City of Edmonton Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

City of Edmonton Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 175 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
City of Edmonton CEO Don Iveson
Don Iveson
85 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "In order to be considered for any permanent, full time positions you have to be considered permanent Staff Support(in 8 reviews)

  • "Poor decision making by upper management, does not listen to the people who are the experts in their area, no recognition(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance, pension.

    Cons

    career growth is limited, not based on skill but relation.

    Advice to Management

    doesn't matter which company, at the end of the day, it's still the skill that solve the problem, not talk.

    City of Edmonton2019-06-20
  2. "Good work and life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work and life balance

    Cons

    Colleagues do not like changes. Not easy to implement new efficient things.

    City of Edmonton2019-06-13
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Civil Engineering Technologist 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Stability, Flexibility with great benefits.

      Cons

      Not competitive in terms of wage compare to private companies.

      City of Edmonton2019-05-31
    • "too much change all the time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time

      Pros

      Earned days off. If you are in the Unions you have great benefits, if you are out-of-scope or management, you have mediocre benefits

      Cons

      There has been multiple reorganizations over the past 3 years and people are exhausted.

      City of Edmonton2019-05-22
    • "The best employer I have had in my career."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director of Recruitment in Edmonton, AB
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Leadership, technology, work life balance, benefits, career opportunities.

      Cons

      No Cons that I would report.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to break down silos between departments.

      City of Edmonton2019-05-06
    • "Aquatic Instructor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at City of Edmonton part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      -Fast-paced environment -Customer Service Experience

      Cons

      -You are committed to a 4-10 week period

      City of Edmonton2019-04-18
    • "Refuse collector"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time

      Pros

      Steady work good job security

      Cons

      Work in all weather conditions

      Advice to Management

      Up to city council not applicable

      City of Edmonton2019-03-31
    • "contruction manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time

        Pros

        very good compensation and team work

        Cons

        no balance for the work and life

        City of Edmonton2019-03-18
      • "material technical assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at City of Edmonton full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        good pay, easy work,overtime work available

        Cons

        too much politics, toxic supervisor

        City of Edmonton2019-03-26
      • "Engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at City of Edmonton full-time

        Pros

        Great pension benefits and Earned Day off programs.

        Cons

        Too many times of organizational change which were very time consuming and difficult to employee to change.

        City of Edmonton2019-03-07
      Found 175 reviews