City of Reno Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

City of Reno Reviews

Updated Dec 22, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
53%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
City of Reno CEO Bob Cashell (no image)
Bob Cashell
6 Ratings
  1. "Good job during college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at City of Reno part-time

    Pros

    Flexible shifts perfect for students

    Cons

    Can think of anything negitive to share

    City of Reno2018-12-23
  2. "Facility Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Assistant in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Reno part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible with your schedule, many opportunities to move up in your department, and a large and friendly community.

    Cons

    No insurance for part-time.

    City of Reno2018-07-31
  3. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Reno full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits for many positions. You serve the community, which can be incredibly fulfilling.

    Cons

    Lots of silos, and hard to make friends because nobody truly trusts one another. Lots of pressure to be political and use relationships to move up. Too many internal-hires and at-will employees, which is just indicative of the nepotism occurring and desire for upper management to have greater power. No faith in HR or senior management to properly vet new hires or deal with personnel issues. Bad behavior like... yelling at employees, sexually harassing them, and shutting them out seems to be common among managers. High turnover rate. Negative public perception and staff distrust due to poor handling of sexual harassment complaints.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get an external HR hotline. Internal won’t be any different than a regular phone line and staff won’t trust it to be confidential. Vet your hires, and take time to get good people, even if it takes a few failed searches. Don’t reward hostile managers with promotions — hire from outside. If they are hostile, maybe they’re already in over their heads. Get rid of toxic people.

    City of Reno2018-02-26
  4. "Lack of honesty and integrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reno, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at City of Reno full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent pay for lower level employees but only after YEARS of service

    Cons

    Terrible management in most departments at every level. Benefits slowly being stripped away. Only expect to advance if you have excellent butt kissing skills. Some department are grossly lining their pockets at the expense of tax payers.

    Advice to Management

    Start closely looking at some of the large departments City Manager Sabra. There is some serious corruption with your mid to upper level management.

    City of Reno2017-11-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at City of Reno full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay but benefits are being reduced over time.

    Cons

    Upper management is really dysfunctional. You have top management trying to get over a huge sexual harassment scandal while you have a Chief of Police who was appointed for political reasons and had not supervisor or management experience nor education when appointed from the bottom of the organization. Really says it all about how the city is managed and how the political system is broken.

    Advice to Management

    Get the best people period. Stop the political favors and give the hard working employees the best people to learn from. If this does not happen there will be decades of problems.

    City of Reno2017-11-11
  6. "Good place to work, great place to live"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at City of Reno full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great neighborhoods and plenty of outdoor activities

    Cons

    High cost of housing and living

    City of Reno2017-09-04
  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Emergency Communications Manager in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Reno full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The City of Reno was a great place to work. My direct manager was very progressive and allowed me to do my job.

    Cons

    No cons that can be easily fixed, huge budget cuts have reduced the most important part of any task - enough staff.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the positive encouragement coming and allow your managers the same freedom to work that you gave me.

    City of Reno2016-02-03
  8. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Reno part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Community driven, target unfortunate family to create a sense of community.

    Cons

    Must be ablate work in a diverse community and in diverse situations.

    Advice to Management

    Create more resources

    City of Reno2015-02-12
  9. "Great except for one person."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at City of Reno

    Pros

    I have no pros anymore.

    Cons

    No more job security here.

    Advice to Management

    Quit allowing good ol boy mentality.

    City of Reno2014-07-24
  10. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Reno full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fair pair, good benefits, great hours

    Cons

    Haven't had a raise in 6 years, poor city council decisions lead to lack of funds

    City of Reno2014-07-05
Found 15 reviews