Cloudera Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cloudera Reviews

Updated 8 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Cloudera President and Chief Executive Officer Rob Bearden
Rob Bearden
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Has a GREAT reputation in the Big Data world(in 27 reviews)

  • "Great place to work, Open culture, free lunch(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "As with all start-ups that go IPO, there are some growing pains and there is a need to roll up sleeves(in 30 reviews)

  • "Too much work, work life balance not very well(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Work, Fun, Help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Customer Operations Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing experience working with the best support and engineering team. Solving tough problems and supporting biggest and challenging big data installations.

    Cons

    As we grow, you loose opportunity of a small growing company like more frequent travel to other office locations.

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2019-12-07
  2. "Good Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Top Level Management are technical guys but more importantly Arun and the leadership team care about their employees which is generally missing in similar sized companies. Overall employee friendly atmosphere be it WFH, Cab Flexibility.

    Cons

    Perks were better when it was Hortonworks. Technology even though legacy and is being licensed in the Cloud World, the overall development and release process is very slow because of tight integration with Open Source Projects.

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2020-03-19
  3. "Good company in the hands of a few bad people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst in Bangalore

    I worked at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Technology Innovation The best Engineers Best Infrastructure Open source community

    Cons

    Top level management rely on middle or a bit low level management. These people play lot of back stabbing politics... I worked for this organisation close 16 months. During that time the people who managed us were very good with me, but in behind the scene they played lot of politics... Finally all these made my exit. They didn't like some one who is moving ahead of them... Though I got software consultant opportunity within the Cloudera, but these people played politics to stop my internal movement. Though I completed year, but I didn't my get 25% of RSUs they allocated at the of my joining. Though the company and technology is good, but there is transparency & equal opportunities. A few people are misleading the top level management.

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2020-03-25
  4. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Content Writer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots to learn, flexibility, work-life balance, free food, free cab

    Cons

    Work process can get better

    Cloudera2020-03-05
  5. "Chaos from Edge to AI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Cloudera brand and great talented people (half of them left the company) * Now we have a CEO * Faster execution after the merger

    Cons

    * Hortonworks merger brought it's own disadvantages * Hard to get your voices to the top * HR is non-existent * Favouritism decides your career progression

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2020-01-26
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and some free food.

    Cons

    Merger and post merger politics have ruined both companies. People management positions are filled with bullies and inexperienced professionals.

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2019-11-27
  7. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of learning opportunities & great place to work.

    Cons

    No Cons. As of now all good about the Company.

    Cloudera2019-10-28
  8. "Best Organisation to Work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Operations Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good benefits - Excellent Work culture - Company works for the Employees - Good learning initiatives by the Organisation

    Cons

    There are no cons as such

    Cloudera2019-10-11
  9. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom to pitch your ideas Good domain and cutting edge technologies Perks like free transport (Ola/uber)

    Cons

    Company performance Many good people leaving after merger

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2019-08-31
  10. "Channels & Alliances group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cloudera. Cloudera, Inc. is a US-based software company that provides a software platform for data engineering, data warehousing, machine learning and analytics that runs in the cloud or on premises.

    Cons

    Cloud offering needs to be fine-tuned

    Cloudera2019-08-29
Found 386 reviews