Citizens Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 24 Dec 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Citizens CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
946 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sales goals outdated technology, lack of operational focus(in 120 reviews)

  • "Upper Management sometimes disconnect with what retail life really looks like(in 112 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bank Teller in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture. Work life balance

    Cons

    Cut a lot of banker jobs

    Citizens Response

    December 16, 2020

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the culture and work life balance. Those are just some of our goals. We're lucky to have you on our team!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Hardo free

    Cons

    Bad systems and rigid org structure

    Citizens Response

    December 8, 2020

    Thanks for posting a review! We're glad you're enjoying your time with us and appreciate the work life balance — it really is such an important part of the job. Also, know that we've doubled our investment in technology and are on a journey to transform our tech across the company. We're happy to have you on our team!


  3. "Great Company Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Compliance Advisor in Providence, RI

    I worked at Citizens full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company culture. Many opportunities for advancement. Training and education is encouraged and supported. Flexibility for a work/life balance

    Cons

    Some areas areas are behind on innovation and technology. While some are advanced and converting to digital.

    Citizens Response

    November 30, 2020

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and for over 10 years of service with us! We're glad to hear you enjoyed working for us and appreciated the many opportunities for advancement! Also, know that we've doubled our investment in technology and are on a journey to transform our tech across the company.

  4. "Worst place to work. Particularly data side."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Engineer in Johnston, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great HR team, good compensation packages

    Cons

    No work life balance. Un-realistic time lines. CDO does not care of people, force you to work like dog.

    Continue reading

    Citizens Response

    December 28, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We're sorry to hear you did not completely enjoy your time with us. We encourage you to call Citizens’ HR Service Center at 1-866-472-8234 or call in anonymously via Right Call at 1-877-495-4727 so that we can look into your concerns.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good Experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Warwick, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens full-time

    Pros

    Citizens offers a broad range compensation package. They are very supportive with work/life balance and family needs and obligations.

    Cons

    Too many reorgs resulting in loss of FTE

    Citizens Response

    November 10, 2020

    Thanks for posting a review! We're so glad that you get to take advantage of flexible work arrangements; it really does help with work life balance. Keep up the great work!

  6. "Great Company for hustlers"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Banking Officer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends

    I worked at Citizens full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    very flexible work life balance

    Cons

    difficult lending policies, hard to get deals done

    Citizens Response

    November 3, 2020

    Thanks for posting a review! We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and the work life balance — it really is such an important part of the job. Best of luck in your next role, stay safe!

  7. "Citizens"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens full-time

    Pros

    Training program was in depth

    Cons

    Long hours. Home/work life balance challenging

    Citizens Response

    November 3, 2020

    Thanks for the review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Citizens and felt as though you had good training that set a good foundation! Best of luck in your future endeavors.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good work life balance for decent pay"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Associate in Boston, MA

    I worked at Citizens full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance for decent pay

    Cons

    A little political at times. Not sure if women were treated equally to men.

  9. "Treasury"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Senior Treasury Analyst in Providence, RI

    I worked at Citizens full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance here

    Cons

    If you want to work at a regional bank, this is a great place

    Citizens Response

    October 6, 2020

    Thanks for your review! We're so glad to hear you enjoy the work life balance that Citizens offers! It's our goal to help you be your best, in all aspects of your life!

  10. "Overall a good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong focus on mentorship, collaborative culture, great work life balance

    Cons

    Pay was a little on the low side

Viewing 1 - 10 of 213 English Reviews