Close Brothers Reviews

Updated 11 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 191 of over 201 reviews

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Close Brothers Chief Executive  Adrian Sainsbury (no image)
Adrian Sainsbury
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance and flexible working options(in 23 reviews)

  • "Big company with a very good benefits package(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor wages and you don't get any support form Senior management(in 13 reviews)

  • "No clear paths for career progression(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      11 Jun 2021 - Treasury Operations Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing culture. Very pro inclusion and diversity

      Cons

      None I can think of at the moment

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Close Brothers Response

      HR Business Partner

      Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're committed to building in inclusive culture where everyone can thrive so it's great that you have commented so positively around this.

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company

      19 May 2021 - Administrator in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company, great people, enjoyable to work for

      Cons

      Working hours flexibility, Career progression,

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Close Brothers Response

      HR Business Partner

      Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      4 May 2021 - Broker Support Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - company sends plenty of gifts and incentives - work from home - great company culture - everyone is friendly

      Cons

      - average pay but should definitely increase due to the amount of work you have to do

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Engages with employees

      10 May 2021 - Sales Support in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can progress within the Group Great work life balance

      Cons

      The pay is probably not the best

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Close Brothers Response

      HR Business Partner

      Thank you for sharing your views on Close Brothers. We really value engaging with our employees and our recent employee opinion survey has given us our strongest ever engagement results.

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      N/A

      6 Jun 2021 - Senior Business Operations Administrator in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance for employees

      Cons

      Not much I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Close Brothers Response

      HR Business Partner

      Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Employee wellbeing is a real priority for us at Close Brothers so it's great that you feel you have a good work life balance.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Close Brothers

      7 May 2021 - Human Resources Advisor in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company, culture and opportunities for growth

      Cons

      Non cons that I can list

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Culture

      7 May 2021 - Project Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, support network and opportunities

      Cons

      Slow to recognise candidates for Promotion

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      4 May 2021 - Reward Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance is good in this

      Cons

      None of them i noticed..

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst company I have ever worked for.

      18 May 2021 - Anonymous Former Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None other than gives you the experience to leave elsewhere.

      Cons

      Everything and anything. Low pay, toxic culture, favouritism, no development opportunities unless you make the cut for simply being a white male. HR preach about diversity yet look at their team. Disingenuous and couldn't care less about anyone's wellbeing. Where are the females in senior leadership/board level ? Only white males favouritising white males

      1 person found this review helpful

      Close Brothers Response

      HR Business Partner

      Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we are sorry you did not have a more positive experience. We are particularly concerned about your comments regarding diversity. We are committed to working towards diversity targets across the Company and share updates on our progress in these areas as well as detailing our inclusion commitments in our annual report each year. We are committed to creating an inclusive culture where everyone is able to thrive and our most recent employee opinion survey has given us some very positive feedback regarding our culture. We do take all feedback seriously and there are ways where concerns can be raised anonymously so we’d encourage you to contact us so that this can be looked into further.

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Cbpf

      20 May 2021 - Business Operations Associate in Wimbledon, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Training, nice office, friendly staff

      Cons

      Progression not as easy as made out to be

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Close Brothers Response

      HR Business Partner

      Thank you for sharing your review. We know progression is important to many of our colleagues so would encourage you to reach out to your line manager to discuss your individual career aspirations to see how we can support you further.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 191 Reviews

    Work at Close Brothers? Share Your Experiences

    Close Brothers logo
    or