Citizens Bank Reviews

Updated 8 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Citizens Bank CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
775 Ratings
  1. "Great start!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Small Business Sales Representative in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great program in place to train employees, good staff, great way to learn more about the financial industry.

    Cons

    Client facing, not a very competitive bank, pay little in commission

    Citizens Bank Response

    April 13, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us and posting a review. We're glad you had a great start with us and were able to get your foot in the door of financial services. We wish you the best of luck in what will sure to be a promising career! Have a wonderful day, and stay safe.

  2. "Good company but lots of frequent changes"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, decent benefits, coworkers are very friendly

    Cons

    Lots of constant changes to upper management

    Citizens Bank Response

    March 31, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for posting a review! Glad you enjoyed your time with us and your coworkers — it's such an important part of the job. Best of luck in your next role. Have a nice day, and stay safe.

  3. "Good experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great experience with ok benefits.

    Cons

    Pay is not the best

    Citizens Bank Response

    March 31, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback, and for 3 great years with us. We're sad to see you go, but happy you had a good experience. Know that Citizens is committed to pay equity, meaning we ensure our compensation and benefits are competitive. We regularly evaluate our practice to ensure they are fair for all colleagues. Have a great day, and stay safe.

  4. "Great training - not a good fit personally"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Relationship Banker in Wilmington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great commission opportunity if you are good at what you do

    Cons

    Company culture is very dependent on the branch you are at

    Citizens Bank Response

    March 18, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us and for the thoughtful feedback. We're sorry to hear we were not a good fit for one another. Either way, we enjoyed having you aboard during your time. Best of luck in your next opportunity!

  5. "Moving in a good direction"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work arrangements and can work remotely. Good leadership, company is moving in a competitive direction. Talent and experience are usually noticed and appreciated on a micro level.

    Cons

    Generally get the feeling you are just a cog in the wheel and replaceable on a macro level. Pay and benefits (health primarily) are lacking in some cases. Opportunity for career mobility, but you need to take charge if you want change, the "company" does not do much to help you. Environment of constant change and senior management is not transparent in a meaningful way. (I.E. "We are going to try to cut expenses" as opposed to "We are going to reduce the workforce")

    Continue reading

    Citizens Bank Response

    March 18, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback. Taking charge of your career is something we encourage at Citizens. While we provide ample resources to help our colleagues learn new skills and find out what their next move might be — like our recent career coaching pilot — driving their career is ultimately in their hands. Our colleagues have a solid record of it though — over 2,400 colleagues we're promoted and over 2,100 colleagues took on new roles in 2019 alone! Have a great day, and good luck in your next opportunity.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Helpdesk Analyst 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros to list.

    Cons

    Work Life Balance Underpaid Overworked Terrible benefits

    Continue reading

    Citizens Bank Response

    April 13, 2020Project Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re sorry to hear that your time with us wasn’t what you hoped it to be. Please consider contacting the HR Service Center at 1-866-472-8234 or call us anonymously via Right Call at 1-877-495-4727 to share more information about what you experienced so that we can look into and address as appropriate.

  7. "Great culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training and Development Manager in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great people

    Cons

    No Leadership direction from the top.

    Citizens Bank Response

    March 10, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and for over 3 great years with us! Glad you appreciate the culture at Citizens — it's one of our favorite things, too. Keep up the great work!

  8. "Great, they are very upbeat people who value time and courtesy."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Citizens Bank

    Pros

    Always in great and upbeat moods.

    Cons

    Technology in dire need of upgrade, its hinders employee efficiency. They are currently working on it.

    Continue reading

    Citizens Bank Response

    March 10, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing such a thoughtful review! Happy to hear working at Citizens Bank brings you so much joy. As you mentioned, we are in the midst of an ambitious multi-year transformation program that harnesses innovation and technology to create great experiences for our customers and colleagues alike. If you'd like to read more about it, check out the Transformation page on the Intranet. Have a great day!

  9. "x"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Appraisal Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good co to work for

    Cons

    none at this time very happy

    Citizens Bank Response

    March 10, 2020Project Manager

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts! So happy to hear you're enjoying working here. We're fortunate to have you as part of the Citizens family.

  10. "Good Place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Senior Data Analyst 

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best people work in the company

    Cons

    it doesn't really have one

    Citizens Bank Response

    March 10, 2020Project Manager

    Wow, what an enthusiastic review! Thanks for sharing. So happy you're growing with Citizens. Have a wonderful day.

Found 2178 reviews