-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Company Lacks Integrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Banker I in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Citizen's Bank only cares about selling anything and everything to customers. There is little to no care about the employees, and the amount of pressure, and unrealistic goals they place on the employees shows the companies lack of integrity. The turn-over rate is absurd, and yet nothing is done to make the employees feel confident about working there.

    Advice to Management

    Re-do your hold method of operation. It is not working.

    Citizens Bank2013-05-10
Found 20 reviews