Citizens Bank Personal Universal Banker Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Citizens Bank Personal Universal Banker Reviews

Updated Mar 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Citizens Bank CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
33 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Sales Dog"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker Universal 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Time and a half on Sundays

    Cons

    Sales is all that matters. Have people invest in annuties even if it doesnt make sense. Zero professional development. You'll quit in about a year.

    Citizens Bank2019-03-19
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not terrible, just generally poor and outdated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Universal Banker in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Their branches serve both affluent and low income neighborhoods in Rochester. They focus on convenience and accessibility which I believe in.

    Cons

    They don't know how to pick managers. They pick their best salespeople to be managers with no consideration at all whether they have management skills or not. The result is they promote their best salespeople out of sales positions and none of their managers know how to actually manage. It results in lower sales and frustrated employees. Also their equipment is grossly outdated and they don't staff their branches...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people, have a separate leadership/management training program then hire managers based off of the results of those trainings without considering sales. The best salespeople make the worst managers, the two skillsets are frequently mutually exclusive.

    Citizens Bank2019-01-09

    Citizens Bank Response

    January 15, 2019Sr Project Analyst

    Thanks for your review. We’re sorry to hear that your time with us has not been positive. Our Time Reporting Policy requires that colleagues report all time worked and that all time work will be paid. If that is not occurring for you, we encourage you to contact the HR Service Center ...

    Show More
  3. "Much better than many other companies... For the adequate profesional it can be a full filing career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Universal Banker in South Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with a good vision. Excellent culture that embraces and welcomes diversity, celebrates and rewards US veterans, celebrates LGTB, and it is actively involve helping the community! Progressive growing company that is truly customer driven. Good benefits, good 401k plan. 4% match contribution, 6% after a year of employment. Great employee stock investing program. Up to 21,000 for adoption purposes! An additional...

    Show More

    Cons

    Honestly, life is what make it. Of course there are situations that as people we can’t fully control such as technology or a negative colleague but for the most part the work environment is very positive and professional. Training, life- work balance, paid time off are super duper good! Great place to work. Love my regional manager and hiring manager. Citizens Bank is a company that I proudly work for!

    Advice to Management

    Upgrade computer systems. More female leaders!

    Citizens Bank2018-12-02
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Personal Universal Banker...DON’T APPLY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Universal Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is great. Hours are pretty good. The training is very useful and well thought out.

    Cons

    stressful. Constant cold calling. Micro management is horrible. Incentive program is horrible. They don’t care about their employees and only want sales. If you don’t hit your goals, not only will they increase them for the next quarter but you will be micromanaged until you break.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of multi-site branches. Keep one branch manager per branch. Stop micromanaging and start caring about your employees.

    Citizens Bank2018-10-12
  5. "Opening accounts, loan applications, and service issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Universal Banker in Phila, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent salary, offers tuition assistance

    Cons

    High pressure sales goals, if you fall behind expect very aggressive coaching and possible termination of employment

    Citizens Bank2018-08-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "It's all about the sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Universal Banker in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The corporate culture is great, and a generous 401k program.

    Cons

    Even if they say it isn't all about the sales...that's all that matters. Constantly understaffed. After 3 robberies in 5 months regional manager scoffed at the idea of adding safety doors to the branch.

    Advice to Management

    Don't spread the staff so thin, if sales is really all that matters in the end branch colleagues shouldn't be tasked with so many menial tasks.

    Citizens Bank2018-04-18

    Citizens Bank Response

    June 5, 2018Sr Project Analyst

    We appreciate that you have taken the time to share this feedback with us. As normal course of business, we routinely review branch security measures for adequacy to ensure the safety of our colleagues and customers. We strive each day to create an environment that is indicative of ...

    Show More
  7. "Perfect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Universal Banker in Woburn, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, good benefits and friendly management. We do team work and everything is perfect so far. Love working here

    Cons

    Schedule os sometimes a problem because we get to spend the whole day at work but as far as it’s not everyday like that, it’s good

    Advice to Management

    N/a

    Citizens Bank2018-01-01
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Personal Universal Banker in Mount Clemens, MI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Citizens Bank for less than a year

      Pros

      Pay, benefits, training, technology, Heath insurance, incentive pay, advancement, easy goals if you work hard to get the increase in your pay and add to the "book of business " they love that

      Cons

      None I'm new etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc

      Citizens Bank2017-09-09
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Personal Universal Banker in North Kingstown, RI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      18 days pto All Federal holidays off Good health care Time and a half on Sunday's

      Cons

      Short staffed with long hiring process Sales incentive could be better

      Citizens Bank2017-09-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "My honest take"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Personal Universal Banker in Providence, RI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Paid Holidays off, plenty of potential for advancement, customer and business relationships. Customer driven Bank, not too sales pushy.

      Cons

      Long Hours if your In Store. Terrible when it comes to employee coverage. For Universal Bankers pay should be a lot more because of the responsibilities.

      Advice to Management

      Be wise about the people you hire. Focus on your bankers weaknesses. Send them to their required training's. Cant just throw people in the fire without them developing a foundation.

      Citizens Bank2017-07-28
    Found 73 reviews