Citizens Bank Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Citizens Bank CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
773 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sales goals were sometimes unrealistic(in 113 reviews)

  • "Upper management is totally disconnected from the reality(in 106 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time

    Pros

    depends on team which you got

    Cons

    depends on people your r working with

    Citizens Bank2019-10-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A lot of positives generally outweigh the negatives"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Generally good people and benefits. Interesting work. Strong employee culture and organizational pride.

    Cons

    Was stressful at times. Many changes on the executive team during the time I was there resulted in a lot of chaos.

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2020-05-19

    Citizens Bank Response

    May 28, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for posting such a thoughtful review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed our culture and colleagues during your time with us. Developing our colleagues internally has been a huge focus for us and continues to be in 2020 and beyond. In fact, in 2019 alone over 2,400 colleagues were promoted. We wish you all the best in your career!

  3. "Citizens has been a good experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Processor in Providence, RI

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a good cooperate structure

    Cons

    Loan processing is difficult and COVID has made it that much harder

    Citizens Bank2020-06-02
  4. "Get fully licensed and learn about retail banking and investments"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Relationship Banker 

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time

    Pros

    great sales tatics and positive work environment

    Cons

    incredibly outdated systems and technology. Slightly unorganized

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2020-05-14

    Citizens Bank Response

    May 18, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for your review. We're so happy to hear you thrived in our environment and were able to get fully licensed! Our ongoing Transformation Program efforts addresses many of your tech concerns, so stay tuned for updates and initiatives that continue to modernize the way we work. Have a terrific day!

  5. "Need To Work On Diversity & Inclusion"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Operations 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Contact Center Colleagues and the one women within the senior management ranks, along with numerous women middle managers, know how to lead and motivate effectively.

    Cons

    Toxic environment for people of color. Lack of diversity at the EVP and SVP ranks, majority are white men! No opportunity for managers of color to advance since there is ZERO diversity at the top in which senior managers are either unwilling to extend opportunities to people of color or are probably incapable of knowing how to mentor and develop leaders with diverse backgrounds.

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2020-05-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "EXTREME STRESS, CONSTANTLY WANTING MORE, EVEN WHEN GOALS ARE MET"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Banker in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    PTO, excellent hours, decent 401k match

    Cons

    I don’t recommend Bankers position to anyone, after training, nightmares begin! Constantly preaching about “team work”, but all about “I”. Ridiculous expectations, Bankers are required to make calls to set appointment with customers to go over their finances. I have not seen customers willingly disclosed their full financial situation. Daily calls with limited list of names to call per week, that recycled after so many months, and shared among bankers. After awhile, customers stopping answering. Bankers are expected to submit customers contact in “BLOCK”, so Bankers submit FAKE financial information to show work accomplished, waste of time. Constantly, pushed for more even when Bankers are diligently meeting goals on a monthly basis. Citizens Bank hires employees that works at another bank to take ideas from another competitors to implement. What works for other banks may not work for Citizens . Bankers are in constant pressure to help Financial Advisor with their investment sales by referring investment opportunities. In the end, some Financial Advisor are earning well over $100,000 plus income, while Bankers are not making half of their income. Jilted situation, if you ask me.

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2020-05-21

    Citizens Bank Response

    May 28, 2020Project Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. This is certainly not the type of culture that we support, and we take these types of allegations very seriously. A lot of research goes into the setting of sales goals and the majority of our colleagues achieve those goals. Anything that is not in the best interests of the customer is not acceptable. Please consider contacting the HR Service Center at 1-866-472-8234 or call us anonymously via Right Call at 1-877-495-4727 to share more information about what you experienced so that we can look into and address as appropriate.

  7. "mostly good people, chaotic work at times"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Johnston, RI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good people that care for each other good salary, flexible working environment

    Cons

    can be chaotic, disorganized, often teams pulling in different directions, with senior management not always engaged

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2020-05-22

    Citizens Bank Response

    May 28, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us! Reviews like this are such an important way for us to improve the experience for our colleagues. We're glad to hear you enjoy your working environment and the colleagues you work with. Keep up the amazing work and have a wonderful day!

  8. "Excellent place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, pay, and growing firm

    Cons

    There are no cons that I can think of

    Citizens Bank2020-04-28

    Citizens Bank Response

    May 4, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for such a warm review! We're lucky to have such an amazing colleague like yourself aboard. Keep up the amazing work!

  9. "Great company, good benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Universal Banker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great health benefits, holidays off,

    Cons

    Pay and incentives are hard to reach

    Citizens Bank2020-04-28

    Citizens Bank Response

    May 4, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us! We're glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you can take what you learned here and apply it in your next opportunity. Best of luck!

  10. "Learning experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time

    Pros

    Working in a small branch I got to know my colleagues very well and learn a lot from them

    Cons

    Pay, training, schedule, basically were forced to do whatever despite objections

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2020-05-12

    Citizens Bank Response

    May 18, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. We’re pleased to hear you had a strong learning experience and got to know your colleagues well — a collegial work environment is a huge plus! Know that we're committed to pay equity, meaning we continuously evaluate our practices to ensure they're fair. Additionally, if you feel you had to do something in your role that you objected to, please let us know. Consider contacting the HR Service Center at 1-866-472-8234 or call us anonymously via Right Call at 1-877-495-4727 to share more information about what you experienced so that we can look into and address as appropriate.

Found 2167 reviews