Citizens Bank Branch Manager Reviews

Updated 24 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
33%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Citizens Bank CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
52 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible Senior Management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Vacation time, bank holidays, that is all there is.

    Cons

    They will sting you along saying if you keep doing certain things you will get promoted to the next level, you wont. The minute I told my regional manager I was pregnant they started treating me differently, I was no longer considered a "team player". I was out on medical leave for the birth of my daughter and they wrote me up for the branch performance while I was on medical leave.

    Continue reading

    Citizens Bank Response

    June 30, 2020Project Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. This is certainly not the type of culture that we support, and we take these type of allegations very seriously. Please consider contacting the HR Service Center at 1-866-472-8234 or call us anonymously via Right Call at 1-877-495-4727 to share more information about what you experienced so that we can look into and address as appropriate.

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Never Enough"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I truly enjoy the opportunity to lead a group of people in an effort to help customers improve their finances. There are tools available that help us do that.

    Cons

    Although it was a few months ago now, the thing that continues to stick with me is when I had worked 15 straight days because we were short staffed- I'm exempt and the minimum expectation is 50 hours (though CFG advertises 40), but during these two weeks I was closer to 70 each week. We have had times and I get that everyone is trying to do more with less...however what makes it stick my mind was that having works these two 70 hour work weeks in a row without a day off, I get an email from my boss's boss wanting to know why i hadn't sold more credit cards during this time-he "couldn't understand why". Honestly, I would have expected a "Thank You" for putting work over family, friends, and quite honestly sanity. We are always short staffed- part of that is because the staffing is so much smaller than it use to be, and having worked at other banks that is certainly everywhere- but when you have 4 people and are down two and the "coaching" from your management is that "staffing is not an excuse", it truly makes you feel undervalued...if staffing isn't a reason for having slightly lower production than why do we put people in branches- lets just eliminate them- I mean if lack of people isn't a reason for lower production than clearly it isn't people that are making production happen.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good opportunities with this company.

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Citizens Bank Response

    January 8, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for your review! We're happy you experienced opportunities during your time with us. We know you're #MadeReady for 2020 — best of luck!

  4. "👎"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Don’t have any pros at this time

    Cons

    Product pushers Not relationship builders

    Continue reading

    Citizens Bank Response

    January 10, 2020Project Manager

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. We encourage you to call Citizens’ HR Service Center at 1-866-472-8234 or call in anonymously via Right Call at 1-877-495-4727 so that we can look into your concerns.

  5. "ok"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great benefits some of the managers are wonderful upper management needs some direction

    Cons

    in store hours are long not life balance

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Wells Fargo sales culture mixed with election season"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many people you meet along the way are great. Paid time off is nice and benefits are decent. They paid well.

    Cons

    Company is making cuts and does so without warning. Toxic sales culture that is product-based. Micro-managed activities down to the minute. Mandatory conference calls that take you away from doing your job. The job has become more about reporting numbers out than actually helping customers and helping develop employees. Save yourself the agony and work for a more supportive company. Don’t believe the made ready campaign. They needed to pay to rebrand because of the damaged they’ve caused.

    Continue reading

    Citizens Bank Response

    November 22, 2019Project Manager

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us and are dissatisfied with our Made Ready Campaign. Our brand is about making things simpler and more personal for our customers as we help them navigate the journeys of their lives. A lot of research goes into the setting of sales goals and the majority of our colleagues achieve those goals. Anything that is not in the best interests of the customer is not acceptable. If you'd like to share your concerns more, we encourage you to call Citizens’ HR Service Center at 1-866-472-8234 or call in anonymously via Right Call at 1-877-495-4727.

  7. "Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Medical Insurance and 401k Benefit, Good Work Environment, Better Growth Opportunities

    Cons

    Lower Pay, Sales Pressure and high potential branch colleagues have more responsibilities than other branches but the pay is same for most of each bankers.

    Continue reading

    Citizens Bank Response

    October 11, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback! We're happy to hear you're enjoying our benefits and work environment — they are both really important for job satisfaction! Keep up the great work.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy place to get hired. They hire anybody.

    Cons

    Horrible hours, salary a joke, incentive an even bigger joke, management is laughable. You're lied to about when you can take PTO. ZERO work-life balance.

    Continue reading
  9. "Assistant Branch Manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great first bank experience Great co-workers Lots of resources

    Cons

    Work/life balance Management expectations Micromanagement Horrible scheduling Favoritism (manager’s own fault)

    Continue reading

    Citizens Bank Response

    August 26, 2019Project Manager

    We're sorry to hear your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We take accusations like these very seriously. Please know that we do not tolerate a culture of favoritism. We have policies in place to accommodate reasonable requests from colleagues to practice their sincerely held religious beliefs, and we do not tolerate religious discrimination of any kind. Additionally, we also have a well-established process for escalating any issues you may be having with your manager in the workplace. We encourage you to call the HR Service Center at 1-866-472-8234 or call in anonymously via Right Call at 1-877-495-4727 so that we can further discuss and look into your specific concerns.

  10. "Nice place to work."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Comfortable work environment and good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Sales goals were sometimes unrealistic.

    Citizens Bank Response

    July 12, 2019Sr Project Analyst

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We're confident you'll do great in your next endeavor -- good luck!

Found 153 reviews